We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garbage juice and soiled linens in hall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
kande1
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Garbage juice and soiled linens in hall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2007

We are here now so this if fresh news, but the housekeeping methods here are anything but fresh...

Our hall is currently full of dirty linens piled out in front of the rooms. The maids just threw a big bundle out at my feet as I was walking down the hall to my room. They collect the garbage in bags but they leave all the bags in the hall on the carpet so it runs out onto the carpet. The carpet is stained very badly from the garbage running out. There are streaks where they have dragged the garbage bags down the hall, and they continue into the elevator!

Another problem here is that the doors are very loud when they close, so when the person next door leave at midnight it's like a sonic boom in your room.

Also, breakfast is fine but not well tended so everything runs out, including bowls, spoons, milk, and almost everything else. It's nice at around 7:00 but by 8:00 it's a zoo.

On a positive note, the front desk staff is very professional and nice.

I wonder what is UP with people these days in service, I guess they can't make enough money to care about doing a good job.

I'm starting to think it isn't worth the trouble to come to Busch Gardens! We've had some disgusting meals here also. It's fun in the park but terrible outside the park.

  • Liked — The nice front desk staff and the tasteful decoration and comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — The housekeeping staff throws dirty linens into the hall floor and leaves it all day. Garbage bags too.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kande1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    116
    42
    21
    27
See reviews for
157
78
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2007

Our family stayed here during July 4th week and enjoyed our four day visit. The hotel is new, clean and convienently located a mile from Colonial Williamsburg as well as many popular restaurants. The rooms are spacious with a separate sitting area. There's also a refrigerator with separate freezer compartment in some of the rooms. There's also a heated indoor pool, no outdoor one. My two complaints would be housekeeping forgetting to leave soap daily and the overly carb-sugary breakfast - donuts, muffins, bagels, some sad looking oranges and a couple of picked over hardboiled eggs they serve for breakfast. More fruit, protein and multigrain breads would be nice. Overall, we had a great time and plan to return soon.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, clean, updated bathroom
  • Disliked — Housekeeping leaving no soap after daily complaints to front desk.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Javabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

It is amazing to read some of the reviews posted here. Some people are obviously not attuned to what it takes to make a hotel run smoothly. Having worked at a five star resorts before I can honestly say that NO hotel is perfect. You are opt to find problems no matter where you go, regardless of how much you pay. That being said, this hotel is perfectly fine and close enough to everything you need. Upon check in we were warmly greeted and check in took less than 5 minutes for us. We were given our room before the 4pm time frame, which is always good for the tired traveler. We were located on the first floor close to the pool. Yes, we were by the ice machine and traffic from people but it's a hotel-what else do you expect. We were able to sleep just fine. The room was cleaned to anyone's liking and the housekeeping staff did a nice job. The pool was a nice 90 degrees and refreshing enough after a long day of walking. As for the breakfast, again, the hotel is not obligated to give you a five star breakfast. Let's be honest-how many people eat breakfast on a daily basis anyway?!!! They provide waffles, biscuits with creamed chip beef gravy, bagels and cream cheese, english muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, milk and the condiments necessary to complete your breakfast items. You can't beat it because it is free. All in all, the holiday inn express in Williamsburg is not a bad deal. You will not be disappointed unless of course you are accustomed to being someone who thinks everything should be practically free and five star quality.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank derekjeter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikesville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

We have just come from a 4-day, 3-night stay at this HIE. Overall, we were very pleased. The hotel is lovely, clean, and centrally located. The staff were accommodating and attentive to all of our needs. Breakfast could be improved upon by adding fresh fruit. If you do stay here, ask for an even room number. The odd room number side is adjacent to a huge construction project. We really did enjoy our stay and we would stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything was always clean.
  • Disliked — Breakfast should have included fresh fruit.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

The board of helath shoud shut this place down.
Although it was memorial day weekend and there was a lot of activity, it was obvious that maintenance had not been a priority in this hotel for some time. My family(4) arrived late after taking an evening tour and due to the hoilday all other hotels were full.
We arrived to find the trash can at the hotel's exterior entrance spilling over with garbage.The interior entrance floor at the check- in desk was skuffed and dirty. The elevator floor was wet and dirty, the walls were covered with finger prints.The upstairs hallway carpet had bits of paper, coffee stirs and dark brown smuges. (Bad but under the circumstances, if the room is clean, you can brave one night). I entered the room only to find hair all over the room.One of the headboards had something white splashed and caked on the front and sides. The same white substance was caked on the bathroom door, door facing, door handle and the handle of the entrance door. There was toilet matter caked on the inside upper edge of the toilet. The bathroom sink had strandes of hair. The shower was covered with hair and an empty hair conditioner bottle thrown behind the shower curtain. The bathroom floor was dirty. The television was smeared with... I don't know what. The desk lamp had three inches of dust with several strands of hair hanging.The ice tray and ice bucket were smeared with dirt and hair. The coffee pot still contained a half inch of coffee.There was trash behind the bathroom door and on the room carpet. The curtains were snaged. The top of the room refrigerator was covered with hair, dust and trash. I found hair on and in the bed.
There was NO manager on duty. A young woman from the front desk tried to clean the room. It took her over an hour and a half. She finally gave up and handed ME a set of bed sheets so that I could change the beds. In the morning I saw pigeon and rat fical matter on the outside window sill and dirt between the window and the screen. There was a smudge of dried blood on the exterior door facing of the room and the dirty sheets that I put out in the hall at 1:30AM were still there at 8:00AM. The only manager in the hotel that morning was in housekeeping. I want to vomit everytime I think that I stayed in that hotel.

  • Liked — The front desk employees tried to do the right thing. They obviously have no support from the manager or housekeeping staff.
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dogfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2007

We (family of 5) have stayed here in July and December for the celebrations in Colonial Williamsburg. It is our favorite. The hotel is spotless (and beautiful!), the indoor pool is warm and wonderful, and they provide lots of choices for a breakfast on the go. The hotel staff is very helpful and polite. The hotel itself is located just a few minutes from Colonial Williamsburg which is great after a long day of fun. We will return again in 2007!

  • Liked — I liked best that it was an extremely clean and beautiful hotel and the breakfast foods offered were fresh and lots of variety.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything negative. Help with luggage from the car would be a plus though.
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluedragonflypond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2007

We have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express Hotels throughout the country; this HIE in Williamsburg does not live up to the high quality standards we have come to expect. We had a suite - it was roomy enough, but the lighting throughout was sparse and dim. We had a microwave, counter and cupboard, but there was no light closeby. There was a heat light in the bathroom, but it was either burned out or had a hidden switch because we could not determine how to turn it on. The heating/cooling system was awful. You could set it to a specific temperature, but you either had hot or cold air blowing out constantly. You were either freezing or boiling - no inbetween. The only good thing about the heater was that it made so much noise it blocked out the construction noise next to the hotel. They are just starting a big consruction project - so far most of the machinery is still clearing land 200 feet in back of the hotel, but I would anticipate this becoming a noisy project during the summer months.

We were also disappointed in the breakfast bar. This HIE seemed to have a larger area to put food out, but it was not layed out in a good flow pattern. The toaster was in a corner, so everyone waiting for toast blocked everyone else from getting any hot food. There were no cinnamon rolls! Those missing cinnamon rolls were part of the reason my kids like to stay at the HIE; we could not believe they didn't have them. They also had no featured regional dish as they have at other HIEs and no fresh fruit at all - the other HIE have always had bananas, apples or oranges. And no OJ either.

Twice I needed to go to the front desk, but there was nobody there. I stood around for a few minutes and did not see or hear anybody. Eventually, a cleaner wandered by and went to get someone to help me.

The final disappointing fact was that when we were checking under the beds on our final morning to make sure we had not left anything behind, we found about a dozen cheez-its, a fork and a coffe stirrer. None of these were items that we had brought with us.

This experience has me thinking twice about booking another HIE.

  • Liked — Beds were comfortable.
  • Disliked — Dim light, noisy heater, cheez-its under bed.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg North
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg
Address: 1452 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg has won a 2013 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence! The hotel completed a renovation in Summer 2013. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East in Historic Williamsburg Virginia provides a sensible choice for travelers to Virginias historic triangle of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown Located in the heart of the historic district, nearby attractions include Busch Gardens, home of the new roller coaster The Griffon, Water Country USA, Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, Merchants Square, Premium Outlets, NewTown Shopping and Entertainment, Yankee Candle, Ripley s Believe it or Not,Mariners Museum, Virginia Living Museum, Williamsburg Winery and The Williamsburg Pottery. Golfers can experience 15 championship golf courses such as Kingsmill, Stonehouse, Royal New Kent and Golden Horse Shoe. Local corporations include Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Sentara, Ball Metal, Surry Power Plant and Riverside Health Systems. Nearby government facilities include National Center for State Courts, Camp Perry, Cheatham Annex, Yorktown Naval Weapons Depot, West Point Armor Group International Training and Fort Eustis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing