We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems Here!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2007

It is amazing to read some of the reviews posted here. Some people are obviously not attuned to what it takes to make a hotel run smoothly. Having worked at a five star resorts before I can honestly say that NO hotel is perfect. You are opt to find problems no matter where you go, regardless of how much you pay. That being said, this hotel is perfectly fine and close enough to everything you need. Upon check in we were warmly greeted and check in took less than 5 minutes for us. We were given our room before the 4pm time frame, which is always good for the tired traveler. We were located on the first floor close to the pool. Yes, we were by the ice machine and traffic from people but it's a hotel-what else do you expect. We were able to sleep just fine. The room was cleaned to anyone's liking and the housekeeping staff did a nice job. The pool was a nice 90 degrees and refreshing enough after a long day of walking. As for the breakfast, again, the hotel is not obligated to give you a five star breakfast. Let's be honest-how many people eat breakfast on a daily basis anyway?!!! They provide waffles, biscuits with creamed chip beef gravy, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, milk and the condiments necessary to complete your breakfast items. You can't beat it because it is free. All in all, the holiday inn express in Williamsburg is not a bad deal. You will not be disappointed unless of course you are accustomed to being someone who thinks everything should be practically free and five star quality.

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank derekjeter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2007

We have just come from a 4-day, 3-night stay at this HIE. Overall, we were very pleased. The hotel is lovely, clean, and centrally located. The staff were accommodating and attentive to all of our needs. Breakfast could be improved upon by adding fresh fruit. If you do stay here, ask for an even room number. The odd room number side is adjacent to a huge construction project. We really did enjoy our stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravelItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

The board of helath shoud shut this place down.
Although it was memorial day weekend and there was a lot of activity, it was obvious that maintenance had not been a priority in this hotel for some time. My family(4) arrived late after taking an evening tour and due to the hoilday all other hotels were full.
We arrived to find the trash can at the hotel's exterior entrance spilling over with garbage.The interior entrance floor at the check- in desk was skuffed and dirty. The elevator floor was wet and dirty, the walls were covered with finger prints.The upstairs hallway carpet had bits of paper, coffee stirs and dark brown smuges. (Bad but under the circumstances, if the room is clean, you can brave one night). I entered the room only to find hair all over the room.One of the headboards had something white splashed and caked on the front and sides. The same white substance was caked on the bathroom door, door facing, door handle and the handle of the entrance door. There was toilet matter caked on the inside upper edge of the toilet. The bathroom sink had strandes of hair. The shower was covered with hair and an empty hair conditioner bottle thrown behind the shower curtain. The bathroom floor was dirty. The television was smeared with... I don't know what. The desk lamp had three inches of dust with several strands of hair hanging.The ice tray and ice bucket were smeared with dirt and hair. The coffee pot still contained a half inch of coffee.There was trash behind the bathroom door and on the room carpet. The curtains were snaged. The top of the room refrigerator was covered with hair, dust and trash. I found hair on and in the bed.
There was NO manager on duty. A young woman from the front desk tried to clean the room. It took her over an hour and a half. She finally gave up and handed ME a set of bed sheets so that I could change the beds. In the morning I saw pigeon and rat fical matter on the outside window sill and dirt between the window and the screen. There was a smudge of dried blood on the exterior door facing of the room and the dirty sheets that I put out in the hall at 1:30AM were still there at 8:00AM. The only manager in the hotel that morning was in housekeeping. I want to vomit everytime I think that I stayed in that hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dogfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2007

We (family of 5) have stayed here in July and December for the celebrations in Colonial Williamsburg. It is our favorite. The hotel is spotless (and beautiful!), the indoor pool is warm and wonderful, and they provide lots of choices for a breakfast on the go. The hotel staff is very helpful and polite. The hotel itself is located just a few minutes from Colonial Williamsburg which is great after a long day of fun. We will return again in 2007!

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluedragonflypond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express Hotels throughout the country; this HIE in Williamsburg does not live up to the high quality standards we have come to expect. We had a suite - it was roomy enough, but the lighting throughout was sparse and dim. We had a microwave, counter and cupboard, but there was no light closeby. There was a heat light in the bathroom, but it was either burned out or had a hidden switch because we could not determine how to turn it on. The heating/cooling system was awful. You could set it to a specific temperature, but you either had hot or cold air blowing out constantly. You were either freezing or boiling - no inbetween. The only good thing about the heater was that it made so much noise it blocked out the construction noise next to the hotel. They are just starting a big consruction project - so far most of the machinery is still clearing land 200 feet in back of the hotel, but I would anticipate this becoming a noisy project during the summer months.

We were also disappointed in the breakfast bar. This HIE seemed to have a larger area to put food out, but it was not layed out in a good flow pattern. The toaster was in a corner, so everyone waiting for toast blocked everyone else from getting any hot food. There were no cinnamon rolls! Those missing cinnamon rolls were part of the reason my kids like to stay at the HIE; we could not believe they didn't have them. They also had no featured regional dish as they have at other HIEs and no fresh fruit at all - the other HIE have always had bananas, apples or oranges. And no OJ either.

Twice I needed to go to the front desk, but there was nobody there. I stood around for a few minutes and did not see or hear anybody. Eventually, a cleaner wandered by and went to get someone to help me.

The final disappointing fact was that when we were checking under the beds on our final morning to make sure we had not left anything behind, we found about a dozen cheez-its, a fork and a coffe stirrer. None of these were items that we had brought with us.

This experience has me thinking twice about booking another HIE.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express during a trip to visit William & Mary. I was unable to get reservations at any of the quaint B&B's in the area. When we hit the commercial strip that the Holiday Inn Express is on, we weren't so sure what we were getting into. It's definitely not quaint - one chain hotel and fast food restaurant after another. But the H.I. Express was great - clean, updated furnishings, very comfortable bed and linens, beautiful fitness room. The desk staff was friendly. We were very happy with our stay, and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheScheduler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

My husband and I and our 2 teenage daughters stayed in this hotel for 5 nights just last week and had a wonderful stay. We have had bad experiences with other hotels with beds that were just horrible and made our backs ache so we were concerned about spending 5 nights in one hotel, but we were very impressed with how comfortable the beds were. We had a choice between soft and firm pillows, had the perfect weight down comforters, and it was just an incredible night's sleep. We had a standard double room with 2 queen-sized beds, not the suite, but it was plenty roomy for us - we never got in eachother's way. We never had any problems with service. When we got rained out of Busch Gardens one night and came back soaked to the skin, it was no problem getting extra towels to dry off with, and it was very convenient having a laundry room just down the hall from our room. The breakfast buffet was always very well stocked with a lot of fresh fruit, eggs, biscuits and gravy, cereals, waffles, french toast, bagels, etc. We also had a pleasant surprise of being charged less on our final bill than we were quoted through the website we booked through, I'm assuming because of our Priority Club membership. This hotel is also very centrally located and is a very short drive to Busch Gardens, Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, and Yorktown. We also made an easy day trip into Newport News and probably would have been able to go to Virginia Beach if we hadn't run out of time by trying to jam too much into our days. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank debstime4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg

Address: 1452 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £58 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter what brings you to Williamsburg, Virginia, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg has the accommodations and amenities you seek. We offer 93 guestrooms and suites, complete with in-room features like a mini-fridge, coffeemaker, and flat-screen TV. Our hotel features include a Business Center, free Wi-Fi access, state-of-the-art Fitness Center, snack and sundry store, and indoor heated pool. Plus, we treat our guests to a hot and free Express Start Breakfast Bar with healthy options every morning of their stay. In addition to all these great amenities, our hotel’s location cannot be beat. We’re just minutes away from top attractions like Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens® Williamsburg, Water Country USA®, the Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Victory Center, Warhill Sports Complex, and the Williamsburg Premium Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing