We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh look, SNOW!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As you can tell it snowed for Saint Patrick`s Day, but that didn`t slow us down. The Colonies has easy access to everywhere. We rented the two room model and to start off with there were no elevators for those staying up stairs and even with two rooms the space was a little small. The rooms are well stocked and clean and as for the view, well, it`s still new and they`re working on it. They have a great in and outdoor pool for the kids and a very nice game room also. The gym I didn`t use but hey, it was there. The staff were pleasant and you can`t go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErininOkeechobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you! We’re happy that your family enjoyed their vacation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonies at Williamsburg the next time you want a fun family vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautifully decorated, clean rooms. Nice pool and tetherball and ladder ball are a nice added touch! Staff was super nice and helpful. NOT PUSHY!!! Great place to stay if visiting the historical sites! Definitely will stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janfromga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re very happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our friendly hospitality. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The unit was spotless and had everything we needed- give the unit itself a 5.The pictures on this site are an accurate representation of the units. We had unit 60a and the back faced the pool- on Pennsylvania ave. This was a 2 story unit- some buildings were 3 stories. Nice short walk to the pool from our unit- even the distant units would not have that long of a walk to the pool. As mentioned in previous reviews- the parking is a challenge. Every single spot was taken every night on our street. We had to park at the pool lot and walk to our unit a few evenings- maybe when all units are done parking may change but I doubt it- looks like they have all the land accounted for.
The unit was spotless. It probably had the best equipped kitchen we have had at a timeshare, all utensils, pots and pans were in good order and clean. They provide dw detergent for 4 loads, dishwashing soap,paper towels, one detergent for washer, salt and pepper, to get you started. Washer and dryer in this upstairs unit. We ordered a rollaway for $20 for the week. Very quiet building and did not hear anyone the whole time there.
I give the grounds a 3 - they seem to be trying with the landscape but the grass is pretty scruffy and it is pretty bare- not lush and resort like. They had a small play area that was near our unit but did not see others on the property. Again, maybe when they are done that will change.
The pools were nice for the kids. The staff kept things tidy. Did not use any of the other amenities.
It was nicely located to reach all of the attractions, shopping, restaurants and a Starbucks.
When we travel, the room means the most- clean and comfortable- this fit the bill.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 332neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your recommendation. We’re happy to know that your family enjoyed their stay at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We do our best to provide all the comforts of home and we’re thankful that you were pleased with our efforts. We were however surprised that you found our resort lacking in landscaping. Our Grounds Team at The Colonies received a "Community Beautification Award" from the "Williamsburg Area Council of Garden Clubs" just this year. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Colonies so that we may continue to show how we are constantly improving our resort and the vacation experience we offer our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, washer/dryer, electric fireplace and the balcony were some of this property's amenities that made our vacation so enjoyable. I loved having my morning coffee on the balcony. I especially loved the colors, patterns and furniture used for the interior design in the units. The bath towels were much thicker than the towels we were used to and the mattress was well padded and very comfortable. My only complaint with this property was the less than spacious game room and lack of interesting scheduled activities for middle-aged adults; and the very pungent smell of chlorine that was emitting from the pool area every time I entered the main building to access the front desk and game room. The location is right off Richmond Road and is close to dining and shopping. I will definitely consider The Colonies at Williamsburg on future vacations to Williamsburg, Virginia.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarysgirlMaryland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your detailed description of your stay at The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re sure your comments will help future guests get the most out of their own vacation. We’re happy that you enjoyed your time with us and the time spent exploring nearby places. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more Williamsburg vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Unless you are staying at an expensive bed and breakfast with the experience that goes with that, I recommend The Colonies over any standard hotel or other condominium. They are spotless, well stock with every kitchen implement, nice towels, bathroom amenities and anything you could need. We had booked a few two bedroom units and they were huge - with each bedroom having a master bath almost the same size as the bedroom! Its a really comfortable place to stay and so close to everything, with grocery store down the road and many restaurants easily accessed. We had a very nice stay in these condos.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely recommendation. We take a lot of pride in The Colonies at Williamsburg and are so excited when our guests are pleased with our efforts. You really shared all that we feel is so wonderful about our resort and we’re happy to know that you have enjoyed our service. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My only complaints are the in room fire detectors were way to sensitive. They went off 4 times in 2 days. Every time I opened the oven the heat set it off. It's a very very loud alarm. The only other thing I would have like to have in the bathrooms are soap dishes. The security was top notch. The staff were excellent. The condo was absolutely beautiful. We will definitely stay at The Colonies of Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your recommendation of The Colonies at Williamsburg. We’re thankful to know that you enjoyed your stay even if we didn’t meet all of your expectations. We appreciate your compliments on our employees and service and we look forward to sharing our warm hospitality with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

So when my friend informed me we were staying at this location , I was not happy.
This is not Viginia Beach. I am SOOOOOOO glad I decided to suspend judgement and trust her.
This property is gorgeous, such nature beauty, Wilderness without feel without being out doors.
I prefer the units in the back by the large trees. So relaxing! The units were also beautiful within.
Every modern convenience stayed in the two bedroom. modern tv , jacussi in one room with shower, Masterbedroom had a couples shower. The resort had a few tours and activites availble. We took advantage of a Williamsburg toured helped with our orientation during the trip. Easy drive to Virginia Beach. Great day trip to D.C. Easily found a manicurist and could arrange massages etc.

Cons: BIG CON: No street lights on streets around the resort at night, very dangerous!
The Wifi was spotty it worked well in the master but not in the entire unit.

Tips: Dining out... "Holy MAckerel" is awesome. I am from New Orleans love fodd and would eat there every meal. Grocery Shoping is very affordable at "Food Lion" the local grocery store so don't bring minor items from home.

The sofa bed in the livingroom mattress

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MesaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the great review! Positive comments here on TripAdvisor are vital to our reader’s decision-making when choosing a vacation destination and we truly appreciate it when a guest of ours takes the time to share their experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Colonies at Williamsburg the next time you visit Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort

Address: 5380 Olde Towne Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1922
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: £117 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for your next family vacation, The Colonies at Williamsburg boasts residential-style accommodations consisting of two- and four-bedroom condominiums with full kitchens and electric fireplaces designed for maximum comfort. Kitchen, living room and dining room areas in each suite are integrated for entertaining and enjoyment. Resort amenities include indoor & outdoor heated pools with water features, an outdoor hot tub and tennis courts. The resort is just minutes from the most popular attractions in the area including Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and popular retail outlet stores. Designated suites meet Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Colonies at Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing