We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic camping with children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Williamsburg KOA Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I camp at least 10 to 15 times each summer. We have a 14, 9, 3 and 1 year old. We like to camp in many types of campgrounds. KOAs can be hit or miss only because they are so commercial that they pack in the sites and there ends up being very little privacy. This one pleasantly surprised me. We stayed on the Colonial side right across from the pool for 7 days. Below is a list of the pros and cons of our stay:

Pros: Awesome pool and especially liked the kiddie pool and splash pad for my little ones. The campground was especially clean. The summershiners were kind and helpful. My older boys loved going to watch the movies in the outdoor ampitheatre. Loved that there were two different jumping pads. I felt much better about my 3 year old jumping because there were no teenagers. Most of the sites are shaded and the layout of the sites was well though out. Most importantly the campground was very close to all the attractions. So easy to hop on and off 64.

Cons: We rode out hurricane Arthur and after the rain there was a bunch of mud. there needs to be more gravel laid on the roads and in the site pads. The playground was a joke. Its consisted of old rickety metal swings with no nice pathway to it. It is also stuck way back in behind the pool. I didnt even know it was there until the day before we left.

On the whole it was a great stay and much better than some of the KOA's we have visted in the past. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit. We work hard to provide great camping for all of our guests. The amenities and activities make for a fun packed vacation every time. Each year we make improvements to the grounds and/or add something new. Come back to visit us again and look to see what we've done to make our campground even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I've stayed at my share of KOAs across numerous states, so I feel confident in saying this one was the worst ever. My main issues? Clotheslines everywhere, and the sites aren't staggered meaning your picnic table is RIGHT next to your neighbor's sewage outlet. Nothing like the smell of sewage everytime you walk out the door. The guy in the front also forgot us and we had to drive around to find our spot. Go for the location and make sure you're gone all day,
!
!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmcbryde21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

We're very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. We are always willing to address the concerns of our campers. If a site is not to anyone's liking we are happy to work to find another campsite that is more suitable to their needs. Thanks for camping with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It wasn't a bad stay, but there are things that need improvement. We were on the "Williamsburg" or "Quiet Side" as the website calls it.

The good:

Wifi connectivity was great. This is a big one for me as I run my business online.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I think everyone I dealt with was a Summershiner. Nicole in the store was able to answer all our questions and Austin did a great job of letting us know what activities were available.

The bathroom was clean; didn't use the shower facilities.

"Quiet Side" was definitely quiet.

Areas for improvement/Things to be aware of:

Website & reservation confirmation do not specify which area you are in. We stopped at the first one (Colonial) only to find out we were actually staying in the second (Williamsburg).

All activities are at Colonial (website also omits this information) and it is about a 1/4-1/2 mile hike on a trail to get between the two areas. Not far, but there is a pretty steep grade at the Colonial end of the trail.

Williamsburg side had very few fire pits in place. We did ask for one and received it within 15 minutes.

The Williamsburg side also has a lot of long-term residents. They act like they own the place: driving through the campground at excessive speeds, letting their animals (dogs & cats) run loose. I lost track of how many dogs I saw walking around unleashed. One was actually IN the pool area and the owner couldn't keep it from jumping all over myself or my son.

Overall, we did have a pleasant and restful stay. If you're not going to partake in the campground activities, the Williamsburg side is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for camping with us and sharing your experience. The Quiet Side of the campground is a great way to get away and get back to nature. We're sorry some of our other guests were not courteous to you. We do ask that whenever you experience a problem, whatever that might be, that you bring it to the attention of the staff and we will do everything in our power to correct the issue. Thanks again for camping with us. Come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent a week at KOA in Williamsburg and even with some extremely loud construction going on next to our campsite (awesome campsite upgrades), I can only say positive things about the campground!! We had a mix-up upon arrival (trying to find our pad spot) and the owner popped out, rounded the troops (summer shiners) and helped us and get us situated. Wayne (owner's son) even popped over to help us get our campfire going one night. We took part in almost every kid activity scheduled. I would highly recommend this even if you are there just a few days as their Summer Shiners were amazing with the kids and made every day a blast! The campground was in top notch shape and we took advantage of every bit of it: fun pool, clean restrooms, fun hiking/nature trail, pancake breakfast, jumping pad, mining activity, sand volley ball and outdoor movie theature. The site might be a few bucks more than other sites in the area but it is worth every penny - save up and stay at KOA!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TulsaMompreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for camping with us and sharing your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. We're always willing to go the extra mile to help our guests with whatever they need and the Summershiners do a wonderful job of heading up our summer activities. Thanks again for camping with us. Please come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

So grateful for all the trees in the camp. We had the best spot for a tent, across from the bathhouse, and yet private. Bathhouse was clean and spacious, staff were friendly. We had a 3-day pass for Williamsburg, which was only 15-18 min away. The pool was refreshing on the last day which turned hot.
This is an inexpensive way to see historic Jamestown and Williamsburg!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Noraski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We love our 180 acre wooded campground. It's important to us that our campers enjoy the great outdoors as much as the enjoy all our fun amenities. Thanks for camping with us and do come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What a wonderful place to have a family reunion. We are a family that loves to get together, but not everyone likes to camp, so the lodges, cabins and tent sites made it possible for all of us to vacation at our own level, but still be together.
Thanks Williamsburg KOA for the perfect spot for our family to meet and enjoy so many childhood memories, along with sticky s'more fingers!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks so much for camping with us and making us a part of your family get together. As a family owned and operated campground we know the value of family and time together. We're happy we can provide you and yours with a great place to spend quality time together and an experience that is to everyone's liking. Thanks again for your visit and come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This will be our fourth year going to Williamsburg KOA. From the staff to the grounds, to the other campers, to the tons of activities to do nearby, we have no complaints. We vacation here yearly with our entire family, from my 80 year old grandmother to my two toddlers who started staying at 9month/2 years old. While Colonial Williamsburg was king of a one trick pony for us, we love the amusement parks and the local nature parks as well. We stay in the deluxe cabins for a week, so much nicer than a hotel. They are clean, have everything you could need in them including linens, and some are pet friendly. The campground has tons of activities during the summer, a great pool, a brand new splash park, etc. This campground has forever made us KOA campers, and while we try new ones every year, we always come back to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AprilLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburgkoa, Manager at Williamsburg KOA Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks so much for camping with us year after year. We love to see families camp with us again and again. It always brings a smile to our faces to see kids fall in love with camping and our campground. Thanks again for making the Williamsburg KOA part of your lives. We can't wait to see you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
6.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
5.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#62 of 73 in Williamsburg
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Anvil Campground
Anvil Campground
#1 of 9 in Williamsburg
391 reviews
3.2 mi away
American Heritage RV Campground
3.8 mi away
Williamsburg RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg KOA Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg KOA Campground

Address: 4000 Newman Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range: £14 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Williamsburg KOA Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning KOA for Guest Service! 2017 Ratings Facilities 10.0 Restrooms 10.0 Appeal 10.0 Best Wi-Fi in town! Located in Virginia's Historic Triangle, our KOA is minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, Busch Gardens, Water Country, great shopping, and more. History, fun, and relaxation meet at our quiet 180 acre campground for a great camping experience! Enjoy free cable, free Wi-Fi, heated pool, Splash Pad, Jumping Pillow, beautiful nature trails, Gem Mining, themed weekends, and Kamp K9 for your furry friend. Get back to nature, relax, unwind, and camp out in comfort. For an easy getaway, try one of our Camping Cabins or Deluxe Cabins with linens. For your convenience, discount attraction tickets are sold at the Camp Store. Theme Weekends and beautiful patio sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Williamsburg KOA Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Koa Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing