We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wake up to History”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wake up to History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I just returned home from a weekend of history in Colonial Williamsburg. We stayed at Market Square Tavern, which is part of The Williamsburg Inn and is smack in the center of the 18th Century town. We checked in late at night, but were escorted to our rooms by a helpful bellman who gave us a wonderful orientation of our room and the surrounding sites including recommendations of where to have a late dinner. We ended up having a great meal at the nearby Williamsburg Lodge.
Our rooms in Market Square Tavern were super clean, the beds were comfortable, and had all the modern amenities. The best part about staying in Market Square Tavern was waking up in the morning and being transported to the 18th Century. The horse and carriages, costumed interpreters, and fife and drum corps were all outside our door. Our family and friends had a great time learning and being part of Colonial history.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmartellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    60
    22
    11
    12
See reviews for
174
238
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

My husband and I chose the Inn at Colonial Williamsburg for our Anniversary weekend. We wanted a relaxing, pampering and elegant get away. We found it all. We lay by the quiet pool (another pool for families), got massages in the spa and dined in the Regency Room. At the pool, we enjoyed poolside service and frozen drinks, as well as excellent crab cakes from the Golden Horseshoe Grill. Then we spent a few hours at the spa where we enjoyed pampering and world class massages. After a drink on the patio overlooking the golf course, we dined at the formal dining room known as the Regency Room. There was a live trio playing and a beautiful dance floor for ballroom dancing. We ate several courses including tenderloin of beef, lobster bisque and shrimp and scallops. The food was amazing and abundant. Most rooms are suites and ours looked as if it was out of Southern Living magazine. we had 2 fireplaces, a four poster canopy bed, a separate living room and a spacious, elegant bathroom with a marble shower and over sized soaking tub. This is by far one of the most elegant, relaxing places we have stayed in nine years of marriage and would definitely like to make this a tradition. The Inn is walking distance to the Historic area and boasts a little history of its own. It is the perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larashearin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We came to Williamsburg Inn expecting a first class experience but had the worst experience in our travels....we found live bed bugs in the sofa bed in our suite. While I had booked a deluxe double Queen room, they overbooked this category and 'upgraded' us to a King suite...the upgraded room was filthy. There were cobwebs in the windows, hair in the bathtub, hair in the sheets in the bed, dirt on the matelasse, stains on the carpet and upholstery (the bed, the chairs - try to find a chair in your room that doesn't have a stain!) and the zinger is bed bugs in the sofa bed...ugggh. My daughter found 10 live crawling bugs...I took one, looked at it and called the manager immediately. The housekeeper's response? "Oh it's only a little beetle...definitely not a bed bug." Not the response I was looking for...obviously a bed bug to me, having live bugs REGARDLESS of the species is not what I pay $400 a night for, obviously. I showed a bug to the manager of the wing (Dale), and she immediately apologized, switched rooms and made it complimentary...really the least that should be done. She stated she would call in professionals immediately.

This absolutely affected our time in Williamsburg negatively. We stayed at the Lodge for a few nights during July 4th celebrations and my suggestion to anyone staying in Colonial Williamsburg? Stay at the Lodge in a Suite and save yourself the money and the frustration of the Inn...The Lodge suites are very clean, service is great, and most importantly no bugs. Although we appreciated Dale's response, the housekeeper was not concerned which is very worrisome. We will never stay at the Inn again nor would we recommend anyone else do the same.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank Marcie3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East kilbride,Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

stayed for one night with 2 children 11 & 13. extremely comfortable,clean and friendly staff. Room was extremely spacious and comfortable, had balcony with rocking chairs. Part of historical williamsburg so got discount on tours. right in heart of historical district, did'nt have breakfast but looked very good. charge for valet parking but if you park self free. Staff very friendly. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfamily164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Service and Style is amazing. Rooms are spacious suites and the beds are plush. Location is right off the main street in Colonial Williamsburg. Located right off the best gold course in WMGB too, Golden Horseshoe gold course. Breakfast Buffet was spectacular with everything you could imagine. Great place to go make a memory with your spouse. We were there on our Anniversary and it was very memorable.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKRit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

Well equipped rooms and friendly service in opulent hotel within minutes walk of Duke of Gloucester ST and Merchants Square. Free parking on site and lovely outdoor pool. Great value.
Only downsides - noisy air con and no extractor fan in bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenster003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

My sister & I booked a 4-night stay at Colonial Williamsburg in search of a brief but interesting getaway. The Williamsburg Inn wasn't our original accommodation, if interested see my review of the Brick House Tavern under the "Colonial Houses Hotel" reviews. However, circumstances dictated that we would spend 2 nights at The Inn and we were well-pleased with our accommodation and hotel services.

Firstly, let me say The Inn's staff are uniformly exceptional. We travel often and have come to expect less than stellar service, even at 4- and 5-star hotels. The Inn reminds me of what quality customer service was 15 or 20 years ago. Friendly, warm, and authentic without the artificial stuffiness or pretense of many five-star hotels and resorts (i.e., The Four Seasons chain.) We were warmly greeted and offered assistance by ALL staff we encountered. Any question or request was promptly, politely and professionally addressed. From the doormen & housekeeper to the front desk manager and restaurant hostesses we were utterly impressed with the sheer quality of service.

Our room was a superior, double queen: nicely decorated in Regency-ish style, spotless, and comfortable. Three, large windows were well draped allowing lots of light in or not depending on your preference, our room overlooked a lovely garden settee and flowers in full bloom. The beds were firm & comfortable with nice linens. Ice buckets and bottled water were stocked around 5PM each day and turn-down provided or offered each night. Room amenities were as to be expected: WiFI was available but not used this visit, a lovely desk work area for those inclined, a flat screen television with full range of satellite channels and several local info stations, a large closet with safe and 4-drawer bureau provided for clothing storage. Minibar seemed well-stocked but as always over-priced.

The bathroom was modern and well-equipped: marble-tiled, (not a personal favorite but the efficient floor heaters made it tolerable), double-headed, temperature-controlled walk-in shower, double sinks, and a lovely soaking tub. The "Williamsburg Spa" shampoo, soaps, lotions, and other toiletries were nice and plentiful. The bathrobes, slippers, towels, were all as one would expect; with the now common request to conserve resources by re-using if possible.

The Inn's interior spaces are consistent with the Regency bent of the decor. Every nook and cranny has period furniture, porcelain vases, figurines, interesting photos, engravings, watercolors, etc. all lovely and very well-kept. For those who enjoy period decor it is extremely well done here, nothing kitschy or worn-looking as is sometimes the case. Inside and out we found pretty and comfortable spots to sit, relax and enjoy the view. The floral arrangements and gardens were simply beautiful.

The Inn was very busy hosting several large functions and guests on Spring Break, yet it was quiet with no hustle or bustle evident. Clientele seemed to range from young families with small, but very well-behaved children, to older retirees and apparently frequent guests.

As one would expect from such a family-oriented, historical destination there was NO night-life to speak of. The hotel bar seemed nearly empty by 9:30PM and we saw no evidence of bars or clubs in the historic parts of town. I suspect if you want an active nightlife you'd be better served in Williamsburg City or staying closer to The College of William & Mary.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend The Williamsburg Inn without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing