We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed spacious units.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer, electric fireplace and the balcony were some of this property's amenities that made our vacation so enjoyable. I loved having my morning coffee on the balcony. I especially loved the colors, patterns and furniture used for the interior design in the units. The bath towels were much thicker than the towels we were used to and the mattress was well padded and very comfortable. My only complaint with this property was the less than spacious game room and lack of interesting scheduled activities for middle-aged adults; and the very pungent smell of chlorine that was emitting from the pool area every time I entered the main building to access the front desk and game room. The location is right off Richmond Road and is close to dining and shopping. I will definitely consider The Colonies at Williamsburg on future vacations to Williamsburg, Virginia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarysgirlMaryland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re sure your comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation. We’re happy that you enjoyed your time with us and the time spent exploring nearby places. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more Williamsburg vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Unless you are staying at an expensive bed and breakfast with the experience that goes with that, I recommend The Colonies over any standard hotel or other condominium. They are spotless, well stock with every kitchen implement, nice towels, bathroom amenities and anything you could need. We had booked a few two bedroom units and they were huge - with each bedroom having a master bath almost the same size as the bedroom! Its a really comfortable place to stay and so close to everything, with grocery store down the road and many restaurants easily accessed. We had a very nice stay in these condos.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely recommendation. We take a lot of pride in The Colonies at Williamsburg and are so excited when our guests are pleased with our efforts. You really shared all that we feel is so wonderful about our resort and we’re happy to know that you have enjoyed our service. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My only complaints are the in room fire detectors were way to sensitive. They went off 4 times in 2 days. Every time I opened the oven the heat set it off. It's a very very loud alarm. The only other thing I would have like to have in the bathrooms are soap dishes. The security was top notch. The staff were excellent. The condo was absolutely beautiful. We will definitely stay at The Colonies of Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re thankful to know that you enjoyed your stay even if we didn’t meet all of your expectations. We appreciate your compliments on our employees and service and we look forward to sharing our warm hospitality with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

So when my friend informed me we were staying at this location , I was not happy.
This is not Viginia Beach. I am SOOOOOOO glad I decided to suspend judgement and trust her.
This property is gorgeous, such nature beauty, Wilderness without feel without being out doors.
I prefer the units in the back by the large trees. So relaxing! The units were also beautiful within.
Every modern convenience stayed in the two bedroom. modern tv , jacussi in one room with shower, Masterbedroom had a couples shower. The resort had a few tours and activites availble. We took advantage of a Williamsburg toured helped with our orientation during the trip. Easy drive to Virginia Beach. Great day trip to D.C. Easily found a manicurist and could arrange massages etc.

Cons: BIG CON: No street lights on streets around the resort at night, very dangerous!
The Wifi was spotty it worked well in the master but not in the entire unit.

Tips: Dining out... "Holy MAckerel" is awesome. I am from New Orleans love fodd and would eat there every meal. Grocery Shoping is very affordable at "Food Lion" the local grocery store so don't bring minor items from home.

The sofa bed in the livingroom mattress

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MesaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! Positive comments here on TripAdvisor are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when a guest of ours takes the time to share their experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Colonies at Williamsburg the next time you visit Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I consider a 5 to be something above & beyond. I give Colonies a 4. It was really nice, very clean & in a great location just nothing spectacular to earn that perfect 5. (Could have done without the mowing at 7 am this morning but it was check out day so that may have been a hint.....) The outdoor pool was nice but very cold this week. Every one we encountered was very hospitable, check in and parking a breeze, trash convenient to rooms, large rooms fully equipped, grocery just down the street... We had a great time. I would definitely recommend this place if you are in Williamsburg.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank McMarciJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We appreciate your recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg. Guest feedback is one of the best ways we can continue to improve our service and provide amazing experiences and we appreciate you taking the time to post. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so that we may have another chance to exceed all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Great place for a family! Beautiful accommodations and activities for families. The pool was a hit with our 18 month old! About 10 min drive into Old Town Williamsburg. Huge Outlet mall just down the road. Staff was friendly and made us feel right at home!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your 5-star recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg! We are delighted your stay was a pleasant one and certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed end of May - 2 bedroom - clean and very nice. The front desk staff was great. I have a medical condition which requires the room to be without any odor (this includes nice smells unfortunately). This was done for me. The indoor pool odor is too strong even for my husband. Unfortunately due to game room and the gym being in the same building this eliminated any use of these facilities. The grounds are average but well kept. No large trees or no grill for our site.
Beware of the FEED BACK Meeting.
They will offer you a "give us feedback meeting" This is through the Berkley Group. They also own the site. DON'T GO! They use strong arm, bullying and lie in their sales/information pitch. Enough that I spoke with Front Desk Manager and called Interval Internal (meeting included information about Interval).
In the end - we will not return to this location. I do not believe in rewarding bad behavior. Due to the lies and bullying I could not recommend this place.

Room Tip: No elevators - all your luggage up steps if you are not on the group floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jdpjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comments. We’re glad that you thought the resort was nice but we are disappointed that your meeting with our sales representative was not what you expected. Since this meeting is not mandatory, a deposit is required to ensure that only guests who are truly interested in attending will sign up and the requirements are noted on the receipt. Our years of experience have taught us just how important it is to take time to reconnect with family and friends and we believe a vacation at one of our resorts provides the perfect opportunity. We understand if you did not appreciate the value of the meeting you attended but we hope that we may welcome you back to our resort as a guest again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
2.4 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Address: 5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: £127 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing