We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Williamsburg Sampler for three nights. It was a wonderful experience. Ike the Inn Keeper is a charming gentleman. He is a wealth of knowledge of what to see and do in and around Williamsburg.We stayed in the John Smith suite. It was outstanding. The bed was comfortable. Having our own sitting room was a plus AND there is a semiprivate covered deck that is off the sitting room. The breakfast that is served each morning is delicious. The Inn has an executive chef that trains the folks that cook for you each morning. I HIGHLY recommend this Inn. My husband and I plan on going back to Williamsburg and we hope to stay at the Sampler again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent three nights at the sampler. We, of course, read the other rave reviews before booking. We can only agree with what has already been said. The beds are very comfortable. The food was delicious and varied. We had three different local chefs make our breakfast. The common spaces are very nice and inviting. The 24 hr coffee maker was a great treat after a long day of touring. Ike was very helpful and had great restaurant ideas. I can truly say that the Sampler goes above and beyond. My husband left a pair of shorts behind by accident. We didn't even realize they were missing. The Sampler called us and offered to send the shorts to us. We got them a few days later. I can guarantee that wouldn't happen at a chain hotel. Lastly some people mentioned the road noise of the front guest rooms. We were in one of those rooms and it didn't bother us one bit. You would have to be pretty sensitive to noise for that to be a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dive_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights there as we visited the Historical Triangle. We could not have been more pleased. Very nice room, incredibly comfortble bed, super breakfast, and Ike the host was truly warm and welcoming! They could have not done better!

Room Tip: Try the Captain John Smith room. Two room suite with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Everything about this bed and breakfast is wonderful. The rooms are very charming and comfortable. Our King size bed was such a great sleep. Every room in the house was decorated so beautifully and we felt right at home. The host was so nice and made time to sit down and chat with us. There was a chef who made breakfast for us every morning and the food was so delicious. It is within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg although we drove because there was plenty of parking. It is quite unique with a recreation room in the basement and full workout gym for all the guest to use. We hope to get back here again for another great vacation. Thank you Ike for your kind hospitality and allowing us to be a part of your charming bed and breakfast. (From MA)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As first time travellers to the East Coast -- and first experience at a Bed and Breakfast -- we were truly awed by this property. Our room was very comfortable (the bed was far more comfortable than any of the hotels we would subsequently visit on our two week visit to Virginia), and the ambiance of the house was amazing. We loved the charm of the house; it was exactly what we came to Williamsburg to experience. Staff was always most courteous and helpful. We loved the 24/7 availablity of hot drinks, but the breakfasts were what stood out the most! Wow! Great food and the variety was amazing -- no breakfast was like the one we had the day before.

It was wonderful to have the benefit of local knowledge -- we were given great suggestions for local destinations to visit. The staff at this location really make your visit comfortable and interesting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here with 7 friends for a girlfriend getaway. All four rooms are well appointed and comfortable with high quality king beds and updated (but small) bathrooms. The two rear rooms with sitting areas and veranda access overlooking the trees were excellent. This B&B is very clean (despite the collections of pewter, roosters, etc..) Front rooms had street noise all night. The bathrooms lacked counter space or tables for toiletries. The breakfast was fine, not exceptional, and the staff preparing it was recently hired. Ike was welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay. The location is great for exploring the historic triangle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meems060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in the Captain John Smith Suite and couldn't have been more pleased. It has a nice-size bedroom with king bed, a large, comfortable sitting room with mini frig, and a wonderful covered deck overlooking the wooded area in back. The ensuite bathroom is small but functional. The Williamsburg Sampler, while not an historic old home, accurately represents the houses of the Colonial period. This B & B offers plenty of amenities including a Nespresso machine which is always available. Our plentiful breakfasts were made-to-order and on one morning prepared by a local chef, Felix. We have recently "discovered" the joys of searching out B & B's that represent the area we're visiting in. So far for us, an unexpected benefit of staying in B & B's has been the pleasure of meeting and visiting with the owner of the home. Ike was our host at the Williamsburg Sampler, and he was fun, warm and welcoming. We look forward to our next visit in his home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.3 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast

Address: 922 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3917
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £103 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18-century plantation style 3-story brick colonial. Located within walking distance to historic Colonial Williamsburg. Governor' "Inn of the Year" in 1995. Famous for "Skip Lunch" (R) breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing