We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Retro but not historic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Retro's Good Eats

Retro's Good Eats
Ranked #87 of 383 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fast – Delicious – Affordable. Signature items include french fries cut fresh daily, and real dairy custard, frozen on site daily. Said to have the best hot dogs in town, one can load up with a choice of fourteen toppings which, in addition to the old standards, include blue cheese cole slaw and sweet potato mustard! With cheeseburgers, BBQ, our grilled chicken sandwich (think State Fair) and fresh salads, there is something here to please everyone in your group!
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Retro but not historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had been struggling to find a place to eat that didn't have ridiculous wait times and a menu that all of us in our party could find something to eat. We literally stumbled upon this place and had great food that was tasteful and reasonably priced. It was a hot day and the added bonus of getting some ice cream was enjoyed by all. I am still being teased that we were in colonial Williamsburg and ate at the least colonial restaurant. The people were very nice and efficient. It was a nice place to stop in and get a bite.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank YankeeGirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    84
    34
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food at cheap prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Ate here as a family of four and total bill came to $27 which included a beer and a specialty root beer. We all enjoyed our food: grilled cheese with fries, veggie quesadilla, BLT and BBQ sandwich. Service was very fast. Great for a simple and yummy lunch with the family.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Pulled Pork Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Diner atmosphere - great food and great prices. Great fries and the best pulled pork sandwich around! Fun for the kids, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vikismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Waited in line for 30 minutes, then waited 70 minutes more for the food. 3 hotdogs, 3 fries, and 1 hamburger

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamburgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy S, Owner at Retro's Good Eats, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your experience. I apologize that the timing was an issue and you had such an extreme wait for your order. I assume your visit must have been on the Fourth of July. Frankly, we were overwhelmed. On a normal day, even when we are running bus groups through, we serve a couple of hundred per day. The 4th is our busiest day of the year and this year, we served close to a thousand. Over 90 % of the time our guests are served in less than a few minutes of the time they place their order.

We are reviewing what we might do next year to help the flow. Meanwhile, we hope that your food was good and that you’ll give us another try when the lines are not so long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's Average, But Kid Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's a decent place to grab lunch or some ice cream. I find the prices to be rather high, but they are typical for a Williamsburg tourist place. The service was slow on the day of this review. It took 14 minutes to get to basic sundaes and a plan cup of custard. I had to ask for the status of our order, and that is a good thing, since after taking my money, they forgot about preparing the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Retro's Good Eats also viewed

 

Been to Retro's Good Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing