We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for family togetherness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Governor's Green
Ranked #25 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for family togetherness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We enjoyed our 3 bedroom unit---everything went well for all 3 generations---One grandson is a train lover and was delighted to be able to walk a short way and view Amtrack as it came by---You really could not hear it in the bldg #20. We were only able to stay for 3 days and spent all our time touring the Historic Triangle and did not get to participate in the children's activites or try the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    151
    39
    19
    12
See reviews for
221
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Robinson, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The facilities here are lovely, but there have been a few blemishes in our Thanksgiving getaway. First of all, we promised to listen to the sales pitch (um, "member update") for 45 minutes in order to get discount tickets to Colonial Williamsburg. We were pawned off from one sales consultant to another one (Claudia) who was condescending and disrespectful to our wishes and to our previous sales consultant with whom we maintain a very good relationship. We ended up spending too much time with Claudia after repeatedly telling her we had other plans. As we were leaving, she was still calling after us, "No you can't go yet...."
The fitted sheet on the master bed had pilling that affected my sleep; it felt like pricklies on my legs all night. I filled out a form to have the sheet changed, which was promised to be done while we were listening to our "update." Even after we got done with our day's activities, and were getting ready for bed, I noticed it had not been done. After a call to the front desk, housekeeping did change the bedding.
Then, as we were watching TV after our Thanksgiving dinner, we got a call from the front desk that the people below us were complaining that we were fighting (heck, we were almost unconscious with tryptophan overdose). We still have another day here, and I'm hoping for a more positive 24 hours.

Room Tip: Apparently, you should request a top floor. From previous reviews and our experience, it seems that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susang0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We are Wyndham owners and it was suggested by others that we choose Governor's Green over Kingsgate and Patriot's Place. We were in a 3 bedroom unit in building 15. The view was of the fountain and no other buildings. There is a train that runs nearby, so you do hear that, but it did not bother us that much. The beds are comfortable, the washer and dryer is convenient, the soaps, shampoos are what you expect from Wyndham. The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. Make sure you make it clear that you do not want to attend an update if you don't want to spend your time in the timeshare pitch. They do offer breakfast or lunch and tickets to Williamsburg, so if you choose to go, make sure it is worth your time. The location is great...easy trip to Williamsburg and the outlet mall. Plenty of restaurants around, but cooking in the unit is our choice. We spent most of our time at Williamsburg...don't miss the museum at the hospital...they have the most amazing collection of items to view. I would suggest Jamestown as well. We had gone to Jamestown on a previous visit. I enjoyed that quite a bit.
We did not make use of the pool, mini golf, volleyball or the activities they offer...we were too busy being tourists!

Wnjoy!

Room Tip: Get a top level room to avoid the pitter patter of feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SkiBug5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

This was a first time use of our VIP Gold membership with Wyndham, and overall we could not be more pleased. The staff was friendly, courteous, helpful, and always with a smile right down to the security force (24 hour coverage). Our only complaint was we were in the last building to be scheduled for upgrades, therefore the furniture was dated, the rugs were worn, etc. We will be back at some point, Williamsburg has so much to see and do, one week ot ten days is nowhere near enough time.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are in all of the buildings except 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CapeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed in a refurbished unit and were in seventh heaven -- very pretty and tranquil. The only hitch was that the unit literally shook whenever a train passed by on the nearby railroad track. The Internet is very so-so, kept breaking down. But hey, no place is perfect, and all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return soon. Be sure to check out the great magic show they hold on Sunday evening!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My family and I for the first time was able to vacation during an off season since my daughter's are now college graduates. We arrived on Sunday, September 4th the day before Labor Day and the rest of the time there was delightful because it was nice and quite. We were able to use the hot tubs, pool and fitness center when weather permitted without a bunch of kids running loose. We were also able to go to all of the local tourist attractions and not have to deal with long lines. The resort was very clean and cozy. Considering how much use and abuse the units receive, they were in good shape. We don't go to timeshares expecting them to be maintained at the same level that we maintain our own home. Everyday we saw employees of the resort cleaning and maintaining the grounds. We were comfortable and happy with the resort and would stay there again.

Room Tip: I called a week in advance and requested a top level (floor) room because there have been times when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WerldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myersville, MD
Level Contributor
188 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The grounds and units are nice. Laid back atmosphere and you feel like you are not in the city but with a short drive you are in the heart of everything. We heard the staff can be pushy about the timeshare previews but we ready for them and just said - No thank you. They did not bother us after that. We were in unit 2011 and did experience a water leak problem with the second bedroom shower. Looks like they attempted to correct it before and were not successful. The unit was stocked well with kitchen and bathroom accessories. If you are scared of birds we would not recommend coming here. Due to the lake they do have many ducks and geese around the grounds. We were on the first floor and had them visit more than once while on the porch. We enjoyed watching them but if they hang around on your porch for a while they are sure to do what birds usually do and then you have the mess on your porch. When walking around the property you see they do the same on the sidewalks but the resort does a pretty good job of trying to keep the pavements clean. Our unit did show some signs of wear and tear but was in pretty good shape.

Room Tip: The view of the lake and fountain would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelFans3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#19 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
5.8 mi away
Kingsmill Resort
Kingsmill Resort
#8 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Governor's Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Governor's Green

Property: Wyndham Governor's Green
Address: 4600 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Governor's Green 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Governor's Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Governor`s Green Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Governors Green
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham
Governors Green Williamsburg
Fairfield Williamsburg Governors Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing