We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“exceptional food exquisitely presented by attentive host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of artcafe26 - CLOSED

artcafe26
Price range: US$31 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Courthouse Street
Transit: Trolley transport from NewTown to and from Merchant Square at 15 minute interval.
Description: artcafe26, the place that’s different. Inventive, fresh, tasty, mostly organic produce. Molecular cuisine incorporated in dinner menu and daily dessert menus. Seasonal menu throughout the year.
Shenandoah Valley VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“exceptional food exquisitely presented by attentive host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

A splendid restaurant with creative dishes that meet the highest levels of creation and preparation ... and not too many choices. We were impressed with the appropriateness of the plates and platters used for the presentation and the attention of the hostess. The restaurant delivers on the culinary end. The chef specializes in combinations of foods that work together in unusual ways. The restaurant layout in bizarre - not overly warm or cozy but once you start the meal, the enjoyment is supreme.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dashmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    17
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

There is nothing like Art Cafe 26. Not in a hundred mile radius. A combination of Art Gallery and Austrian Cafe. Bernhard Klinger the chef constantly surprises me with his desserts. Somewhere between the mint foam and the mango espuma I learned that the Austrians are the one people who an look the French in eye when it comes to matters culinary. And try the nitrogen-chilled ice cream - totally unlike the american style. Smooth as custard and twice a tasty.

Frau Sybilla (Sybilla Deng) presides over the front of the house. For her Art is what the Cafe is about. The art on display is not mere decoration. This is a first-class European Gallery displaying artists of distinction. To attend one of her art openings is an education and delight. Not just for the artists she brings,for the audience she has cultivated. An audience that cares about Art and shows an aficionado's interest in how it was done.

I have been attending Art Cafe 26 since it opened. I will readily confess that my week revolves around the Saturday afternoon I spend there.

VIVAT ART CAFE 26

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roderick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This was one of the best meals my wife and i have had. The food was excellent. The presentations were the most creative we have ever seen. The service was impeccable. The restaurant is small so we were able to talk and share with the diners around us. We were all impressed and had a great time marveling at the chef's work. The menu is very limited but it is all amazing. There are no "weird" foods, just inspired versions of everyday foods. This is a first class dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lubedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as I anticipated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Have been to this restaurant three times and it seems to have gone from very good to average. My wife ordered a salad that was OK and I ordered Wiener Schnitzel which I thought would be one of their specialties. I was very disappointed given the price I paid. Not planning on returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“BEST IN VIRGINIA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sibilla and Chef Klinger continue to provide what may be the best dining experience in Virginia – definitely the best in Williamsburg.

The chef's creations escape the realm of mere craft, becoming elegant pieces of art that leave you with a clear understanding of his vision. His cuisine combines classic flavors and methods from the European tradition, augmented by cutting-edge modernist techniques. This approach allows him to transform ingredients into something entirely novel, something that can't be found anywhere else. The multi-course nature of dinner here adds a certain flourish. While the evening menus are limited so that each course can be of the highest quality, the lack of options is actually freeing. You can count on each dish to be fantastic, meaning that you cannot make a bad choice. The dinner menus should be able to accomodate any food aversion without much difficulty.

The atmosphere is clean and serene. Art is always controversial, but it looks like some of Williamsburg's most interesting pieces come through here. The staff is attentive, but never intrusive. For most people, dinner at a place like this is reserved for special occasions, but the entire experience is well-worth the expense. The artcafe is in a league of its own.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing