We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June-Sister Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“June-Sister Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I am very particular when selecting a place to stay and I will take my time researching areas and reviews to find the perfect place that fits my needs. Cleanliness, location, price, customer service, and amenities included are my top criteria in search of a great hotel or B&B. Customer reviews helps in my selection process, but I am careful not to put my faith in all reviews that may not be legit.
I was shopping for a place to spend a sister weekend getaway for my sister’s 50th birthday and wanted to treat my very patriotic sister by picking a historical destination. Williamsburg was the perfect place and the A Williamsburg White House B&B was the perfect resting place. We spent two nights at the Williamsburg White House B&B. Each room is unique presidential theme along with the rest of the B&B; even the parking lot. We stayed in the Teddy Roosevelt, which included queen size canopy bed and comfortable sitting room complete with love seat sleeper sofa. The owner was very helpful in making suggestions for dinner & excursions around Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown & Yorktown. I read some reviews that said they had to fill out a breakfast request form, we did not fill out any forms, but the inn owner did ask if we had any preferences. My other sister is allergic to nuts so John made sure he did not give her anything that contained nuts. Breakfast was fantastic each morning especially the French toast, and the afternoon snacks, wine, water, and port was a nice touch from a busy day of sightseeing.
The only downside would be the Wi-Fi server was down, which is no fault of the B&B because we could connect to their network. I always take no Wi-Fi into consideration when traveling and I will make other arrangements; this time it was dessert and Wi-Fi at Panera Bread.
Great location, across from the college of William and Mary and within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg-Merchant Square, 2 miles from the Williamsburg Salt Spa, and 5 miles to Jamestown settlement accommodated all our needs. I will never forget John’s “stuffed French toast”. We highly recommend this if you are interested in a great location. Thanks John for “a home away from home” experience.

Room Tip: Theodore Roosevelt room is on the third floor and is great for three people and very quiet. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    55
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
342
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had an amazing stay in the Adams Chamber, which has it's own entry from the rest of the B and B! The room was clean, spacious and the king bed was really comfortable! We had purchased the Elopement package along with our stay and our package was just great! It included a dinner at the Fat Canary, amazing food, a beautiful ceremony with a unity candle which I wasn't expecting, champagne toast with beautiful hand-painted glasses for us! Then our cake...oh the carrot cake was amazing! Debbie and John were very gracious and so personable!

The inn is beautiful and we could only eat breakfast one day due to family obligations but we had this Baked Oatmeal which was to die for and eggs benedict! The whole inn is themed with Washingtonian decor even the parking signs made us laugh!

We will be definitely returning for our anniversary!! Thank you John and Debbie for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: The Adams Chamber is a top floor with it's own entry through the West Wing. Very quiet and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larabuchko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rolla, missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We wanted a very intimate wedding for two and found everything we were looking for at A Williamsburg White House. The Lincoln Suite was beautiful and immaculate and so comfortable. The private breakfast for two before our big day, in the library was perfect. The most special part was how attentive Debbie was to our needs during the ceremony and just being the perfect hostess afterwards. We were just enchanted with the setting, the food and how special she made everything. We just can't thank them enough for making our wedding everything we could have wanted, and more.

Room Tip: We liked the separate bathrooms and they were spacious and super clean in the Lincoln Suite. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pttrsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The accommodations were beautiful, clean, and comfortable and were packed with interesting historical decor. The hosts, John and Debbie, were gracious, helpful, and fun to talk to. My favorite part, however, was the breakfast. Not only was it delicious and the best meal of the trip, but they adjusted their menu and made mine special so that it was safe for me to eat (food allergies). Wow! You won't go wrong with a visit to the White House!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a delightful 3 night stay at the Williamsburg White House Bed & Breakfast. John & Debbie were gracious hosts and made our stay extremely comfortable. They were very welcoming, hospitable, and run a top notch b&b. They really go above and beyond to make you feel at home. The property is beautiful, well kept, and little touches make it very charming. The property is convenient and a quick and lovely walk to Colonial Williamsburg. We are not breakfast eaters so we didn't join in for breakfast, but would catch the delicious smells as we left for sightseeing in the morning. I'm sure it was as divine as it was fragrant! They also set out homemade goodies and cocktails for you to enjoy in the evening after a fun-filled day of sightseeing. We definitely plan to stay with them again and bring our families with us. We could not have had a more exceptional experience. Thank you so much for hosting us! C&S Heck

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I are locals and opted to spend our 25th anniversary where it all started for us in Williamsburg. We have enjoyed numerous B & Bs over the years so we selected A Williamsburg White House for its location to Colonial Williamsburg. Very well done inn with a presidential theme throughout, even the rooms. We booked the Lincoln Suite in the main house and the unique Ford's Theatre seating area and double bathrooms were a joy for us but probably a pain for the inn keepers, due to twice the work. Great breakfast each morning and the inn keepers are more than willing to assist with sightseeing or dinner plans in the area. We slept very well in the king sized bed, but I was surprised when I had to look under the bed to retrieve a shoe I inadvertently kicked underneath. The bed was being supported by a series of balancing concrete blocks. Knowing this was the case, it did make it a little stressful sleeping the second night with the possibility of the bed collapsing. Great room, breakfast, and overall stay, but I would suggest an alternative method for supporting the bed. We have already recommended the inn to our friends and hope they book in the near future and if we get the opportunity we will be booking there again. Thanks for the great anniversary weekend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Weston67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed two nights at Williamsburg White House over a beautiful spring weekend. The location is great. This B&B is less than a mile from the historic main attractions in Williamsburg, an easy walk. And even though it is across the street from the college and on a main thoroughfare, it is remarkably quiet. You won't hear "Hail to the Chief" when you check in, but John and Debbie, your gracious hosts, will treat you with all the dignity of a "first family." Relax in the Kennedy Library, enjoy the comfortable seating in the garden, or have a glass of sherry (or coffee and tea) and homemade cookies in the parlor. I recommend the Lincoln Suite – a spacious room with a very comfortable (but a bit squeaky) king bed, a separate sitting area, and his & hers bathrooms!

If you are touring Williamsburg on foot, you’ll need a hearty morning meal! John and Debbie make a killer breakfast served in the Reagan Dining Room. Our first day was eggs benedict (wonderfully prepared), and our second day was stuffed French toast (wicked good).

Room Tip: The Lincoln Room is spacious with plenty of storage AND his and hers bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfMaryPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 718 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Century Old Estate is now an Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia. This Romantic Inn is one of Williamsburg's most significant historic homes and is the oldest home currently operating as an elegant B&B in the City of Williamsburg. Enjoy unique suites, beautiful sitting rooms, manicured grounds and just a 4 block walk to Colonial Williamsburg. Historic and Romance Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Williamsburg White House b&b
a Williamsburg White House Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing