We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going Down Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Going Down Hill”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First of all, I must say the service is very good, management is very responsive to guests, and that is the saving grace of this hotel. When we first got into our room, we noticed it was warm and not cooling and had a bad odor. We notified the manager, who instantly got us into another room without question. This rooms AC was good. There was another family complaining about their AC the next morning too and it was not extremely hot during this time. As for the new room, it was a comfortable temp, but the AC did make a loud noise, however after already moving our stuff once, we didnt want to move again. In addition, two of the light switches were broke and the bathroom light flickered badly, housekeeping should have caught these issues before someone got into the room. The breakfast area was extremely crowded, very few places to sit and hot items were out of stock most of the time. one last issue was related to the guests themselves, so I am not holding it against the hotel in the rating, but it did contribute to a less than happy experience, there seemed to be alot of groups of teenagers, that made alot of noise in the halls, and really took over the swimming pool area screaming and splashing, so the smaller kids couldn't have fun. Overall, if the front desk and management could get the rooms back in good shape, this would be a 4+ rating.

Room Tip: Ask to chec out the AC in the room before moving luggage into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gtapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    434
    126
    34
    14
See reviews for
705
375
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is definitely the nicest hotel on the block. It's in a different part of town than I am used to staying, and the other hotels around look run-down and not as appealing. The room was fine - we had a huge suite. Breakfast, well, lots of people appeared to think it was great; I did not. My friend and I ended up in the pancake house down the road. The pineapple (and other fresh fruit) tasted like sweaty gym socks, and they kept running out of the other food. We didn't even attempt breakfast the next day. Overall, though, I was happy with the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I reserved this room a months ahead of time and got a great rate. We had suite that was huge, clean and comfortable. This hotel has an excellent location, we could easily get to everything. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The best thing about staying at Hampton Inn is that you know what to expect at ANY one of them. This one in Williamsburg does not disappoint. The service is great. The breakfast is delicious and stress free especially for families with children. You will be very happy staying at Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia, sc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Sorry we picked this Hampton. No bottled water unless you're a diamond or gold although I've received it at all other Hamptons for Hilton Honors. Asked at desk later and clerk said this Hampton chose not to do it. Meanwhile heat index was 100 outside! Bathroom floor had last resident's hair on it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank carolinagirls3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GstSrvceMngr, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear carolinagirls3,

I am sorry you felt you should have been given a complimentary water, none of the Hampton's do this other than for the Hilton Honors members. We do offer the following complimentary services: hot buffet breakfast, wired and wireless wi-fi, faxing and copying, business center, luggage storage, early check-ins, late check outs, 24 hr coffee/hot chocolate/tea, national and local daily newspapers, and parking. When other brand hotels nickel and dime guests for all the above we pride ourselves on making these complimentary. I see you have not been happy with your travels on tripadvisor and we would like to break that trend and welcome you back to wow you. We are here for you and all of our guests and want your stay to be a great one.
Also, we charge the waters at cost and do not profit from them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We took a long weekend vacation with the family at Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Hampton Inn did not disappoint. Clean rooms, very friendly staff, clean swimming pool, good free breakfast. Hampton Inn is always worth the money. Will definitely use them again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cdezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were greeted at the front desk by friendly staff and this attitude continued throughout our stay. The room was well appointed and clean. We enjoyed the breakfast and even had someone greet us and ask if we needed anything. The breakfast area was modern, clean and had plenty of room. Another thing I thought was good planning was that the food was separate from the seating area. This made for less congestion and it was more comfortable than some other hotels we have been to. Overall it was a wonderful trip. We were going to stay one night, but ended up calling the front desk to book our second night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing