We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to Local Attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Williamsburg KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Convenient to Local Attractions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you are looking for a place to park your rig for a few days while touring the Williamsburg to Virginia Beach area, this KOA will do well for you. Right off I-64, and away from highway noise, the sites work well for most rigs, although the larger motorhomes have it a little too tight. However, this KOA is not for those looking for an idyllic wooded and private escape. The emphasis at this campground is maximum utilization of acreage, so plan on being able to watch your neighbor's TV.

Room Tip: If you are 36' or longer and towing, request a site close to the entrance. The sites and turns i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintVitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for camping with us and sharing helpful information for other campers. We have recently put in spacious new patio sites that grant plenty of room for even the largest of motorhomes. We appreciate your business. Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    76
    27
    14
    11
See reviews for
195
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The campground overall is nice. Good pool, clean bathrooms and a great jumping pillow for kids. If staying request a site in the Colonial section. The sites in this area look nicer. They actually have grass and gravel. We sere in the Williamsburg section and for $84.00 a night our site was a pile of dirt. There is some construction going on in that section so maybe they are looking to improve it? Would not stay again based on price and quality of our site. Staff were friendly and helpful and they were nice enough to let us check out late. For the price we paid I expect a nicer camp site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank your for camping with us and sharing your experience. We're sorry that your site wasn't completely to your liking. If ever a site isn't entirely acceptable for a guest, we're happy to change them to a site that better fits their needs and expectations given availability. Thanks again for camping with us and come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just left KOA WIlliamsburg after a week of fun! We stayed in the deluxe cabin, comfortably slept the 4 kids and my husband and I. The cabin was well stocked and very clean, kitchen was perfect to cook easy meals, we brought an electric skillet that we used outside on the deck. The staff is friendly and helpful and the campground is very close to all local attractions. The only few recommendation I would love to see happen would be awnings on the cabins because the cabin does get a little small during the day when it rains and a TV in the bedroom. Overall, money well spent at a much lower price than a hotel with so much more to do! The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of linens and towels although we did bring more towels and our own pillows. The laundry room is very clean with lots of washers and dryers as are the bath houses. The kids loved the rock mining, the jumping pillows as well as the pedal carts and we were comfortable letting them go alone. We went with other family and requested to be close to each other, they were able to accommodate that request. We also have visitors that were warmly welcomed by the staff and brought to the cabin. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The deluxe cabins are perfect for a larger group with the convenience of the bathroom in the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We're so glad to hear you had a great time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The Deluxe Cabin really is the perfect home-away-from-home. It's so much more inviting that a hotel room. You have you're own little house for as long as you're on the campground. We're happy you made the Williamsburg KOA your base of operations for seeing the Williamsburg area. We're pleased we could give you a great vacation with us and help you get out to all the fun things in Williamsburg. Come back to see us soon. Happy camping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Sites too small for the size of the motorhomes. Glass all over the site. They do not allow you to reserve a site ( most campgrounds do). They took my requests but did not honor it. Some sites are ok but totally disappointed. The staff was friendly but overall very disappointed in the amount of money we spent and the quality of the site. My kids were playing in dirt and glass. Lots of dogs which is fine but some dogs are not friendly and bark everytime someone walks by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for camping with us and sharing about your experience. We're very sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with us. We have a 360 site campground, but we're happy to send someone out to your site to take care of any site maintenance issues that need attention. If for any reason a site isn't to your liking we're happy to move you to one that is more fitting of your expectations given availability. If there is a problem with noise, inform the front desk and we will speak to the offending campers about their or their pet's noise. Thanks again for camping with us. Come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived during a slush covered, cold evening at this KOA late at night. We had arrangements made beforehand of the arrival time and for a Lodge. As soon as we arrived, the paperwork and instructions were there and the Lodge was already heated and prepared with basic items. Even the TV remote worked with no problems! The Lodge was very comfortable and it felt clean. The bed mattress was better than many places we have stayed in the past and the bed sheets and linen felt clean. Towels were also provided and per their website, the description was true to their word. Staff very helpful and came across to want to help you and carry a nice conversation. The location is very well suited for campers of all types given there are stores, bank center, etc very close by. If you are not familiar with the area, I suggest you speak with the staff in helping guide you in the right direction. The roads to get to various points can be confusing at first until you get an idea how the roadgrid is laid out. (We know the area well). For the price and comfort to cook your own meals and move around, this is a respectable deal. It is not out of line compared to other clean motels and hotels. (Please exclude high-end luxury hotels).

Room Tip: The Lodges in the back are closer to the playground if you have children. If you have difficulty wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meezer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for camping with us and sharing about your stay. We're always happy to hear that our guests had a great time with us. We're glad we could get the cabin ready for you in advance and stave off the last of winter's chill. We have a great staff that's always willing and able to lend a helping hand with whatever information or other courtesies you need. Thanks again for staying with us and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is the typical KOA campground only it has a large recreational grass field at the back great for dog walking. Facility is clean and staff efficient. We stayed two days and it was very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg. The only complaint was their wifi. Even though we complained, apparently they just don't have enough bandwidth. It was almost useless. Otherwise a very good place to stay although their rates for December were very high.

Room Tip: All the locations appear very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for visiting our campground and sharing about your stay! We have worked with our wifi provider to improve our service to customers and anticipate better coverage in the future. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlyland, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

There are actually two connected areas - 'Colonial' and 'Williamsburg'. Check-in is at Camp Store in Colonial Section, which is first you come to if arriving from I-64. We stayed 2 nights in Colonial section in pop-up camper. Campground was probably about half full, mostly RVs. It was late in season, so pool was closed, but small gameroom was open. Really only 4 'games', an oversize chess set (which was very popular), cornhole toss, pool table and air hockey game (the latter two pay-to-play). In a pop-up we need a sink to do dishes, and deep-sinks were outside each bath-house, but there was no counter to set clean stuff on, so bring a folding table. Restrooms were clean throughout the weekend, and the entire place seemed pretty well maintained. Nice, large open field for football or frisbee games. Sites were average size, close but not overly packed-in. Only complaints were poor wi-fi coverage and fire pits (uniformly appeared to be 55 gal drum sections) were in bad shape, bent and sharp edges, in almost every site we walked by. Staff was friendly and mostly left everyone alone. No rowdies in camp this weekend, so don't know how they would handle that. In fact the entire place was very quiet, given the proximity (about 2 miles) to interstate. Campground is very convenient to Colonial Williamsburg attractions, outlet malls, etc. We'll visit again.

Room Tip: "E" sites are farther from road, so are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4plus2equals6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We are glad to see you enjoyed many of our amenities, and have taken notes of areas where we can improve our guests’ experiences. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
5.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
6.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
4.0 mi away
Anvil Campground
Anvil Campground
#2 of 9 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.8 mi away
Williamsburg RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg KOA Campground

Property: Williamsburg KOA Campground
Address: 4000 Newman Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Williamsburg KOA Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founders and Presidents Award Winner for Guest Service! 2016 Ratings Facilities 10.0 Restrooms 10.0 Appeal 10.0 Best Wi-Fi in town! Located in Virginia's Historic Triangle, our KOA is minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, Water Country, great shopping, and more. History, fun, and relaxation meet at our quiet 180 acre campground for a great camping experience! Enjoy free cable, free Wi-Fi, heated pool, Splash Pad, Jumping Pillow, beautiful nature trails, Gem Mining, themed weekends, and Kamp K9 for your furry friend. Get back to nature, relax, unwind, and camp out in comfort. For an easy getaway, try one of our Camping Cabins or Deluxe Cabins with linens. For your convenience, discount attraction tickets are sold at the Camp Store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Williamsburg KOA Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Koa Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing