We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Ranked #66 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a weekend trip to Busch Gardens.
The lobby area was nice and clean, the rooms were average except for really stiff beds.
Continental breakfast is lacking.
Good military discount when directly booking on their site.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natbabyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Good Morning natbabyx,

I thank you for your feedback and thank you for the compliments on the lobby area. I do sincerely apologize about the beds being uncomfortable. With the deluxe continental breakfast, we do follow all Quality Inn specifications provided by Choice Hotels. Again, I thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here a month ago and I do not have any complaints. It was a pet friendly, clean room conveniently located near the historic district and Busch Gardens. The staff was helpful and friendly. For the price, the room was simple and met our needs. I plan on staying here again the next time I am in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerDan70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Good Morning TravelerDan70,

It was our pleasure serving you, your family, and your furry companion too! We appreciate your feedback and I will definitely share it with the staff. We look forward to seeing you again and again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a great time on this stay the hotel people are very nice and polite and very helpful when needed. When checking in we were on the second floor and I have trouble with steps so the lady at front got me a room on ground floor.

Room Tip: This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and have very good service both times. we were...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Good Morning Betty K,

I am super excited that we were able to accommodate you on the 1st floor. We do pride ourselves on our great customer service and I am glad that our staff was there to assist you whenever needed. Thank you and look forward to serving you again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Hello! This hotel is old and the hallways were musty. The shower heads were poor, need to get updated ones. The walls are very thin. The breakfast was poor. Eggs did not taste good and the coffee was poor. They need to add a Microwave. The first morning, the guy in the breakfast area was on his cell phone the whole time we were there. You should consider another hotel.

Room Tip: My tip would be to check out another hotel. I would choose the Clarion down the street.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pt32127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Good Evening pt32127,

I do apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. But I would like to inform you that we have switched the shower head in the room that you resided in during your stay. I have spoken with the breakfast attendant to ensure that he knows we are all about customer service and to ensure it doesn't happen again. Again I sincrely apologize that you had a less than pleasurable experience, however, I would love to invite you back and I will personally ensure your stay is the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I booked a room here based on the location (proximity to Busch gardens) as well as photos that made the hotel appear to be all inside rooms. As a female staying alone in a hotel with a young child, I didn't want to be in a hotel that had outside access to the room for safety reasons. That was my #1 concern. Imagine my disappointment when I drive up to the hotel to check in, and first had a difficult time finding parking, and saw the back portion of the hotel was all outside rooms. I asked for an inside room and was told they were all booked. The room I was given was right next to a bunch of young guys who were outside on the walkway drinking beer until almost 4 am. In my less than 12 hour stay I heard a train pass by about 5 times. The room wasn't dirty, but was small and dated. None of the outlets were tight enough to keep my phone charger plugged into the wall. The ac unit was super loud (though not loud enough to drown out the drinking crew outside my window). The pool seemed nice, and my son had it all to himself for a while. I tried not to be totally grossed out when he came up with a clump of hair on him- that was randomly floating in the pool. Breakfast sausage was tasty, that's all we tried. The orange juice was just colored water.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leahw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Good Evening Leahw01,

I do apologize that you had a less then desirable experience due the other patrons of the hotel not being respectful. However, we do take our guest safety and security very serious and I wished it would have been reported to the front desk. If noise complaints arise, we do take action quickly and effectively. I am not 100% positive about how the reservation was made, but we do have the interior and exterior rooms seperated when booking at choicehotels.com or any other online booking agent with exterior coordior in the room descrioption. I do apologize about the outlets not being up to par in that particular room. We have recently began going through all the units to replace and outlets not working properly. I thank you for your comments and feedback and the next time you are in town, please feel free to call me directly and I will personally ensure we have an interior cooridors room for your accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel we were informed that our suite was on the 3rd Floor and the elevator was broken. Chad, the person at the front desk that greeted us was very accomodating and got us two rooms on the first floor due to my husbands handicap. Chad also gave us advice on where to eat in the area and gave us any information that we wanted or needed. The breakfast was great. Hot and cold food and always full, with many choices. Pool was very nice and the hot tub was a great asset to a long day. Wonderful experience. I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hppysvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Good Afternoon Hppysvn,

It was a pleasure assisting you with your needs and accommodating you and your family! I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurant recommendation of 6 Crabs...it is a little hole in the wall seafood restaurant that all of us locals love! If you are ever in the area again, we definitely look forward to serving you and your family! Also, the elevator is now operating!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I have given this hotel an average review with three stars. We stayed here the first weekend in May 2013 for three days. The first thing we learned is that the elevator was broken, and we would have to carry all of our luggage up the stairway to our room. The front desk person helped me upon arrival, but this was very inconvenient for the entire visit. We never saw any elevator repair person. There is only one elevator, and it was out of service for our entire stay. I would go down to the breakfast buffet, and try to balance cereal and juice to bring it back up the stairway (which had very heavy doors at each level) for our kids in the room. It was a difficult climb through the stairway every day with our belongings and food, etc. The wifi was the best part of our stay, as it was strong and reliable. The beds were very comfortable with great quilted down-alternative comforters which were soft and comfy. The pillows and sheets were comfortable and the carpet was clean and new enough. The bathroom was clean, and the sink was a solid-counter stone and was very modern. However, this is a basic hotel, and the hallways were not pleasant since the paint on all of the doors is so badly chipped and the paint is really in bad condition. The poor paint conditions made the hotel feel old and eerie while walking through the hallways. The lobby smelled odd, and the hallways smelled like they put dryer sheets in the air conditioner? Well, this hotel served our purpose and seemed to be in a very, very safe and convenient location. The beds were truly the best part, as they were great (even though just two double beds in our room, not queens). The breakfast was adequate, with bagels, cereal, sausage, juice, coffee, make-your-own waffles, lots of items, but the scrambled eggs did not taste good, and were a strange consistency. We did not use the indoor pool since at the entrance of the pool, there was a carpeted area that had ugly carpet stains, so we decided not to use the pool, as it was just uninviting. We saw some people in the hot tub, but no one in the pool. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a strict budget and need to save money. They reduced the rate by $10 per night since the elevator was out-of-order. However, if you are looking for luxury, avoid it. Also, my advice is to ask if the elevator has been repaired.

Room Tip: They accept pets in certain rooms. Ask for the first floor if the elevator is still broken.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esther046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, General Manager at Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Good Afternoon Ester046,

I thank you for your feedback we appreciate all comments and suggestions as that is how we get better and better! I do sincerely apologize about the elevator not operating during your visit. The repairs to the elevator did take longer than expected due to the particular part had to be manufactured upon order. However, the elevator is now definitely operating 100% and I do understand how much of a inconvenience having to use the stairs during the entire visit. We have touched up all of the doors in the main building last week and as it is an ongoing project that we schedule every quarter. We will be touching up all hallways and the exterior building over the next two weeks. I understand the "dryer sheet" smell in the hallways, but I can assure you we do not put dryer sheets in the AC units. With the guest laundry on the 2nd floor, both 2nd and 3rd floors can indeed smell like dryer sheets especially if a lot of guests are doing laundry. The pool area is a work in progress and I do appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#54 of 73 in Williamsburg
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#63 of 73 in Williamsburg
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#47 of 73 in Williamsburg
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area

Address: 505 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing