We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Property and Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Property and Room”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The property was beautiful and the pool was cool. The 2 bedroom downstairs deluxe room was very nice. The room was very spacious and the kitchen was very nice. The bad part was you could hear the people upstairs. The kitchen had modern amenities. The living room was very spacious and included a sofa bed. The master bedroom bathroom shower was one of the best for a resort. The other bedroom also included a jet tub. One of the nicest features was a private hot tub on the patio. Overall I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    712
    377
    194
    159
See reviews for
1,132
400
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I went in June of 2014 and was greeted with a beautiful resort, nice location, and overall a great experience. If I had one complaint it would be that there was no oven, but that was made up for with an extra bedroom

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Room : We spent a week in The Historic Powhatan Resort with exchange of point through RCI. The points we used up were definitely on the higher side but well worth it. We booked a one bedroom unit. We got a unit on the lower level with a view of the lake. There was no jacuzzi in this unit but a huge sauna room. The unit was renovated recently as we were informed and the appliances and the pots & pans were brand new. There was a washer-dryer in the unit.It was a beautiful unit and was very very spacious. Though the house keeping could do better with the additional bedding on the sofa bed. The blankets were scratchy & rough & we were given a twin mattress topper for a queen bed. On informing the guest services we were sent a wrong mattress topper & no extra bed sheet as we had asked.
Activities : The activities throughout the week at the resort were plenty for all age groups along with Civil War based shows. The city Williamsburg is an area with plenty of activities and is rich in history.
Shopping : There is a Premium Outlets around 7 miles from the resort. There are no big stores like Macys or H&M in town. We came across plenty of plazas and boutique shops. Over all a very charming & a quaint experience.
In all a good experience barring a few hitches & glitches..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinu299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you allowing us the opportunity to make your vacation a great one. We regret you had some issues with your bedding; we will make sure to pay attention to this in the future. That being said, we appreciate you noticing and sharing with everyone the improvements we have made to the Historic Powhatan Resort. One of the changes we have made, in addition to the new room amenities, is the removal of the hot tubs and the repurposing of their space. We hope to see you again in the near future and are confident you will have a hassle-free experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked this trip through a booking company that was awesome to work with. However, the location was not awesome. We arrived at 10:30 pm to one person at check-in. He was not rude, but not friendly. After check-in with him, they told us to speak with concierge. We did not need concierge services. Thankfully, I knew this was a time share location. We were polite and explained we did not need to register with them and we did not need anything. They let us go. We get to the room and there are dirty linens (towels and sheets) on the floor, the beds are not made ant no clean linens in the bathrooms. When I call the front desk, they ask me questions like are the shelves out? Huh? What shelves and even if I knew what you were talking about, what does it matter? They put me on hold and tell me to come to the front desk. I received another room and they acted like it was normal for this to occur. When I get to the new room, things were clean. The décor was HORRIBLE. It was a low budget hotel room at best. We joked the couch was a "drunk" couch as the cushions sloped downward. The positive was that there kitchen and living area. We were two couples traveling together and wanted to spend time together in the evening after the day's events. Otherwise, a joke! I will say the grounds were lovely. We dined at breakfast at the bar and grill and that was pretty lackluster as well. Very disappointed. They called prior to check-out trying to sell a time share again. As if I'd ever stay at any of their locations again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any decorated after 1985
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhettkiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We sincerely apologize for the many service quandaries revealed throughout your visit. Please know that by no means would we ever intentionally assign our guests a room that has yet to be serviced, and we regret that we had received miscommunication surrounding the cleanliness status of the room. Your comments have been expedited to the appropriate department heads for their review. As for the décor of the second room, we work very hard to keep up with cleanliness and working order standards, but we must admit that even though we have begun our phased renovations and have completed many projects thus far, we still have some units with furniture that may be considered dated. We are working diligently to ensure that each guestroom is brought up to our Diamond standard of amenities which will include flat screen televisions, name brand appliances, and premium bedding and linens. All of our guestrooms are currently furnished with either a king or queen sized bed, DVD player and cable television for our guests comfort. To maximize this, our guest bathrooms are equipped with a guest amenity kit. We will be sure to pass your comments on the food to our Food and Beverage Manager, who can use them when considering future changes to our menu options. We hope for the chance to better serve you in the future. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here last year and loved it. However, this time around was not as good. Theirwere some issues to address.

1. We booked a 2 bedroom suite. We had other family with us who booked a 1 bedroom for a lower price. Almost $50 cheaper a night. They got the exact same 2 bedroom suite we had for the lower price. LAME!

2. Last year both bedrooms had a shower, this time only the 1 bedroom had a shower, the other was a big old tub. Not very helpful with 3 adults. The shower was also super small. I'm only 5'9 and could not stand under the shower head. I had to duck down or it me in the face. The shower it self was super super small. The water pressure was good though.

3. Dirty, there was some mold in the shower (see pic) and major dust on the AC vents. The one AC vent in the bathroom was falling down. The room was clean otherwise and comfy. They did update the furniture in the living room. My complaint last year was the furniture was really old, dirty, smelly, stained, and uncomfortable to sit on because it was broken. They since replaced it with nice new stuff in the room we had.

4. AC only seem to work in the living room and bathrooms. Even closing all the vents in those rooms, the bedrooms would not cool down.

The grounds were very well maintained and very nice to take a morning walk. The pool was great with an adult pool, family pool,and kids pool.

The did add free Wifi this year as well. Which was nice cause with the rain the kids could play some games on their IPADS.

Overall, minus the issues above, for the price its not a bad deal. I certainly would recommend this place. The location is decent in between everything.

I recommend that if you get a 2 bedroom and have more than 2 adults or older kids you request a room with 2 showers. Apparently there is only a handful of rooms with 2 showers according to the lady at the front desk. I also recommend asking to be close to the pool so you don't have to drive to it. Watch out for the free welcome package at check in. It's for a time share seminar. I would never buy a time share base on what this place has to offer and the price of them. However, $152 a night for a 2 bedroom suite for a week is solid deal. You get a full kitchen and washer and drier. There is no house keeping unless you stay over 8 days so don't throw your towels on the floor or you'll have to wash them. Pretty much renting a condo nightly!

Best thing is its only 5 miles from Oceans and Ale! The best place to eat in Williamsburg!!!

Room Tip: Ask for 2 shower room if you have a 2 bedroom suite. Ask to be close to the pool Avoid the time s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugtown94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I'm giving this resort two stars only because the rooms were updated and clean, but staff professionalism and service was greatly lacking and the company's policy of bullying guests into buying a time share left me and my husband with the worst customer sales experience of our lives.

If you're one of the unfortunate suckers who gets trapped at a time-share pitch like we were, spare your dignity and get out of there as fast as you can. Our experience was so abysmally bad that we may not return to Williamsburg at all just so I don't even have to be near the Diamond Resort from hell.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CC_Riggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to read you found our accommodations to be suitable for your needs, updated and clean. We, however, sincerely apologize if you felt in any way inconvenienced by our on-site sales and marketing teams. As we our primarily a Vacation Ownership property, we do offer incentives to our guests to attend an approximately 90 minute sales presentation to see if they are interested in purchasing ownership interest with Diamond Resorts (requires a deposit). However, this presentation is optional, and our guests do not have to attend this, provided it is not part of the requirements for their stay package. Attendees who are not interested in learning more at this time, need only to decline the first time not to receive any further offers. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. This will be addressed with our sales teams for coaching and review. We also encourage any guest who feels inconvenienced to contact our reception team immediately. Please be assured that this does not reflect the standards of service that we aim for, and we apologize for what appears to have been a very frustrating experience for you. We feel sure that if you do return here, your experience will more than exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here as a group of five, 3 adults and 2 teens. Could definitely have slept 6 as comfortably since the sofa bed sleeps 2. Beds were comfortable and overall everything was nice with our unit. A few complaints about the kitchen: not enough dishwashing detergent or trash bags for the length of our stay were left in the kitchen so we had to go to reception to get more, and no spatula among the cook ware made. But other than that I thought our unit was nice and we were all happy there.

We were a bottom unit and I was thankful that the family above was not very active. When the child upstairs ran around it was easily heard by us. Fortunately it never went on for a long period of time. But a family who is less concerned about making noise would have been a major annoyance.

As far as the grounds, the mini golf was great for my kids and me. While not included with your resort stay, it was $10 for the three of us to play which was a very reasonable price. There are several playgrounds on the resort which is nice for younger kids. There are 3 pools (4 if you count the one foot deep baby/toddler pool). One just for adults, a more shallow family one and a regular one, as well as a hot tub. There's also an indoor pool and two additional indoor hot tubs. There's a good amount of pool chairs and many in the shade so that was nice too.

My major complaint about the pool was the lack of supervision from the hotel staff. I know most hotels don't have life guards, I'm okay with that. But during one of our visits to the pool there was a group of older teens/young 20 year olds doing repeated back flips, front flips, no handed cartwheels, twisting jumps, and just all out goofing around that I felt was very unsafe. At no point did a staff member go over and tell them to discontinue their behavior. It went on for at least 20 minutes before they apparently got tired of their antics and then just did more regular swim stuff. I guess since nobody cracked their head on the side of the pool it was considered safe by the staff and didn't need addressing.

While we didn't participate in any of the family activities offered there were several events throughout the day for families to enjoy as part of the "DRIven for fun" summer event. They just didn't happen at times we were free or we would have checked them out. Nice selection of activities though such as Bingo, dancing, scavenger hunt, mini golf, race walking and more.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wedmore Place
Wedmore Place
#14 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Property: The Historic Powhatan Resort
Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing