We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Christmas away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having our children grown and gone, we decided to spend Christmas away from home. We invited my mother to go along. Stayed in a 2 bedroom. We were so impressed and so pleased with our choice. The rooms were all clean, nothing broken or unuseable! Had everything we needed for our stay like dishes, pots and pans, linens ect... We will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvbchfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your 5-star recommendation! Your comments have been forwarded to the resort’s management team so that they may share your comments with the staff. We’re sure your compliments will give them a morale boost for quite awhile! We appreciate that you entrusted The Colonies at Williamsburg for your Christmas holiday vacation and we hope we have the chance to share our hospitality with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

From check-in to check-out this is the best experience that I've had with a timeshare condo.
Two full size bedrooms with attached bathrooms, a reasonable kitchen, wifi, cable, tons of storage areas, comfortable furniture.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank brantleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you! We love knowing that timeshare owners prefer our accommodations and amenities at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re thrilled that we could provide you with a great vacation and appreciate your recommendation. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at the colonies and I just love it. The units are incredibly clean and new feeling. The shower in our master bedroom is HUGE and probably one of the best I've ever been in. The pools are great, and staff is very helpful and polite. I only wish there were more parking as we had to walk pretty far, but not a huge deal. It's worth it to feel so comfortable and happy in our condo! I will only stay here when visiting Williamsburg, 5 stars.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your 5-star recommendation! We can receive no better compliment than to know that our guests return to stay with us again and again. Thank you for sharing your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonies at Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had the pleasure of joining our friends on their vacation to Williamsburg. All of the rooms at the Colonies are 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. We stayed on Pennsylvania right next to the construction area. The majority of the construction was being done inside the new building so the noise was not a problem.

Everything in the unit seemed new. Since we were on the first floor, we had to share the washer and dryer. This was not a problem since the majority of the week no one was in the unit next to us plus we did not use the machines much. Our unit did not have a grill to use. Also, the grills for the units use charcoal. There was a large gas grill at the pool area.

Before going down, I called to get information about the resort. I spoke to Calvin who was extremely helpful and personable. Calvin advised me that the outside pool would be closed on Labor Day. We arrived the week after Labor Day and had a pleasant surprise since the outdoor pool was still open. Since the weather was in the 90s, they decided to keep the pool open for the week.

We did not join any of the scheduled events. We did see Karaoke by the pool one night. It did not seem too organized.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCCLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your 5-star review! We truly appreciate it when a guest takes the time to share their experience with us. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re committed to excellent service and will continue to provide our guests with great vacation experiences. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have been to the Colonies for the last 3 years. There are 7 adults and 1 child, we get 2 rooms on the same floor. We leave our doors open accessing each others room while our floor is locked off from anyone else.The grounds are still under construction in a lot of the areas but the pool is for all ages. I enjoy being able to put my lounge chair in the pool. There is a basketball net in the pool and a great water slide for all ages. The staff is not always the friendlies but I have never been mistreated. There is a washer and dryer in every room (perfect for lighter packing). The rooms are beautiful and spacious. We absolutely love this resort. Every year we find new places to explore in the area.There is so much to do and see. If going to Busch Garden and Water Country USA they have a deal for 7 consecutive days for one low price (on line). You can hop from one park to the other on the same day and pay one price for parking. For those who like to shop the outlets are about 1mile away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your awesome recommendation and your continued loyalty to our resort. The Colonies at Williamsburg is committed to creating lasting relationships with our guests and we’re grateful for the opportunity to share our hospitality with you. We look forward to welcoming you and your family “home” again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here Labor Day weekend and the week after. Our 2 BR 2 BA condo was beautiful and the property, while still under construction in some areas, was really nice. Great pool, children's playground, and fitness center. The hot tub was closed the whole week, so that was disappointing and the indoor pool was closed a few days after Labor Day. The only bad thing I have to say about the experience is the parking. We had to park next to the pool over Labor Day weekend because there was not enough spaces by our condo. I think if there's more than one vehicle per condo, the second vehicle should park in the overflow lot so that everyone can park by their condo.

Room Tip: If you have any issues with stairs, ask for a condo on the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re sorry that some of the amenities were unavailable during your visit and for the parking issue you had, but are glad to know that you still enjoyed your time at the resort. We hope that we may have an opportunity to share our hospitality with you again on your next Williamsburg vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were disappointed in how we were treated by the front desk staff at The Colonies. The rooms were nice and the pool was fun, but the landscaping, fit and finish and overall presentation were not great.

There are so many properties to chose from we would not go back here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Jenn_on_the_coast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We’re sorry that we didn’t provide you with a positive vacation experience. Your review didn’t detail the issue you had with our front desk staff. Although we can’t comment specifically on the issue, we never want a guest to feel as if they didn’t receive the best customer service possible and we’re sorry that we have now left a negative impression. We hope that you will reconsider and return and allow us another opportunity to prove that we offer the best hospitality in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Address: 5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: £127 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing