We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Historic Powhatan Resort
Ranked #22 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I visited this same hotel five years ago and only had great things to say about it. We paid less than a $100 a night and had a two room suite with a porch with a hot tub! I could not wait to take my parents here who had never been to Virginia before. The second time around I was not nearly as impressed. It is a decent location to many tourist attractions. It also has a kitchen, so we were able to go to a grocery store about a mile away and get breakfast food. However, our condo was never cleaned in the three days we were there. When we got there, there was used coffee in the pot with a moldy coffee filter. I support going green, but that's just lazy. We could also hear everything the visitors upstairs said. To top it off, I paid for the hotel through hotels.com and then they double charged the credit card we used for incidentals. That to me is a big red flag. It wasn't caught until a month later. They did reverse the charge right away, which is still shady that they did it in the first place...

You get a large space for large families or two couples, but it seems a bit shady to me...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lcattau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I chose to visit Williamsburg with our kids before summer ended. I was able to book a week at the Historic Powhatan Resort in August, and we were on our way. I had heard many positive things about the owning company, Diamond Resorts, so naturally we were excited to take our vacation.

As soon as we arrived, we were met with issues when I tried to check in. Apparently, the internet had gone down, which I totally understand was not the resort's fault. However, the resort relies too heavily on the internet, so they were not able to check us in or even tell us what unit number we would be in until it was back online. Being after 8pm, I remained optimistic and simply asked where we could get dinner in the area, telling the person that we'd just come back after dinner. Two hours later, we were able to check in. Being late on a Friday night, we did not look around much before going to bed for the evening.

Over the first couple days we noticed that the condition of the unit we were in was so degraded that a 2 or 3 star hotel would have been more appealing. Lets just look at the main issues:
1. Both bathrooms had leaky faucets.
2. The master bathroom had mold in the tub, and the tub would hardly drain at all.
3. The unit was missing basic kitchen utensils (e.g., a spatula).
4. The washer in our unit had an agitator that was not even attached to the base of the machine.
5. The master bedroom didn't have a TV at all, but the guest bedroom did (which didn't make sense to us).
6. The TV in the living room had a warped picture.
7. The DVD player wouldn't play our DVD's without skipping or freezing (and these were not scratched and worked afterwards back home).
8. There were dirty dishes in the cabinet (and when I say dirty, I mean literally half a bowl was covered in food gunk).
9. The balcony had nails sticking up out of the wood (a hazard for our kids).

I could go on, but why bother. To our amusement, Diamond Resorts wanted to try to sell us on their "wonderful" points program by giving us one of the worst accommodations my family has ever been provided. Appalling! Needless to say, I would NOT recommend this resort to anyone!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank crazydw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at The Historic Powhatan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay. You are correct that we had a system outage, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Our maintenance manager has been made aware of this problem for correction and further review to prevent this issue from reoccurring in the future. Although this is certainly unusual for our resort, we have taken action to fix the concerns you brought to our attention. Going forward, we strongly advise that our guests bring any concerns that may arise during your stay to one of our team members so that we may have the opportunity to quickly amend. Rest assured our team will do its absolute best to accommodate any guests if an issue like this does arise. Our resort hopes to have the chance to welcome you and your family back in the future for a much more enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We got a 2 bedroom unit with two bathrooms because we had 5 people but the master bathroom had a bathtub but no shower (?!?)...really? That was not so handy with five people. Also odd that the 'master' bedroom didn't have a TV despite having a place for it! And the 2nd bedroom had a 19" tube television! Nice TV in the living room though! The patio furniture needs to be replaced, may be too dirty to be cleaned. Sliding glass doors also need to be replaced as they are permanently cloudy. Loved having the adult pool as there were many kids running around. Unfortunately, the hot tub is not in the adult pool area so it was crowded with kids at all times. Pool area is nicely maintained and the pools were very clean. Bit inconvenient for our friends to have to park quite a bit away from our unit. $15 resort fee for 'activities' but think it is for the wifi as in April there was no resort fee but a fee for the wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank weluvlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This resort is in a good location if you are looking to go to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Jamestown etc. The resort is very family friendly. The negatives associated with this property are that it is outdated (the furnishings and the units), the beds are not very comfortable, and the overall sales pitch that we were given. After checking in we were told we must go to the concierge desk for our welcome packet (which was no more than a clear plastic bag with brochures which can be picked up anywhere around town) when we got to the concierge we were told we had already been signed up for a time share sales pitch. When we asked them to cancel this they kept on going about how good the offer was. Overall the place is fine especially if you are traveling with a family.

There isn't a housekeeping service during your stay. I called to ask for clean towels and was told that I should wash my own before asking for a towel service. I was turned off by this.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank bethjohngeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hi my husband and daughter and I was there for 4 nights we had the rooms for a week but decided to leave after 4 nights. Reason one my daughter was upstairs in the loft bed she said was hard as a rock and so was ours. Also in the loft it was not as cool as it should be downstairs
it was either too hot or too cold. Reason two we are on vacation why do they have to bother with us attending a seminar on vacation time sharing not a good thing and wasted 2 hours which we could of been somewhere where we really wanted to be!!! The place is dated needs to be updated..

Room Tip: Go to rooms where it is updated and the lofts are cooler and beds are not hard as a rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MARSH0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took our 17 year old grandson here for his birthday. It was chosen because of its closeness to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. We were in a two bedroom condo with a full kitchen which we did not use except for breakfast. This is a great resort and I would recommend it to any family traveling to this area.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the lower level have a jetted tub. the upper level does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7JudyB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Avoid the summer crowds but still enjoy the diverse activities and pleasant, warm weather Williamsburg VA has to offer! We vacationed here for 7 days beginning on September 6 in 2013. This is now my favorite vacation time of year in Williamsburg and my favorite spot. The Historic Powhatan Resort in Williamsburg is a Timeshare Resort that also offers rental units. Rental rates in September were reasonable especially since you can get a comfortable 2 bedroom unit with full kitchen, dining area, living room, balcony and 2 baths for a price that could easily be paid for a standard room in one of the area's better hotels. Plus the resort has on-site indoor and outdoor pools, tennis courts, playground, etc. There are 2 restaurants on site (One is casual with OK food, the 2nd which is called "The Kitchen" is more upscale and the food is very good) and a small store to get milk, etc. Regular grocery stores, an array of fast food take-out, coffee shops, restaurants, outlet shopping and more are a short drive from the resort. Resort staff members are friendly and accommodating. (At check-in or while at the resort, you may get invited to a free informational breakfast...this is actually a presentation to purchase a "vacation experience" (timeshare week)...just tell the caller or concierge, or vacation assistant that you're not interested...unless you are... and to please not contact you again during your stay).

Williamsburg VA is a beautiful location that offers diverse activities for everyone. In addition to the extensive historic attractions and sites the area is noted for there is an array of other options including great theme parks (Busch Gardens, Water Parks, etc.), golfing, shopping, etc. The Yorktown River Walk Area (about 20 minute drive) and Virginia Beach (about an hour) are all only a drive away from Powhatan Resort.

Early September in Williamsburg is perfect for those who want to get away, avoiding the summer crowds yet still being able to enjoy the warm weather and related activities (outdoor swimming, beach, etc.) in addition to the many other historical amenities. Although some of the theme parks have a reduced schedule, most attractions/activities are still open! Since the summer crowds are gone, you can truly enjoy the historic tours or the theme park rides and shows without having to stand in a stifling crowd or wait in excessively long lines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Powhatan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Powhatan Resort

Address: 3601 Ironbound Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £57 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Powhatan Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 845
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Little Piece of American HistoryVirginia is one of the best places to visit if you are a history buff and want to learn more about the birth of a nation and see relics from days gone by. Williamsburg is a 170-acre historic town that has been restored to its original English condition. The Historic Powhatan Resort offers guests a little piece of colonial history with the restored Manor House (circa 1735). Nestled among 256 acres of beautiful woodland, this resort is loaded with fun things to see and do, and learn a little bit of American history. Rest, Relaxation, and a Whole Lot MoreIf you are looking for a resort that has all kinds of things to do, then you need look no further than The Historic Powhatan Resort. Here you can enjoy both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, an outdoor pavilion, and even a playground for the kids. Each three-bedroom suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a two-burner stovetop, a private balcony and a loft for the ultimate in relaxing vacations.If you are looking for a great meal, you can find it at The Historic Powhatan Bar & Grille, where you will find a casual family dining atmosphere for both breakfast and dinner. Open seven days a week, The Historic Powhatan Bar &Grille has an outdoor patio where you can enjoy a nice, cold drink while watching the peaceful pond (weather permitting, of course). During the breakfast buffet, enjoy being entertained by the resort's very own "first lady", Martha Washington, who will regale guests of all ages with amusing and entertaining stories.Whether you are looking for rest and relaxation, or fun and excitement, you can have it all at The Historic Powhatan Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Historic Powhatan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Powhatan Hotel Williamsburg
Historic Powhatan Hotel
Sunterra Powhatan Plantation
Powhatan Plantation Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing