We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for week in Williamsburg”
Review of Wyndham Kingsgate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Kingsgate
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brandon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location for week in Williamsburg”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent a week in Williamsburg visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. The Wyndham Kingsgate was the perfect location, right off Bypass Road, close to all sights as well as shopping malls and restaurants. The grounds are beautiful and the condo exceptionally clean. I only saw one small spider in our condo the entire week which is unusual when staying in a condo. We had a two-bedroom condo on the first floor. Some reviews have mentioned noise being a factor on the first floor because of outside door slamming, etc. However, we did not have any problems. There was a toddler in the unit above, and we definitely could hear running around, but his parents put him to bed early so it did not disturb our sleep. Our condo decor was traditional, in the style you would expect for the area, and the furniture was all very nice and comfortable. There were three flat-screen TVs -- in the living area and both bedrooms. The drapes were really beautiful. The full-size kitchen had adequate supplies and nice, clean appliances. The only two items I had to purchase to accommodate our stay was a bath mat for the slippery tub (only $4 at a very close K-Mart) and some throw-away dish cloths for the kitchen. Only two large dish towels were provided, and I wanted smaller washing cloths. In our two-bedroom unit, the bathrooms were very small with extremely limited vanity area. The closets were also very small. I did appreciate having the washer and dryer (a stacked unit), and used it several times. I was wishing for one of my over-the-door hangers for hanging up damp items. I had to hang these items in the guest bath that had a shower rod. Some of the other reviewers have mentioned the number and quality of the activities, so I will not elaborate. Although we did not eat at the grill, I thought it was great that one was available. The only really negative things I could say about the Wyndham Kingsgate was that it is so well-liked we had to wait quite a while in a line to check in on a Friday evening, and the Rubbermaid furniture on our porch was not comfortable.

Room Tip: We are senior citizens and requested first floor because of that. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSSrcitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, General Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you, MSSrcitizen for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the valuable feedback on the items you had to purchase locally. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    348
    165
    61
    33
See reviews for
620
146
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Kingsgate is in a nice location, close to everything. The grounds are very nice and clean. There is a $5 per day "amenities fee," but with all offered I felt very reasonable. There are 3 pools with one being indoors and one being adult only. Two nice gaming rooms and an additional pool table in the clubhouse bar resturant area if you would prefer to play not in the game room. 18 hole putt putt golf course is fun. Tennis courts are well lit and centrally located. There is a movie theater onsite that offers showings several times per day of recently released for video movies. If you prefer to watch a movie in your unit, you can rent for $2 per day. There is a wide selection to choose. There is a 4 computer office room. Each unit has wireless internet. Throughout the property is grilling areas with picnic tables. The 2 bedroom unit we had was nice, clean, and updated. Master had a king bed and guest had a double bed. King shower was large, but bathroom itself was small. Hall/guest bath nice size and had tub shower. Balcony off unit. Kitchen had everything you would need. Staff were very friendly and not once did we receive a request for timeshare presentation. My only negatives about this property over others we have stayed in Williamsburg is there are no elevators. My husband was not happy when he realized all our belongings had to be carried up (and back down) stairs to the third floor. The units also do not have a jetted tub or fireplace. both we prefer to have when traveling in the winter months. All in all though, the Kingsgate is very nice and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for updated unit. Keep in mind no elevators. There are units close to the amenities. If you are...
See more room tips
Green Features: Tankless hot water tanks. Does take a long time for water to get warm though.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBischoff, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you,VANurse for the kind words regarding your recent stay here at Wyndham Kingsgate. Our associates will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that our amenities met your expectations.

We hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us again. We are that once again your stay with us will be a memorable one.

Sincerely,

Hugh Bischoff
Assistant Resort Manager
hugh.bischoff@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The price was good. The room is what was advertised. However, we did not realize this was a time share resort. We rented directly from an owner and we were still subject to the high pressure sales pitch. I finally had to hang up on the guy offering "discount tickets". This place hit its prime in 1989.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jkandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh B, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dearl Jkandsk ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is certainly not part of our Count On Me service we take pride in.

We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. We assure you that we will be taking the necessary actions so this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking comment on your recent stay, and we hope to see you again here at Kingsgate.

Sincerely,

Hugh Bischoff
Assistant Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom and I requested the top floor after reading reviews about the door slamming in the hallway. The room is equipped with everything we needed for our stay. We actually tried to close the door quietly when entering and leaving the building (I strongly suggest they try to put a spring or pump on the door to close). I did hear it slam many times during our stay and felt sorry for the unit next to the door on the first floor.

The pool was open during our stay from 5/4/14 and there were a few children and adults in it, but it was too cold for me. The indoor pool was very nice and I really enjoyed the water aerobics at 9am each morning with Dina and Gloria; as did my husband. There is a miniture golf course, deli, game room (no quarters needed), pool tables, air hockey, cinema, and exercise room with weights, treadmills, etc. There was a $5 fee per day to use their amenities, and I felt it was well worth it.

We spent 2 day in Colonial Williamsburg (make sure you buy the tickets at the activities desk since they are discounted) and we went to Busch Gardens one day (had bought a 1/2 price Groupon before we left). I would definitely recommend these accomodations to anyone looking for a great place to stay. The beds where comfortable and the place was very clean. Loved having a washer/dryer to use, also. The staff was friendly. This is a timeshare unit and not a hote,l so there is no daily cleaning, etc. This was my first time at a Wyndham timeshare. Very nice and kudos to all that work there. :-)

  • Liked — All the amenities.
  • Disliked — Having to be on 3rd floor as to not hear door slam in hallway.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh B, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you Oshunreef for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Wyndham Kingsgate. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay we are pleased that our amenities met your needs provided you a platform for an outstanding vacation. Thank you again for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hugh Bischoff
Assistant Resort Manager
hugh.bischoff@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just back from a 4 day stay through AFVC. I highly recommend Kingsgate if you have plans in the Williamsburg area. We had a wonderful 2 bedroom unit that had been refurbished in the past couple years. I saw other buildings being worked on as well. Great amenities with mini-golf, three pools, hot tub, arcade, and tennis courts. The staff were wonderful and graciously granted my request of having a unit near the pool on the ground floor. The grounds looked amazing and were very well kept. My 3 kids and wife loved it. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris17050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh B, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you Chris for the kind words regarding your stay with us here at Wyndham Kingsgate. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and pleased that our amenities provided you and you the platform for an outstanding vacation. Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon here at Kingsgate.

Sincerely,

Hugh Bischoff
Assistant Resort Manager
hugh.bischoff@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This property is so well maintained. We stayed for a week during spring break. We enjoyed the movies, the guest costumed interpreter, the game room, and the beautiful grounds. Having lived and traveled all over the country, I have seen almost everything when it comes to lodging. I can honestly say that this property is well worth a commitment for your next vacation. The one downside is that they did not invest in quality mattresses for the units. Ours was one of the worst mattresses I have ever (tried to) sleep on. That said, the fold-out sofa bed was incredibly comfortable.

Room Tip: Double-check construction scheduling to be sure you don't get a unit near any construction activ...
See more room tips
Green Features: I never saw recycling containers. That could have been more accessible.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh B, Manager at Wyndham Kingsgate, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Nadeane,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at Wyndham Kingsgate. We will certainly share your comments with our staff, as they will help us continue to improve our service and product.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Hugh Bischoff
Assistant Resort Manager
hugh.bischoff@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for 5 days in April - it was off season, and not many children were on break, so it was a fairly quiet week. Had not problem with checking in and getting to our 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit. It was very clean. At a busier time, staying on the 1st floor might have been more difficult, as the doors and noises from other units in the bldg. might be bothersome.

Since we were there while the weather was drizzly/rainy, we did utilize the arcades which were not too busy. Also, the heated pool was great. Wanted to try water aerobics, but we never made it there. There is a $5 fee per day for the amenities, but we found it was worth it.

Also recommend the wine tasting. There was a fee, but it was worth it. Got to try 4 different VA wines, and had Steve Hall entertaining us on the keyboards.

Staff was very nice, both at reception and the activity center. Would certainly recommend during off season visiting.

Room Tip: If you have no problems with stairs, pick a 3rd floor as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they recycle. We put all of our recyclables in a bag and there were receptacles for it.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleenlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,046 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Historic Powhatan Resort
The Historic Powhatan Resort
#23 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,971 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#6 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Kingsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Kingsgate

Property: Wyndham Kingsgate
Address: 619 Georgetown Cres, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3029 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Kingsgate Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#23 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Kingsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 456
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Kingsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Kingsgate Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Resort Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Kingsgate
Wyndham Williamsburg
Kingsgate Resort Williamsburg Va
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing