We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, broken elevator, comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Ranked #66 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great location, broken elevator, comfortable beds”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have given this hotel an average review with three stars. We stayed here the first weekend in May 2013 for three days. The first thing we learned is that the elevator was broken, and we would have to carry all of our luggage up the stairway to our room. The front desk person helped me upon arrival, but this was very inconvenient for the entire visit. We never saw any elevator repair person. There is only one elevator, and it was out of service for our entire stay. I would go down to the breakfast buffet, and try to balance cereal and juice to bring it back up the stairway (which had very heavy doors at each level) for our kids in the room. It was a difficult climb through the stairway every day with our belongings and food, etc. The wifi was the best part of our stay, as it was strong and reliable. The beds were very comfortable with great quilted down-alternative comforters which were soft and comfy. The pillows and sheets were comfortable and the carpet was clean and new enough. The bathroom was clean, and the sink was a solid-counter stone and was very modern. However, this is a basic hotel, and the hallways were not pleasant since the paint on all of the doors is so badly chipped and the paint is really in bad condition. The poor paint conditions made the hotel feel old and eerie while walking through the hallways. The lobby smelled odd, and the hallways smelled like they put dryer sheets in the air conditioner? Well, this hotel served our purpose and seemed to be in a very, very safe and convenient location. The beds were truly the best part, as they were great (even though just two double beds in our room, not queens). The breakfast was adequate, with bagels, cereal, sausage, juice, coffee, make-your-own waffles, lots of items, but the scrambled eggs did not taste good, and were a strange consistency. We did not use the indoor pool since at the entrance of the pool, there was a carpeted area that had ugly carpet stains, so we decided not to use the pool, as it was just uninviting. We saw some people in the hot tub, but no one in the pool. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a strict budget and need to save money. They reduced the rate by $10 per night since the elevator was out-of-order. However, if you are looking for luxury, avoid it. Also, my advice is to ask if the elevator has been repaired.

Room Tip: They accept pets in certain rooms. Ask for the first floor if the elevator is still broken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Good Afternoon Ester046,

I thank you for your feedback we appreciate all comments and suggestions as that is how we get better and better! I do sincerely apologize about the elevator not operating during your visit. The repairs to the elevator did take longer than expected due to the particular part had to be manufactured upon order. However, the elevator is now definitely operating 100% and I do understand how much of a inconvenience having to use the stairs during the entire visit. We have touched up all of the doors in the main building last week and as it is an ongoing project that we schedule every quarter. We will be touching up all hallways and the exterior building over the next two weeks. I understand the "dryer sheet" smell in the hallways, but I can assure you we do not put dryer sheets in the AC units. With the guest laundry on the 2nd floor, both 2nd and 3rd floors can indeed smell like dryer sheets especially if a lot of guests are doing laundry. The pool area is a work in progress and I do appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    48
    35
    35
    68
See reviews for
143
59
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My friends and I ha never been to Williamsburg before and decided to stop through while we were traveling north. The young lady Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful and very nice! She recommended a great restaurant across the street that was very delicious! The pool and hot tub were great and clean. The hotel is still being renovated but is very nice for the price! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMFAZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
KIMFAZZ,

I thank you for sharing you compliments! Stefania is a great addition to our staff. The Yorkshire Restaurant is absolutely outstanding, priced resonably for the quality and the portion size, and they have stellar customer service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I have used hotels for the last 12 years with my job. I will tell you these people are probably the nicest and easiest to work with I have ever used. The hotel is a little old, but clean and on a quiet street. The breakfast is good and the indoor pool is awesome. It is around the corner from Bush Gardens and all the historic attractions.

There are no walking-distant restaurants, but all are a very short drive away. I will use them again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Don S,

It was a pleasure serving you and your AFJROTC group! We will miss Bill since he this was his last trip and we won't be able to assist in any practical jokes! I am glad you enjoyed your stay, Busch Gardens & the Williamsburg area. We look forward to seeing you and your group in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stay here from March 19th to March 26th while in Williamsburg looking for property. The staff not only are extremely accommodating, but are also super friendly. Because we were buying property there was a lot of paperwork back and forth and nothing I asked was too much trouble. The hotel is extremely clean and neat and they have the best breakfast of any choice property we have stayed. I also noticed that the rooms seemed a little larger then most hotels.....it is a little older but it is also so convenient to everything...almost across from the colonial area. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Susan E,

Thank you Susan for your compliments. Our interior rooms are a bit more spacious than most hotels. It was a pleasure assisting you in any way possible, as we all know how stressful it is to sell one property and buy another within the same week. Since you are a Williamsburg local now we look forward to seeing you drop by and say "Hi"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Shore of MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2012 while in the area Christmas shopping. I have no complaints at all, only compliments. I have stayed at almost every hotel in Williamsburg and this is one I will be returning to. Nice breakfast, comfy beds and clean rooms. I don't need anything more than that. The great staff was a bonus and so was the price. I will be returning to Williamsburg with my husband tomorrow - 4/7/13 - and we will be staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Memomof2,

It was great to see our returing guests! We thank you for the compliments and pictures! It was our pleasure to make you and your family's stay as comfortable as possible. We do strive to be the best in customer service. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Used Choice points- 10,000 pts. 2/8-2/11/13.
First impression- Small hotel with friendly staff. Rooms older but slightly larger than usual. Rooms seem well kept and Hotel seems well managed. Free baked cookies at front desk!!
During stay- Large heated indoor pool and Lg. Hot tub/spa. ~4 mi to Busch and 3 to Col. Williams. Breakfast very nice, usual waffle, sausage, biscuit, egg, fruit, cereal, yogurt.
1-2 blocks form convenience store/gas station. Fairly quiet except for train noise 1-2 x's a day.
Checkout- No issues
Try Antonios Ristorante Italiano 801 Merrimac Trail
Williamsburg (757) 258-5300. Good inexpensive pizza, sandwiches and salads.

Con's- nearby restaurants a bit pricey. Small vanity area in our room. Kids didn't want to leave hotel :)

Room Tip: Stay in main building so you won't have to walk outside to get to pool and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ENRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Good Evening ENRN,

I would like to personally thank you for your feeback and comments. It was our pleasure to serve you during your stay and can't wait to see you again in the near future. The fresh baked cookies definitely give off a astounding aroma when entering into the hotel. Also, I have just recently personally tried Antonios Ristorante Italiano and I would have to agree that is great food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We took our group to Williamsburg this past November. It consisted of many teenagers. We found the hotel to be very teenage friendly and helpful with whatever we needed. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had been recently updated.

Bobby Shah and Andre were very friendly and accomodating when asked to make cookies one evening even when they had already put them away.

The pool was very nice as well as the hot tub. The breakfast was also very good and very sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedInTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Good Evening SatisfiedInTennessee,

I thank you for giving the team here at the Quality Inn the chance to serve you and your group. I will ensure that they are well aware of your feedback! Even since your departure we have updated the rooms even more and have replaced all of our TV's with 32" Flat Screen TV's! If you may have any future group needs, feel free to contact me via email at gm.va222@choicehotels.com or via phone at 757-220-3100.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#51 of 74 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.9 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#55 of 74 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area

Property: Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Address: 505 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing