We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Bypass
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I doubt that you can find better in the area for the price. Originally booked another hotel, but we found this had a cheaper price and great reviews. Very clean and well kept. Within minutes of Colonial Williamsburg. Good size room had 2 Queen beds plus a sofa bed. Includes a hot breakfast buffet with make your own waffles, eggs, sausage, muffins, coffee, juice, etc. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Kids enjoyed the pool. My wife especially liked the Hot Tub.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GpaG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having stayed a few places in the Williamsburg area previously, I can honestly say that having found this gem I'm never looking back. My husband and his family frequent this part of Virginia regularly but this time I went with him, my mom, step dad, and step sister's three children. We had so much fun!

First off, the room itself is modern and wonderfully maintained. The beds are super fluffy and tall (I'm kind of short and had to get a running start most days) with crisp, clean linens and lots of pillows. The air conditioning unit was right beside the bed and, trust me, when you go in July that is an excellent amenity. The bathroom was just what I expect out of a suite with plenty of towels and free shampoo stocked daily by the outstanding cleaning service.

Then there's the continental breakfast. Oh, the breakfast! Waffles everyday with your choice of original or chocolate batter. And if you really want to kick up the taste, you could follow my lead and bring your own chocolate chips and cool whip. There was always something delicious and hot like eggs and sausage, fried apples, or biscuits and gravy just depending on the day. These were alongside the typical offerings of 3 cereals (Cornflakes, Fruit Loops, and Raisin Bran), bagels with cream cheese or peanut butter, and mini muffins.

And if all that weren't enough, I really have to boost the "for your convenience" shop located at the front of the hotel. On our last night, my husband had a bit of an upset tummy. The only thing he wanted to see for dinner was a bottle of gingerale. I didn't want to leave him to head for the local Walgreens because he was running a terrible fever with chills. And, since my family were out to dinner at the Golden Coral that was within walking distance of our room, I decided to hop on the elevator and see if I could manage a citrus drink of some sort. And there it was: gingerale! My husband was happy and that makes for a happy wife. Not to mention the friendliness of the lady who sold me the drink who wished my husband a speedy recovery as I went back upstairs.

Bottom line: superior hot breakfast, hospitable/ accommodating staff, and fantastic location. Is it October so I can go back?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xMidnightSolstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Room is very large, comfortable and clean. Beds are very nice and comfortable. Pool and fitness area are small but it's nice that they have them. Only suggestion would be to add a healthy addition like oatmeal to breakfast. Very close and convenient if you are going to Colonial Williamsburg. Would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank cocoapuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We love staying here. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the included breakfast is really good. The hotel is in a good location, too. Check-in was fast and our room was ready when we go there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights while we ventured all over the area. Nice, big, quiet room, close to everything. Breakfast was the usual, but always good. Avoid 9:00 -- very crowded while we were there. Staff was helpful in finding restaurants and giving help. Hotel has a pretty nice game room, laundry facilties and very quick elevators. Pool looked a little cloudy, so we passed. Only complaint is that the rooms are a little dark (need higher watt bulbs?). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family of five stayed here in May on our way to the outer banks. The room was huge. We had alot of space which is great with hubby and three boys. The room was clean as was the hotel. The indoor pool and hot tub were nice and clean. The game room/pool table was a little dated, but it worked. Breakfast in the morning was decent with some hot, some cold foods. They did have a waffle station that was a hit with the kids. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the larger rooms. It's worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollyhatchet3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Not only a clean and comfortable new hotel, but so quiet! I could have slept all day. Very modern interiors, and yummy breakfast. Plus the location is close to major highways and many restaurants of all levels. Best hotel on the "bypass"!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caligirls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Williamsburg Historic Area, VA
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Bypass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Bypass

Address: 220 Bypass Rd # NO.A, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2932
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £56 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Bypass 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Bypass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bypass Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing