We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent the first week of April at this resort and it had everything we needed. The room was clean and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. The grounds were well kept. Check in and check out were easy. As my friend and I had a busy itinerary we did not spend much time on the resort nor did we use any of the resorts amenities. The location was perfect for us. By the third day we were already planning our return trip for next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ScottB-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

So we didn't want to fly to Mexico this year to use our beautiful Grand Mayan suite so tried to exchange it for something on the east coast. Was trying to go to NYC or Cape Cod. Nothing available (6 months in advance) for the 3 week range I was looking to travel. Only available resort that was within driving distance was Williamsburg. We were put in the historc Powhatan resort. Upon arrival they told me I didn't have reservations even though I had the confirmation in my hand that was made 5 months ahead of time. It took them almost 40 minutes to figure it out. The reservation was put in the timeshare owners name, not ours. I asked if they could put us in an updated room which I learned to ask from others here on tripadvisor. They didn't even respond.

We needed up with a very outdated unit with the musky smell, worn cabinets, and moldy bathroom. Not anywhere close to what we stay in when we travel in Mexico. We got the short end of the deal on the exchange. This is not the Powhatan's fault (not exactly), but the exchange company's fault. There is no room service or towel exchange or anything with a 7 day or shorter stay. Kitchen was perfectly functional but not exactly pretty. What can I say, I have been spoiled by the Grand Mayan and the hilton resorts.
On a positive, the resort grounds were well kept and beautiful. The pools were nice and the live band on the one night of the week is great. We did see a couple of other units. My sister stayed in a much nicer unit...maybe because her wasn't an exchange but she paid for the few nights she stayed there. Cash is king..you pay to stay you get a nicer unit; you exchange you get a crappier unit. The model unit use by Diamond Resorts International is awesome. Granite countertops in kitchen and all bathrooms, larger beds, clean bathrooms with huge tubs and showers, gorgeous furnishings throughout. Of course, this was far from what we stayed in.
I won't be going back. No reason to re-visit Williamsburg, not because of the Powhatan.
Hope this helps a little with those of you who plan on exchanging for this property.

Room Tip: DEMAND an upgraded room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed in the 2br/2ba with full kitchen condo unit. Nicely updated with granite countertops, clean, spacious for a family of four, and comfortable beds. Stock photos are exactly what our condo looked like. White appliances in the kitchen could use updating but they work and not a big deal. Saw a few ants in the kitchen but did see maintenance outside spraying around the condo units. Dishwasher and washer/dryer were very loud. TV in master bedroom could be updated as well. Resort grounds were nice. Unfortunately, we didn't stay long enough to do much (ie. pool, mini golf, fishing, kids activities, etc). Old mansion onsite was neat and enjoyed the history of the area. Overall, a nice comfortable stay at an affordable price. Used a Groupon deal. Was not bothered at all at check-in for any timeshare pitches. Would have liked for wifi access to be included in the price. Wifi costs extra fee. We had issues with wifi the next morning and called AT&T. We were refunded our fee since they were unable to figure out why we couldn't access the wifi anymore. Within a few minutes drive from local attractions. I would stay here again if I found another good rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The price was right but the stay was average. On checking in, we waited in line for at least 15 minutes. We chose not to pick up the welcome packet from the concierge so as to not go through the timeshare spiel. On entering our place, there were bags of trash and dirty linens still on the porch. (These were still there the next morning too.) There were a few tiny sugar ants on the kitchen counter as well. The next afternoon there were several more ants, so we called maintenance, which arrived within an hour and placed a couple ant traps. One was moved to the master bath, as ants showed up in there as well. Also, there were no linens for the sleeper sofa on our arrival, so we had to call and wait for those as well. These also showed up within an hour. The decor was definitely outdated - and the washer needed some help with the loud clunking noise during the spin cycle. We did have a quiet place - pretty sure we had neighbors but no noise, which is a plus. Kudos to the timely response from maintenance and housekeeping! There was no call for a timeshare presentation - much appreciated!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Marlissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was skeptical about this resort after seeing such a mixed batch of reviews. I am relieved to say our stay was fantastic. This resort was well worth the money we paid for the week's stay. For those unaware, this is predominately a timeshare resort. If someone does not own a timeshare here and pays the " rack rate " for this room, I could understand a little disappointment. We found a great deal on this property through Craigslist. The room was large, beds were comfortable, and most important to me, every thing was pretty clean. It has a full kitchen w/ appliances, utensils, etc. provided. There are definitely some areas they could improve on in the rooms. These few details prevented me from rating them a 5 star facility; There are a lot of little problems. From places that could use a paint touch up to an appliance or piece of furnishing in need of updating. One of the biggest flaws in this room, was the fact that it had 2 bathrooms but only 1 shower between them. The bathroom in the master bed has a HUGE tub (no bubbles) with no shower. These rooms sleep 6 people. Pretty crappy having to share 1 shower. Other than that, the property was beautiful. Plenty of activities for kids. Numerous sports and recreation options. The activities center is well stocked with any and everything you might need to partake in those options. As well as dvds and board games in case of inclement weather. Also do not miss the free tour of the Manor House on property. Kudos to Brandon, our guide. He was entertaining and knowledgeable on the history of house and surrounding lands. A little over an hour history lesson made fun and interesting by an genuine, involved, guide. In fact, all the staff we came in contact with were very nice and welcoming. Even when it was just walking or driving by in a golf cart, the staff would wave, smile, and/or say good morning. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider this property on a future visit to Williamsburg. ALSO, very conveniently located near most of the popular attractions. Under 15 min to Busch Gardens, Water Country and Colonial Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Do your homework. This resort hotel could be your place to relax for the week, for around the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DeuceBagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was the worst stay that I have ever had. I couldn't believe how outdated everything was considering the fact that this was supposed to be a resort. The furniture was in poor condition, the carpet was dirty, the beds were uncomfortable, and there was no television in one of the bedrooms! There was a cheap flat screen in the living room, and an old, outdated boxed television in the master bedroom. My husband and I were traveling with another family, and their room was worse. There was a blood stain on one of the sheets in their room, and my aunt found a roach in the kitchen! We decided that we didn't want to stay there, and went back to the building were we checked-in to get a refund. The woman who helped us said that she couldn't give us our money back because she wasn't a manager, and that one wouldn't be available until the morning which made us even more angry because we had no choice but to stay there. In the end, we just sucked it up and decided that we would NEVER stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Book elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank lp19702014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Unfortunately, we do still have older tube TV’s in some of our units and depending on the section of the resort you are staying in, some of the furniture is an older style that may be considered dated. We assure you we understand that no one wishes to have their vacation tarnished by accommodations and amenities less than anticipated. As such, we are in the process of updating many different aspects of the resort including but not limited to furniture, TV’s, and bedding. Please know that what you experienced is not our standard of service and our housekeeping and maintenance staff would have been more than happy to address any cleaning needs and/or fix or replace any problems that were present in your guestroom. We will, of course, be sure to forward your concerns to our General Manager for coaching and review. Regretfully, we cannot always offer a refund as some rentals are non-refundable, but we have issued a gesture of our good will to make amends for any inconvenience our guests have endured, in cases where there was clear negligence. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Got a great deal on this resort through Hotwire.com. Check in was a breeze, no sales hype given. Place was very clean and roomy. Grounds were maintained well and Crepe Myrtles in full bloom. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank NiemzGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and the 256 rolling woodland acres. It is a great resort that offers nature, history, and lots of on-site activities to keep guests of all ages entertained. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
647 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £61 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing