We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation!”
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
Ranked #20 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We went there with 4 families with total of 6 kids. The water park is awesome, there are varieties of fun for all ages of kids and lifeguards are very attentive. They even provide life jackets for kids (even smaller kids). I highly think this is a great place to be for my winter vacation. I just have to stay in the hotel for all the fun. Except one downside is food from their restaurant isn't that great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandPeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,393)
There are newer reviews for Great Wolf Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,667 - 3,673 of 4,393 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our son has multiple food allergies and I have celiac disease. We traveled to the Williamsburg Great Wolf Lodge location and the staff at the main restuarant had our dietary concerns covered. Talk to the head restaurant manager on duty when you dine there. They even will make a allergy friendly to go meal to take into the water park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieTootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We visited this themed hotel for one night. With a thirteen year old and a n almost five year old in tow...both found many different activities age appropriate. This water park is indoors...each activity was staffed by AMAZING Lifeguards..caring, watchful, and personable. We stayed in a "cabin room". It was clean and well furnished with bubble baths, soaps etc. The frig in the room helped so much to cut down on our visits to the expensive snack bar. We stayed one night and were able to get into our room early, giving us more time in the park... We ate off the property to cut down on added expenses....a wonderful , safe play haven for all ages...Grandma

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianesandlakeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had a great time with our family and everithing was just perfect

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronaldo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We took my son and 2 friends to stay in a cabin room for one night for his birthday. The cabin room was fun but not all that much different than the 2 queen rooms we've stayed in there before. The basic rooms are expensive but the specialty rooms are ridiculous--hence we only stayed one night despite a 4.5 hr drive.
The water park is awesome, lifeguards are very attentive and there is lots to do for all ages of kids. And this park is for kids really, the quality is okay but the emphasis is on fun. I would not recommend eating at the resort at all--though the kids would be to differ since they love the chicken fingers and yucky pizza to be found there--plenty of places to go nearby. We also brought some food items to keep in the frig.
Each of the 3 times I've stayed here, there was a movie charge on my bill that I did not intentionally make. The remotes are set to default to on demand and thus it is super easy to accidentally select a movie, especially if a kid is holding it and not sure what they are doing. The GW should set remotes to default to regular free TV with on demand an obvious intentional choice. They have to their credit always removed the charges, but just beware.
We will likely return as part of a bigger group to get a discounted rate or maybe next year for son's birthday again if that's what he wants to do.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We got a gift card to Great Wolf Lodge for Christmas and figured we would give a shot. Myself, my wife and two young kids (both 5 and under) went on a Friday through Sunday stay and had a BLAST!!! The water park was awesome. The kids could ride all but one ride, and that was okay since they were smaller. The park did get busy Saturday afternoon, but for the most part not too bad. If you do go on a weekend, make sure to get there when the park opens to get a table and chairs if you want somewhere to place your stuff. I saw some folks just putting stuff on the walls or near rides, not very nice.

The rooms also are FANTASTIC!! We had the KidCabin Suite. There was a bunk bed, a day bed and a queen bed in the room, along with a pull out couch, a fireplace, and a mini kitchen. The room was very clean and nicely kept. The only down side was the remotes for the TV didn't work and the drain in the tub was a bit backed up. But as long as it was clean...I was happy.

We also ate at the lodge in the Loose Moose Bar & Grill. It is a buffet, so not so happy about that, but there was every kind of kid friendly food there, so it was not too bad. It was very expensive, so if you can, run out and grab lunch and/or dinner to save some money. But if you don't want to leave, then fork over a little more money and enjoy in the lodge.

Finally, the wife and I had a couples massage in Elements Spa. Kristi was THE BEST!!! She worked out sore spots I didn't even know I had. It was the cherry on top. We also took my daughter to the Scoops Kid's Spa for a mani and pedi. They treated her like a queen. The spa was laid out and sized PERFECTLY for kids and she just loved it.

I would highly recommend a visit to the Great Wolf Lodge. If your luck to go in the winter, you may be able to watch it snow like we did, while riding rides in a water park...VERY COOL!!!

Room Tip: Get a suite...it lets the kids have their "own room" in the room!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattandalicia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The lodge is rather wornout, it looks like the managment has opted to not invest in good upkeep of the facilities i.e.paint, carpet, bathroom fixtures. Also, housekeeping quality control is an issue for the room and the facility in general. The wrong size sheets where used on the queen sized bed, and it was not completely made. The kids bunks were in the same condition; so we spent the time before going to bed making beds up. As you walk thru the facility you'll see dust, gum stuck on fixtures etc. If I'm in this area again, I'll take the family to a Hilton Garden or Hampton and buy tickets for Busch Gardens - price would be about the same as staying at the GW, but better quality hotel stay.

2  Thank john.vannoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
5.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
5.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-2148
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £184 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing