We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times now.We have a tendency to stay out of season.First I have to say that the people who work at check in and the concierge desk could not be any friendlier.This is a resort and they may try to sell you on a time share but it is a low pressure sell.They have activities all week long just in case you are not busy with the local attractions.The condos are wonderful.They are comfortable, clean and well set up.The grounds are attractive and are a pleasure to stroll.When we are in the area there is only one other place we stay and this is from 20 years of travel to the area.This place is areal winner.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surrfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Powhatan Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,255 - 1,261 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

I expected higher quality and truthful staff at a Diamond Resort. I had watched the televsion program Undercover Boss and was excited for my fiirst experience at a Diamond Resort property. It was the worse resort ever. I found out, from TripAdvisor forum, that both pools would be closed during our visit. Why close both the indoor and outdoor pool at the same time? The children were very disappointed. It was not easy to drive out to the other resort to swim. The unit was dated and dirty. Cigarette butts strewn off the deck. Rusted exterior door. Half empty shampoo bottle in the bathroom. No shower curtain in the bathroom and when I called, they dropped off a 99cent plastic curtain. I had to call a second time because there were no hooks to hang the curtain. Couch sagging and pull out bed was broken. I was told that this was a newly renovated unit. Staff (except for the sales people), were very friendly. No free WiFi except for owners. Lovely grounds but limited sidewalks. After driving for 12 hours we were misled about the 1.5 hour Diamond Resort information session. We were forced to drive to see units that were beautiful but NEVER heard a word about Diamond Resort??? A waste of time and very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzybiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Thank you for your interest in our resort after watching our CEO on Undercover Boss. We sincerely apologize that your first stay with us was not parallel to your expectations. Here at The Historic Powhatan Resort, we always strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience. Please know that what you experienced is not our standard of service. Prior to arrival, our team attempted to contact all guests arriving to inform them about the pool closures. Pools are typically cleaned during winter months when there is the lowest potential impact to our guests. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family if for some reason you did not receive our prior notification. Our housekeeping staff makes every effort to complete a thorough cleaning of the entire unit. We sincerely regret that you were not pleased with the service our housekeeping and facilities staff provided you with. As we practice The Meaning Of Yes® at all times, we would have been more than happy to assist you with any cleaning needs. Although, the furniture is dated, we work hard to ensure that each room is equipped with our Diamond standard amenities including flat screen TV, name brand appliances, and premium bedding and linens. Continuing the effort to improve resort quality we installed wall to wall carpeting and have completed interior painting. Our sidewalk project is underway later this month.
As a Vacation Ownership property, solicitation of a sales presentation is part of the check in process. While many of our guests are interested to find out more about our products, you are not required to attend this presentation, unless you are staying on a promotional trip. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We arrived early and they let us check in at noon vs. 4pm. Upstairs two bedroom unit (#121-D). It was clean for the most part. Just a bit of dust from not being rented out for awhile. The fully equipped kitchen was nice. They need to upgrade their utensils and cookware. The beds and bedding were quite comfortable. Two bedrooms with one queen and one King. Tv's in both bedrooms with a flatscreen and DVR player in the living room. It has a wood burning fireplace, although we did not use it. Balcony overlooked the pond with geese, ducks and a swan. The grounds of the Property are well kept, despite it being raining and not so green for mid March. We enjoyed walking the grounds and had an appetizer at the Powhatan Bar and Grille. Great food! We had dinner at the Kitchen at Powhatan one night and the decor was nice, service was good, a bit pricey $100 for Halibut and Chicken roulade and one beer and one wine. A bit overcooked and dry. I was expecting better as there was only one other couple there, so the Chef had time to make it right. Sorry Chef. Friendly staff all around. This property was built circa 1980's but they have done a nice job upgrading the room. It is not a 4-5 Star Resort, but is your own Home? We felt comfortable and welcomed and would definately come back.

Room Tip: Room 121-D, upstairs, end unit. Nice view of the pond and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orchard Orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

We are pleased to have been able to accommodate you before the scheduled check-in time and you could immediately start enjoying your holiday. It is important to us to ensure that all our apartments offer the comforts and equipment you would expect to find at home and we are happy that this is what you have experienced.
We apologise if the quality of your restaurant meal has not been satisfactory and we hope this was rectified immediately for you, we hope this has not marred your stay in any way and we are looking towards your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This site is s Diamond resort property. You can expect safe, clean rooms though somewhat dated. Onsite restaurant is a plus. Resort also has pools, game room, playgrounds, miniature golf and a general store. Very close to all historic sites. Easy access to shopping and other eateries. All types of rooms to chose. Some have patios or balconies so ask for what suits your needs. Very satisfied with property maintenance. Close to coastal cities and beaches. Will surely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaOhioTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The resort is close to all the area attractions you want to see, minutes from historic Williamsburg, a short pleasant drive to Jamestown and Yorktown, and minutes from some second tier shopping.

We had a two-bedroom unit (second floor walk-up) with kitchen, dining room area, and living room. The rooms were comfortable but a bit past their prime and in need of refurbishment. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. (There also was some saggy-floor thing going on in one of the rooms.) The kitchen was fully equipped, from full-sized fridge, to dishwasher, to the pots, pans, plates, and utensils needed to cook and serve a meal. The main bedroom had a TV, as did the living room area. (Sorry, no daily maid service.) Our unit had a stack washer-dryer, but the inside was so dirty, we wouldn’t dream of using it.

The indoor pool was closed for renovation (not revealed to us when the reservation was made). We were offered the use of the pool at a neighboring property, but the hassle was not worth it. Avoid the big push to sit in on their time share pitch unless you are really interested.

Convenience to attractions and a nearby (grocery/pharmacy) shopping center were big pluses, as was the ample space and the kitchen. When the weather took a bad turn, it was much better and more comfortable than a hotel.

There are two restaurants on the property that we did not use, as well as a nicely equipped gym.

The accommodations would probably work really well for families with children. The ability cook could cut down on some trip costs. The grounds are large, gated, and well-maintained. There is a calendar of activities each day (some with costs).

Room Tip: Discuss your room selection and location when making your reservation. The grounds are expansive; t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1-mmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for sharing the detailed information regarding your stay with your fellow travellers and our future guests, we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend us as a family destination. We apologise if the facility closure has caused you any inconvenience and would like to kindly note that details of refurbishment have been listed in the Alerts on our website, nevertheless we apologise for any disappointment. We would also like to advise is that as we are undergoing a refurbishment, all our apartments are currently being modernised, however we of course regret that you have not been fully satisfied with your accommodation. We hope that the above has not marred your stay and you will consider us for your future bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Historic Powhatan for the first time a month or so ago and we had bought the stay as a Groupon. Every time i needed to talk with a representative to make the reservations, and to change my reservation, the customer service had been excellent. Everyone i spoke to was courteous, articulate and willing to help. Once we got there, check in was super easy. Everything was ready when we arrived and we were given so many perks. I turn around from the desk after getting all my goodies and there was a nice lady standing there ready to escort me across the lobby to the other desk where the ladies were enjoying a little laugh time. Everyone spoke to me and greeted me. She signed us up for their "Timeshare meeting", which we did want to attend because we were interested in buying, but i would request that you don't have to attend if you aren't interested. The place was absolutely perfect. It was like living in our own apartment. I cooked both days we were there, everything was great. The bed was soft and comfortable. The space in the room was outstanding. Everyone we encountered was so polite. I would recommend this place to everyone and i am sure my boyfriend and i will return to stay.

Room Tip: Choose the lower level rooms for a nice gas fireplace *must be requested at time of reservation*
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I stayed with my family at this resort and had a very good time. They offer mini golf, racquetball, indoor pool and hot tub on site. The advertisement suggested that our unit would have a hot tub, but due to insurance and/or maintenance costs, it was not available to us. Furthermore, the pool and hot tub were out of service, to our disappointment. However, the staff was friendly, the rooms were nice and clean and it is located centrally to the fascinating colonial settlements all around it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jthrill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with your fellow travellers. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed some quality family time here with us, however we apologise if the facility closure has caused you disappointment. We hope this has not marred your stay and will consider us for your future bookings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £72 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing