We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked a 3-star hotel through Hotwire's Secret Hot Rate and was given this hotel. The hotel is quite nice. The staff is very friendly and they have fresh-baked Otis Spunkmeyer cookies at the reception desk. The reception area is cozy with comfortable sofa and chairs and the front porch is a nice touch with tables and chairs. The room has 2 queen beds with duvet covers, a large flat screen TV with HD programming, microwave & fridge and a nice bathroom. The HVAC has a dicital temperature display to make setting the room temperature easy. They have a heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, which is open from 6am - 12am. The breakfast is a typical 3-star fare, with hot items like make your own waffles, and a daily change of sausage or chicken patties and gravy/biscuits or eggs, along with traditional continental breakfast fare. Many may complain about the crowds at breakfast. There are nine 4-tops and one 2-top for seating in the breakfast area. The crowd depends on when you go to breakfast. I went swimming in the mornings. From the pool, you can see the breakfast area. Traffic for breakfast is very light from 6:30am to 8:00am, but gets very crowded from 8:00am on. If the weather is nice, sit at the tables on the front porch, instead.

The only restaurant within walking distance is a Denny's across the street, but there are numerous restaurants within 1 mile of the hotel. The only issue we had with the hotel was that the internet was not very fast, at around 2 mbps, was difficult to sign into and kicked us off often. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear USC33,

Thank you so much for telling us about your family's visit. We are so glad that you chose us for your hotel accommodations. We appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the internet service. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel is good for a family of four. The suite have great space. The mini fridge and microwave is great. The coffee maker it was disgusting. Bathroom it was to small. Bed was very hard and pillow to soft. Pool area is small. Areas are clean and staff are friendly. The location is excellent five to ten minutes to get to the tourist areas. Honestly this will be my first and last time to stayed in this hotels. I prefer other chain than this one. I pick this hotels for my trip to Williamsburg because it was not hotels available for those days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driguez75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear driguez,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the bathroom, coffee maker, bed, pillow, and pool area. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We will use this valuable feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for our time. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. (Thanks, Kenny!)The pool and hot tub were at the perfect temperature. Breakfast was very nice, with hot options as well. Not many affordable hotels have good rooms for families over 4. This one does. We stayed here three nights and loved the hotel's proximity to the local attractions. We liked our stay so much we stayed at another Country Inn & Suites on our way back home and it was just as nice. Our family has a new favorite hotel chain.

Room Tip: If you have a larger family and you'd like to have close access to another bathroom, stay on the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Chad,

Thank you so much for giving us feedback about your stay. Thank you for choosing the Country Inn brand. We really appreciate all for comments. We will pass the comments about Kenny on to him. Our team members always enjoy hearing about their service.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A decent enough one-night stay if I overlook the used washcloth left on the shower nozzle by a previous guest, the stains on the bathroom floor beneath the vanity unit, the long black hairs also beneath the vanity, the nearly empty shampoo, and the staples on the carpet outside the bathroom door (unused staples ready to do some damage to bare feet). Apparently housekeeping is not a priority at this hotel.

The bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep, but will probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Itinerant65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHERRY H, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you had with your room. It is our goal to always meet the expectations of our guest. I would love to speak to you about your issues and I have already discussed the issues with my team so that these types of issues do not happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just right for an overnight visit. Not a five-star by any means but clean and close to where I needed to be. Denny's, Cracker Barrel, and Rocco's Steakhouse all within a block. I'd stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonsvilleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear gordonsvillegal,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of our business travelers. We hope that you will consider us again for your hotel needs. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is our second trip to Williamsburg and i am glad I chose to stay at this hotel. The last time we went we stayed at Colonial Williamsburg (Woodlands) and it was not good.
The Country Inn and Suites is very clean, with a typical hotel breakfast, indoor pool and is centrally located. If we come back we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for telling us about you and your family's stay at the hotel. We are so glad that you chose us for your hotel accommodations. We hope that you enjoyed Williamsburg. We will pass this great review on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I never have had one unpleasant surprise at this chain. Every time I stay, I ask "Why can't anyone else get it so right for that price?" This one was another pearl on that string. The room was large, clean, and the staff was perfection.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank bgandl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear bgand1,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are so glad that you had a perfect stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Williamsburg. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area

Address: 400 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#15 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#17 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £55 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, the award-winning Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg hotel creates a welcoming atmosphere sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Conveniently located near historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Jamestowne Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center and Williamsburg Winery, our hotel in Williamsburg, VA provides easy access to a wealth of attractions, restaurants and entertainment. In addition, we offer countless amenities, from indoor pool, Jacuzzi, brand new Fitness Center and complimentary hot breakfast, so you're sure to enjoy your stay. Be our guest at the Country Inn & Suites and see what sets us apart from other hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Country Inn Williamsburg
Country Inn Suite Williamsburg
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing