We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Bypass
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had to find a hotel due to some issues at our house and boy are we glad we picked this one. Nick at the desk was great! My wife was upset and I wasn't in a very good mood either when we arrived but he was able to calm our state of mind even though we showed up in the middle of the night. The room was very clean had plenty of room. The mattress was super comfortable. Though we didn't use them, the microwave and fridge would have been great had we been there for more than one night. We'll definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit we are glad you and your wife could get a good night sleep. We are glad Nick was able to location a suitable suites for your stay .
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    229
    52
    14
    3
See reviews for
415
161
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pippa Passes, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife, daughter (11) and I stayed at the Comfort Suites Bypass the week of March 10th during spring break. This marks the fourth time we have stayed here, and we are Choice Privilege Gold members and travel rather frequently. I believe this may be the nicest Comfort Suites we have stayed in and it is the reason we return each year.

The styling is different than all others choice hotels we have been to, and it has a modern, contemporary feel. It is certainly nice to return to a hotel and be recognized by the staff with a 'Welcome Back!" Each of the desk clerks were all very nice and helpful, but we especially are fond of Miriam, who is such a friendly, outgoing young lady; she is always a pleasure to talk with and she definitely was my wife and daughters favorite. She also offered several good tips on restaurants and shops to visit. They would usually stop at the front desk just to talk with her!

My wife enjoys this hotel so much because it is exceptionally clean, and they do an outstanding job with the rooms. It is also close to many restaurants, and only a few miles from the Colonial Williamsburg visitors Center.

They have an indoor pool which was nice to use, but I did have a reaction to the chlorine, so I only got to go one night. I did use the workout facility, which consisted of dumbbells up to 40 pounds and a treadmill. They also had a small weight stack machine as well. They also have a small game room.

The breakfast was presented well and there were always waffles available with eggs. The breakfast was overall adequate and filling, but they could always add a few more items to make it even better. My daughter usually just ate her own cereal.

The only negative thing I have ever noticed is that cold air will seep under the room heating/ cooling units and come into the room. We were there last December, and it was a cold time. I had to take the blanket and cover the unit around the bottom to help prevent much cold air from coming in.

If you are looking to stay near the colonial area and want a reasonable priced hotel, then I believe you would be hard pressed to find a better one then this. They are doing a good job of maintaining the property, so I would always recommend it to travelers in the area. I plan to return on my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelindad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you our Choice privileges for your continued stays at our Comfort Suites, we are glad your family had a great stay and enjoyed our amenties.

We always check on all the Heating/ A/C units to make sure that they are in good shape for all weather, we will be servicing them again in preparation for the summer season.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Passing thru the area and I usually try and stay at a Choice property. For the record I am a Choice Privilege Elite Platinum member. I'm not overly picky but I expect overall cleanliness and a properly maintained building and grounds. To me it shows the caliber and quality of it's owners. This Choice property is sweet. It's only 2 years old and its very nice for a Comfort Suites compared to others that I have stayed at. Cozy modern atmosphere, clean, helpful and personable front desk staff. Seems to have a little more ups and extras than your average Comfort Inn & Suites. The only real negative I can come up with is the kids who ran up and down the hallway ay 12:00 am in the morning. My thoughts are where are the parents??? Other than that it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Get the 4th floor that way you won't have to listen too much to the pitter patter of little feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skirat201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your stay at our Comfort suites , thank you for being part of Choice Priviledge Elite Platinum Members.
We do our best to maintain the highest standards and Quality of Comfort Suites.
We apologize for the Noise along the hallways, we do have cameras to monitor these kinds of disturbance and ensure our guest a comfortable stay.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is clean and has up to date furnishings. The rooms are spacious. Close to colonial Williamsburg/merchant square, Richmond road, Busch Gardens etc. There is a Golden Corral in the same parking lot as the hotel. There is a Uno's pizzeria across the street and some other restaurants. The pool was chilly and the hot tub was broken. There is a game room and a small workout room. Pretty good complimentary breakfast buffet with the usual eggs, sausage as well as make your own waffles. Overall good value, location, and service for $89 a night.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmshaw823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review , we are greatful you stayed at our Comfort suites. Our location is central for restaurants and very convenient to all area attractions. We are glad you also enjoyed our wonderful prices.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiyuan, China
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Had a good stay in this hotel, and it was almost flawless. The style is very contemporary and rather eye-catching. I'm not sure how well all of this will hold up, but for now it is very nice, and manages to feel a bit upscale, with the plus that wifi, breakfast and parking are all free.

The rooms are mini-suite style with a divider in the room separating the sleeping area from a sofa and seating area. The sofas are sleepers. There are fridges, but no kitchenette. The bed was quite comfortable.

The breakfast area was large. The offerings were fairly typical of the complimentary breakfasts, with continental options plus waffle-makers and a couple of hot choices

Along with other amenities, the hotel has a small game room.

The staff were professional, pleasant, and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we take great pride in our Comfort Suites decor and also up keep. Thank you for recognizing our upscale hotel with favourable pricing. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatka, FL
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We visited during the winter storm and experienced a room that just wouldn't warm up! No problem for the staff though, they warmed up TWO separate rooms to make sure we would be comfortable, then allowed us to pick the warmest room and move AFTER we finished watching our basketball game. We also made good use of the hot tub to warm up our Florida bones! Truly a great staff and a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: rooms on back seemed to be colder in the harsh weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogators52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are glad our staff was quick to assist you in finding a room that was suitable for your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Everything about this hotel was perfect. Friendly staff, reasonable rates, good breakfast and great location. Modern decor, comfy beds, free wi-fi. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice.
Really the best Comfort Suites we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veerbypass, Manager at Comfort Suites Bypass, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our Comfort Suites, We really appreciate your feedback. Thank you for the pointer on the great service, location, breakfast, and value for your money.

We hope to see you again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Property: Comfort Suites Bypass
Address: 220 Bypass Rd # NO.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing