We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
American Heritage RV Campground
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Williamsburg Inn(Williamsburg)
US$556
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
89
46
20
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
46
20
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo slidefire pitbath houseconcrete padsfull hookupsdog runlevel sitestravel trailerpatio furniturefifth wheelpaved sitesconstruction equipmentpatio setgreat rv parklarge laundry roomshower facilitiescamp store
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This is a good spot to stay when visiting the Williamsburg area. The facilities are good and the access is easy from I-64. Now the downside. A little pricey but it is Williamsburg. The trains may wake you. The sites are a little close and the roads are dusty if you are unlucky to get a site on the perimeter.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2_WV_Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahrvpark, Manager at American Heritage RV Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for the nice review. Yes, Williamsburg is pricey, however, our prices are less than our competitors. As for the dusty roads, we have just paved all the roads, so there will be no more dust :) Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Last yr we came to Virginia and stayed for 2 days at KOA Williamsburg ( we bailed because waaay over priced and was not happy with quality). This year, I found American Heritage Campground. When we arrived it was late ( 10 pm). Our reservation info was left on a board. We pulled into our end site. It was nice and level and our patio area was quite large. It was paved and had nice stone fire ring. I loved that it came with a large rectangle patio set with umbrella and a decent gas grill! We just hooked our propane up and we were ready to grill. We were on a main campground road. We talk to staff and they mentioned they would be paving the roads in next few weeks. That will be a major upgrade. They did seem to have drainage issues ,so roads had some large ruts and not bike friendly for young kids.They were in process of putting in new sites in the back of park also. Their bathhouse was very nice. Showers were private with actual doors as were the toilet area. Wifi was down due to them upgrading it.:(
They had a very nice nature trail that wrapped around the park.Trails were wide enough to ride bikes on. Store was small but seemed well stocked. They had a pool and blow up slide but it was mid April and not in service yet. This had to be without a doubt THE friendliest campground we have ever been to. We spoke to so many other campers this trip. Everyone was jumping site to site just to chat. It was a very pleasant surprise. I find alot of places you are lucky to even get a good morning much less an invite to share a beverage and a story! We also found the staff to be amazing. Everyone we spoke to was accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend this campground. Centrally located to all. Only areas for improvement I saw was the roads ( which they are fixing) , they need a speed bump on main road.People drive too fast while kids were playing. Some people complained about a train. It only pasted every once and awhile?? Was not an issue for us. We camped in a 40 ft rv with 2 kids and 2 small dogs. We will be back!

Room Tip: Premium sites come with stone fire pit ,patio furniture and grill. It is worth the upgrade. Keep in mind, sites on the left end will have patio on the driver side though.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our family camped here for 5 days at the beginning of April 2014. We stayed in a 24' TT. We stayed in lot #1. It was a premium site. We had originally reserved a regular site but after reading several reviews on here decided to upgrade. The patio, fire pit and outdoor furniture is very nice. Extra wide space. Lot # 18 is nice as are all the premium sites. If you get a regular spot get one next to a premium i.e. : space # 2, space #17 or beside a park model. These regular sites seem to be a little bigger than others. There are 100 spaces here. #1 is the closest to the amenities. The back two rows (lots 80-100) are in the sun and are not appealing. They are in the process of putting in more sites and the further back in the park you stay the closer you are to construction. Lots of field play and room to run. Nice nature trails. Disappointed in the mini golf. While it's free it has not been maintained. We had to pick the clover out of several holes, especially before putting. Nothing a little mowing or weed eating wouldn't do. The arcade room was not operational and the slide doesn't open until Memorial Day. Our kids were really bummed. The entrance sign is not very visible while driving in. We ran past and had to back up the road. It would help if a sign was across the street pointing and arrow to the left. Our GPS kept telling us the park was on the right. It's on the LEFT!! Nice bathhouse and laundry facilities. Rented a golf cart the entire stay which, was nice. Lots of big rigs mostly Rvs staying. Quiet campground. There was a train nearby but it never bothered us. Nice general store. Everything under the sun and priced right. Staff is super friendly. "Joe" gave us good directions and advice on attractions and restaurants around town. Friendly fella. We visited 2 other campgrounds in the area, Trip Advisor #1 and #2 campgrounds for Williamsburg. We couldn't believe it, no way would we stay there. Every campground has something they could improve upon. American Heritage's is the mini golf course, entrance signs and arcade room. Other than that it was perfect! Level spots, all pull through sites. Easy to maneuver. It is pricey especially if you get a premium spot. However, we are true believers in "you get what you pay for." If you have kids pay for the extra space and get the premium and stay on the first 3 rows near the amenities. If you can't afford the premium or just don't want to pay that much try to get a spot next to a park model, or next to a premium. All in all the regular sites are still nice but our family likes to spread out! We would definitely come back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank family2010of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a front row spot in our rv. We bought the weeklong pass so our kids could play on the slide whenever they wanted and it was worth it! The campers are packed in a little but not the worst we've stayed in. The bathrooms were very nice. Best thing is they pick up your trash when you leave it at the curb! Pool was large and nice. Laundry was adequate. Close to the big attractions. LOVED this trip!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank aaholestine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Very easy to get to from Interstate 64 or route 60. They have a store well stocked for kids and RVs. Their bathrooms are exceptional! They have a large fenced in area for the dogs to run in. Fire rings upon request, volley ball court, basketball court, horseshoes pits, pool with adjoining bathrooms next door., large laundry room, big open fields, mini golf, metered propane station, new play area for children, quaint cabins, firewood, ice etc.The pull through site are large enough.There is a shopping center just across Route 60 with a Food Lion etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews