We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Our king suite was clean and very comfortable for our three day stay in town. The front desk crew were very helpful and the breakfast ladies put out a delightful spread, including eggs, sausauge, biskets, pancakes, fresh fruit. You will not go hungry. Personally I enjoy breakfast by 6 AM but.......

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I am glad that you had a great visit with us at the Holiday Inn Express! I will ensure the Front desk staff and all the staff know how happy you were with your stay. I look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    118
    44
    23
    27
See reviews for
160
82
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Loved this hotel - very clean - well kept. Will be staying here in the future. I feel you can't go wrong with a Holiday Inn Express. The front desk people were very helpful - with things to do and see and places to eat.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I will share your expereince with all the staff at the hotel. I am happy that your stay was enjoyable and the service you received was top of the line. I am please that you will make the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg your hotel of choice!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Checked into a full house and upon arrival to the room and notice a very strong odor such as deodorizer. Called down to see if we could move...no can do as I said full house. So I asked PLEASE do not us ant chemical while we were there.No problem they were very apologetic and asked what they could do..well not a thing really. So we opened the window, walked over to La Plaza mexican restaurant next door and brought back some food..Ha just the trick to slow down the odor. The room was nice, clean, and everyone waned to help but there wasn't a thing that could happen short of steam cleaning the carpet. But it went away after a day or so..thank goodness. Each morning we were greeted with a USA today paper at the door and lots of smiles at the hot breakfast area...pretty good if you are there early...( I like soft scrambles). But fresh fruit and yogurts and breads,biscuits and cereals all fresh and kept stocked throughout the morning. Everyone including maintenance was very helpful..our A/C went out Sunday night about 9pm didn't call until the am and it was replaced within 2 hrs. Yep wheeled in a new one..I would stay here again for sure. They went out of their way to make our stay good and we were there for 7 nights. If you have an issue with chlorine smell stay up at least on the 2nd floor as the indoor pool tends to get a ton of traffic and the kids leave the doors open...need not say more. All good though and indoor pool is a nice addition. Thanks to the crew. We are priority club members and received a great rate as well.

Room Tip: If you have perfume type allergies you may want to check the room, it may have just been a fluke but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday inn Express and Suites. I will ensure the staff of the hotel hears your comments. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Williambsurg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood-Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very confortable place to stay at a reasonable rate. The front desk staff is fantastic, always greets you with a smile, and is the reason I gave 4*'s. The hotel is is a great location with tons of shops and restaurants all around. The rooms are functional and clean, although for a suite, it was underwhelming. Didn't check out the pool or free breakfast. Would come here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. I will pass on to the great comments to all the staff. I look forward to you next visit to Williamsburg and the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I was in Williamsburg for Labor Day weekend for a friend's wedding. I found the Holiday Inn Express to be very welcoming, with a great front desk staff. I asked about local area attractions and also for suggestions of things to do in the evening and the girl at the front desk was very kind and provided great suggestions. I came into contact with the maintenance staff as well, and the gentleman was very kind and offered great service. In the morning, I found the breakfast attendant to be very sweet and attentive. With a busy holiday weekend, I was surprised at well she stayed on top of everything! I like how property is closely located to main road, so when we did not feel like driving we could walk to various places. Overall, I enjoyed my time at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for the great comments about the staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure that everyone knows how much you appreciated the hospitality they offered. I look forward to your next visit with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our stay was not what we expected. After obscene amounts of traffic on our way in we arrived with our two small children at 1 am. On our way to our room we encountered an awful smell in the hall but thought we'd address it in the morning...until we noticed that the odor was coming from our room. It wreaked of mold and wet dog. My husband and 4 year old suffer from allergies and had an immediate reaction to the smell. We called the desk to tell them we needed a new room and were told that, "um we are sold out.". After a little work we were finally moved to ANOTHER hotel at 1:30 am. We finally ended up back at this hotel the following day and asked how we would be compensated for this since we already paid in advance for our vacation package. The manager said she would get back to us. It is 12 days later and not response. Our new rooms furnishings and décor were fine but the housekeeping standards were below average. Our bathroom had lots of hair on the floor and in the tub when we checked and my 4 year old found a cold medicine packet on the floor near the night stand. Last but not least the pool water quality was questionable. The water was very cloudy/dirty looking and I was uncomfortable having my children swim in it. On a more positive note the breakfast room attendant was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Over all the hotel was just "ok".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GIgiCT0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear GIgiCT0428,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg, VA. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Visiting Busch Gardens with my boyfriend, we love roller coasters, and I always try to go with the Holiday Inn Express brand when traveling. I was not disappointed. Check in was quick and easy. The room was clean, nice and comfortable. All we needed for one night. It was in a nice and safe location. Close to a few fast food restaurants down the road. The breakfast was nice and fresh. Only thing I didn't like was that check out was not until noon and they stopped breakfast at 9:30. We would have missed breakfast if we slept in but we planned accordingly. Great place to stay for the night. We will definitely return to this place on our next trip to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgood905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us at the Holiday Inn Express during your roller coaster adventure at Busch Gardens. I have taken note of your concerns with the Breakfast hours and will be evaluating the possibility of expanding the hours next summer. I look forward to your next visit to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Address: 1452 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing