We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay with a Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay with a Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We were traveling with 3 children under the age of 7 and my husband's parents. We got 2 king suites which were perfect for our stay. The rooms were clean and were pretty spacious for our needs (we were basically only sleeping there). The supplies were refreshed every day. The kitchenette and the bathroom had granite countertops which gave the room a nice aesthetic appeal. The hotel itself was in a convenient location to Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens as well as numerous restaurants. We used the pool every evening which the kids loved. We also ate the breakfast that was included on all but one morning, and everyone found something that they liked. There were eggs, oatmeal, grits, and waffles every morning as well as an additional rotating hot dish. Baked goods, fruit and yogurt were also available. The other reviews were accurate that the dining area gets very crowded every morning, but it wasn't a terrible experience. The one thing that really made our stay great was the helpful staff. The people at the front desk were very pleasant at check in & check out, and when we had to request additional supplies. The ladies who work in the dining area in the morning went out of their way to make us feel welcome and they were so kind to my kids. Even the staff that we would pass in the hallways always exchanged pleasantries with a smile. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaGinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    436
    126
    34
    14
See reviews for
707
375
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elkins, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

upon checkin front desk staff was warm and welcoming. beds were amazingly comfy after a long day at Colonial Williamsburg. contrary to previous reviews the A/C was great. the most wonderful breakfast attendant, Parmerella, was very uplifting and a great way to start our day!! overall this was a great hotel and will return in the future!!

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlw_slick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

My family and I stayed at the historic area location on our bi-annual trip to Williamsburg. We've been making this trek twice or more a year for the last 12 years. I read the previous reviews and was concerned about the a/c, but it was as chill as a cucumber the entire 8 day stay. Most importantly, the staff, and i mean everyone, was so courteous and friendly. You don't see that much anymore. We've stayed at many different hotels in Colonial Williamsburg and nothing has compared to the Hampton Inn & Suites Historic. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moleary519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Clean, nice room, friendly staff, spacious bathroom, good location for Colonial Williamsburg on a less-busy side of town. Breakfast is pretty good but the food service area is too small, and they have to use a conference room to make up for inadequate table space. Yes they were having A/C problems which made the hallways & elevator too warm, but our room was comfortably cool. Overall a decent value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CardsFan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollins, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I am a repeat visitor at this hotel (HHonors Diamond), and have previously given aa "Very Good" review, as it a clean, safe and comfortable place to stay.
But this time I have given an "Average" rating due to the unbearable heat in the building during our stay. Apparently the air conditioning system has not been working properly during most of the month of July. True, it was 107F in Williamsburg during the day of our stay, but that still did not explain the extreme heat inside the hotel. It felt like 90+F in the common areas and hallways, especially on the upper floors. And our room never cooled down below 78F, even with the aircon set to 65F.
Our room was assigned on the four floor, where it seemed especially hot.
Once the HVAC system is working again I would give a "Very Good" rating again.
If you are visiting this summer (2010), I would confirm that the HVAC system is fixed before I would stay again on a hot day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global-engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

The Capitol Landing Hampton Inn and Suites in Williamsburg, Va, offers outstanding value for money: clean, spacious rooms; very comfortable beds; and great customer service. The breakfast area is spotlessly clean and the food selection plentiful and tasty. The breakfast staff are delightful and friendly.

Fresh cookies greeted us at check in, and tea and coffee are available round the clock. Sal's restaurant, about 2 minutes walk away, has good Italian food and is a great choice for families with young kids--excellent pizza and pasta in a casual family-friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We were able to check in early. The day we checked in was 104 degrees outside. Our room we were first assigned had a bad ac so they moved us to the 4th floor. The room was nice and cool but the hallway and elevators were HOT!!!!!!!!!. I was in a full sweat by the time we got all of our stuff brought in. The room was the standard queen. It was spacious for the 4 of us. Room was exactly as described. One reason we chose this hotel was the free breakfast. Coming from a very poor continental breakfast at a different hotel I was pleasantly surprised. Wonderful variety and the staff extremely attentive (cleaning and helping). The children enjoyed the pool. We stayed three nights and really enjoyed our stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marandtysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4349
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing