We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of room, but thin floors, paid wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Booked this through Bookings.com. Did not realize it was a timeshare place as well as a hotel until we checked in. The room was large and clean (we had 4 in our party). It was suite style with a separate bedroom, sofa bed, kitchenette, and tables and chairs. Very nice bathroom. All the amenities you need (pool, tennis, etc.). The only downside of this place was the construction. We were on the lower level. Around bedtime (11pm or so), someone was walking back and forth in the suite above us. I'm not sure what they were doing, but the pacing back and forth was very loud. I don't have this problem in my own home, so not sure what they used to build this place.

I suppose that if you are on the upper level, you wouldn't have this problem.

Other than the thin floors, wifi was not free, something that is usually free in hotels that I frequent.

Overall, good value for the money, and large and clean, but the few drawbacks may keep some away.

Room Tip: pick a second story room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive review. Although we didn’t meet all of your expectations, we’re thankful to know that you enjoyed your stay at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. With the technology of hotspots, large data plans, etc. we find many of our guests do not place in-room internet service as a priority amenity. The resort strives to be frugal with our timeshare owner’s association and charges a fee for the convenience of internet in the private rooms. This amenity fee is noted on the site you used to book your reservation. We appreciate that you recognized the value we offer our guests and we hope that we may welcome you back to Williamsburg on your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 946 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The place was clean, the dishes were not. Having dirty dishes is a big disgust factor for me. Sorry.

In order to have internet we had to pay practically a month's fee ($26) for three days. The place needs to get with the times and offer free wi-fi. We couldn't even go to their designated office area to get free wi-fi. Even that would be a bit more helpful.

Staff at the front desk were more in tune with the television show that was on so getting customer service took a bit. It wasn't even a movie, so I would think a few minutes of time with the customer would have been a priority. Perhaps TVs shouldn't be right there where temptation is strong to tune us out?

Pool was heavily chlorinated to the point of tears.

We called the front desk in hopes of getting quicker service and it seemed to have worked after the third time trying to call when someone finally answered the phone. We were promised a few items at the front desk so when we went to pick them up, a different person was there and said they did not have what was offered.

A bit disappointing for the way it all looked in the brochure and how it appeared when we first arrived. There was a night guard and everything. We felt quite safe when we first arrived (not that we were fearful or anything, but the whole "night guard" made it seem a bit of a step up from the average condominium) but the rest of the week, well.... Interesting. We showed up on a Monday night and only saw a guard once more on a Friday night. One wonders what they might have been guarding the other nights. We came back each night at the same time, so perhaps a ghost or two from Williamsburg borrowed them the other nights!

OH, and an added bonus....the cleaning service couldn't get into the main hallway to clean rooms. She had to ring the doorbell though she stood there with a key card. Anyone know why she couldn't get in? Me either...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abcasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent vacation at our resort. We’re so sorry that we couldn’t provide you with a top-notch experience. We’re successful at providing great vacations most of the time, however it seems in the case of your visit we clearly dropped the ball. The issues you described regarding the room quality and service during your stay are unacceptable. We assure you that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may prevent these circumstances from recurring. We’re committed to total customer satisfaction, which we’re only able to achieve through our guest’s feedback. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor and we truly hope that you will consider returning to allow us a future opportunity to exceed your expectations and prove that we are always the best choice for lodging in Williamsburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a property which could be good, but simply isn't.

The unit sizes and overall layout are good, but little else is.

We had a four bedroom unit (A and B). A is the first floor, B is the second floor and the layouts are close to identical.

What was wrong?

Shoddy construction. The cabinetry is cheap and simply hasn't held up. Moreover, it, like so many other things, has suffered from poor maintenance and simple neglect. The rear two burners on the stove in the lower unit didn't work. The quality of the frying pans was quite poor. The dishwasher was the noisiest we've ever encountered in our lives (and we're in our 60s). The kitchen table and kitchen chairs were badly and extensively nicked. The kitchen table itself was very wobbly (emphasis on very). One of the chairs in the living room had a leg that was badly out of kilter. The freezer shelving was rusting and there was mildew on the rubber seals. The washing machine/dryer is shared between the two units and is on the second floor. The fixture in the wall where the hoses are attached to the water was out of the wall itself and just hanging there. The mattress in the master bedroom left much to be desired. The internet service was poor and sporadic and they had the audacity of wanting you to pay $49.99 for a week of service! Highway robbery!!! We did complain about that and did get the (poor) service for free. The resort claims to have a kiddy pool. We had a mother and two small children as guests for part of a day and they expected to be able to use that pool. It was closed. Even exiting the resort is dicey, especially if you want to take a left turn toward Williamsburg and Route 199. There's often a lot of traffic on Longhill Road and getting across the westbound lane and into the east bound lane often involves a significant wait.

We did go to a presentation, a standard thing for a timeshare resort, and when we listed the deficiencies we had experienced, we were assured that nothing like this had ever happened and that the quality of all of the units and the quality of the maintenance was exceptionally high. Rooms were checked every day. Everything was redone every two years. Absolutely not credible!

We've owned (and continue to own) a large number of timeshares since the 1970s and have traded into an even larger number of them throughout the east coast and, more recently, throughout the west and southwest and we've never been in a unit that needed so much work, so much care, let alone tender, loving care.

We were also told that if we had complaints we should have called and had a room change. In essence, we were told that it was our fault that the unit we were assigned was as bad as it was! In sociology, that's called "blaming the victim." It was the resort's fault that it was so deficient for so very long with respect to this unit.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor. There are lots of timeshares in the Williamsburg area. Go someplace else. Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay. There is absolutely no reason for an unclean room and we wish we would have known about this issue while you were still at the resort so that we could have had the opportunity to re-clean the room for you during your stay. Like us, many resorts charge for WiFi service in their private rooms but we also offer computers and internet service in a public area of the resort for guest use. Televised news is available at the front desk so that guests are entertained while waiting in line. Your comments on our front desk services have been forward to the department manager so that they may be shared with the staff to prevent future guests from having the same experiences. Our pools are set on an automatic maintenance system. When the bather load is great, the system calls for more chlorine, which is automatically distributed to ensure cleanliness. Resort security is provided from 8 PM through 7 AM nightly. At 8 PM the guard secures the tennis courts, models, etc. before reporting to the guardhouse. Often guests will engage the deadbolt on the main hallway door to the rooms. The key card issued to the housekeeper will not override a deadbolt. We regret that you now have a negative impression of us and even though you’ve decided not to return, we will continue to strive to provide our guests with top-notch customer service. Thank you again for your review and we hope your next trip to Williamsburg is more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

For April vacation, we decided to trade our timeshare for a week at the Williamsburg Plantation to visit Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. We had two 2 bedroom units (an A unit and a B unit) that we shared with another family, and the units were clean and had all the amenities you need. The beds are comfortable, but the box springs are EXTREMELY squeaky when getting in and out of the bed and there are no curtains to block light from coming in in the morning. WIFI is NOT free and costs about $10/day - so we opted not to have WIFI (I have to admit, it was nice that we didn't have it as the kids had to find something else to do!). Kids got tennis rackets and balls from the front desk, and ended up playing tennis a lot. It would have been nice to have lighting on the courts to be able to play late, but it was great that they have rackets that we could borrow. The indoor pool was a little cloudy and the smell of chlorine was overpowering so we did not use it. The location of this resort is perfect - 15 min from Colonial Williamsburg, 20 min to Busch Gardens, approx. 45 min to Air & Space museum and approx. 1hr to VA beach. Desk staff was very helpful. Again, overall it was a nice place but I would have liked to stay at a newer property

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Williamsburg Plantation Resort. Your thoughtful suggestions on the services we provide have been shared with the resort’s management team for further consideration. We pride ourselves on our accommodations and cleanliness and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we are not a new property, we hope that you will consider us for your future lodging needs so that we may have another opportunity to share our friendly hospitality with you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The resort was beautifully done with all the essentials you would
Need for a vacation. Tennis,Pool. Kids park etched, etc, good location to all Williamsbugh attractions and sites. Good restaurants all within minutes drive.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodIngram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your recommendation! We’re happy that you enjoyed our location and all the amenities we provide our guests at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay the next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our 2-bed 2-bath unit was VERY clean, VERY spacious and quiet, and there were 3 new TVs and a balcony with small table and chairs. Front-desk staff was enthusiastic and efficient. The indoor pool and hot tub were very crowded, Easter weekend. The tennis courts looked great. A washer-dryer was free, in the hallway. The kitchen was adequate, with full-size frig and 2-burners. I'm sure our unit was an older one and it was not luxurious like a Marriott, but I don't need granite every place I go. Nor do my kids! Paying for Wi-Fi was unusual, and only 2 devices can be utilized at a time, so just be prepared. But we were there to connect with each other, not devices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianne1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for the great review. We take great pride in the services that are offered for our guests and we’re so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Your detailed comments on your stay will surely help future travelers get the most out of their own Williamsburg vacation. Thank you again for your kind words and we hope you visit our lovely city again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for three days with our grandson while visiting the historical sights of Williamsburg. We had a two room apartment which was clean and near the clubhouse with the indoor pool. Because it was the Easter break the pool was packed but he had a great time anyway and made new friends.. The Plantation wasn't far to the local attractions and restaurants. All the staff we made were friendly and helpful and if we go back to Williamsburg we would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Williamsburg Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post about your trip at Williamsburg Plantation Resort. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and that we provided a nice family vacation. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
3.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
622 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
3.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Plantation Resort

Address: 4870 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1571
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: £92 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Williamsburg Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg, Virginia, a town synonymous with American history, is the perfect location for fun-filled family vacationing. At Williamsburg Plantation Resort you are just minutes from the historical sites of Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown Settlement, Yorktown Battlefield and Yorktown Victory center. Also nearby are two award-winning theme parks - Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA. Spread out over 78 acres, the Resort features indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools and a host of other amenities including an on-site Spa designed to enrich your stay in one of America's favorite vacation destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Williamsburg Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Plantation Hotel Williamsburg
Plantation Resort Williamsburg
Plantation Williamsburg
Williamsburg Plantation Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing