We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Suites Bypass
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The design and unique decor of this hotel take you by surprise at first , but it grows on you ,and it becomes a welcome change from the regular ,pleasant but bland ,corporate decor of other hotel chains. Check -in was trouble free, and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful .
Location is good . Some reviews have mentioned noise from trains ,but I never noticed anything like that . The complimentary breakfast is not wonderful...I can't pretend otherwise ,but it is enough to get you started in the morning , and the breakfast area was kept tidy and all food items were routinely replenished . Throughout the hotel appeared very clean and fresh . The big test is ...Would I go back , or recommend it to friends?...yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsidewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    217
    48
    13
    3
See reviews for
398
150
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel, like all in the area is convenient to vacation attractions. Could have been cleaner, but not too bad (horizontal surfaces are clean, but vertical ie: mirrors and walls are not). Breakfast is free, but limited selection and even less space might make you venture elsewhere. Staff is friendly and helpful. All in all it"s kind of what you would expect at this level of hotel chain.

Room Tip: ask for fourth floor if possible. kids running above can be heard on lower floors. All the major h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vince210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
622 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were on a six day historical trip with our granddaughter and this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in, yet no better than any of the others. The Sleep inn in Gettysburg and Hampton Inn in Charlottesville were just as nice and $50 less expensive...but we did enjoy this accommodation, nevertheless. The AC worked great -well appreciated after being out in the heat - and the bathroom was large enough for two females to share for putting on make-up and doing our hair. We had asked for two queens when I made the reservation but were given a king and pull out couch which was not made. We went to reception to get the linens and made it up ourselves. We thought breakfast was fine - Madeline really liked the waffle maker - but we were disappointed that there was no yogurt. Internet was free but it kept disconnecting which was frustrating - but that may have been because we were on the third floor at the very end of the building. After reading over this, I think it sounds more negative than positive. And it should not because we liked our night in this hotel even though it was the most expensive one on our trip. It was very clean which is our biggest requirement and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We'd stay there again especially if the price were a bit less.

Room Tip: Go eat at Food For Thought a local restaurant - we really enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed 3 nights and had to change rooms after first night. Rooms were clean but pullout bed was uncomfortable for an adult. When transferring rooms I left my tennis shoes under the bed of the first room and later when going back to retrieve them, they had disappeared, never to show up. Wonder where they went? Full breakfast was great with plenty of variety. Parking lot out front needs more security lighting in the middle and more disabled parking slots.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Busch Gardens and were very impressed. My 11 & 13 year old kids said it was the coolest hotel they had stayed in - mostly in part to the modern and artsy decor of Red, Black, Gray & White. The rooms were spacious with a sofa sleeper. The bathroom was well laid out and had ample storage area. The breakfast was average hotel fare, but the staff was friendly and they had employees available for restocking the breakfast items as needed. Convenient location. We would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymouse4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel while visting Colonial Williamsburg, and I specifically picked it out because of the ultra modern design (and the good reviews), since the teenager in our family could only handle so much historical stuff and I thought it would be a nice contrast. In hindsight, I'm not really sure I liked that. It's really quite a clash. The room itself was fine, spacious, very clean, with a nice size bathroom and very comfortable beds. But it seemed a bit cold with all that black and white. Other than that, and perhaps apart from the average breakfast, I can certainly recommend this hotel. Good location with Cracker Barrel and Golden Corral across the parking lot, and the Colonial Williamsburg visitor center a few minutes away by car. The price was very fair, too, certainly another positive aspect. As long as you're prepared for the decor, this hotel will be a good choice.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 123stitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at this conveniently located hotel. It was our second stop on a whirlwind vacation. Upon entering, I couldn't help but smile. The decor was fun and modern....being an artsy gal I loved it! And, of course, the kids did too! The room was spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. We are a family of 6 with little ones and we were all able to fit comfortably in the 2 queen beds, but we could have used the fold-out couch if needed. Breakfast had a nice variety, was clean and restocked regularly. My 8 year old and husband especially loved the waffles you could make within a couple of minutes. I didn't have much luck with the hotels computers and internet, but that doesn't seem to be much of an issue in an age where nearly everyone has a phone with internet access....I just used it and was able to access e-mail and Facebook. We were only here to visit Historic Jamestown this trip, but I wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again for a future visit to Colonial Williamsburg. The price for the quality and peace of mind knowing it was bed-bug free was a great deal! We got 2 nights at the end of June for around $250 (second night was cheaper).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelS_01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Property: Comfort Suites Bypass
Address: 220 Bypass Rd # NO.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing