We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodations, great value, and clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

My husband, myself and my two teenage children stayed in one suite! The two separate rooms and pullout sofa sleeper was a perfect answer for sleeping space and privacy. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast had many options. My only complaint is that during morning rush at breakfast there was very limited help. The only cook i saw could not keep up with the demand for food and the only wait staff i saw could not keep up with the turn over of tables and miscellanous

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Terri H,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about your stay. We are so glad that you, and your family stayed with us. Thank you for telling us your feedback about your experience in the restaurant. We will pass this feedback on to them. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

As a wife, mom and teacher I have visited a lot of hotels over the years. I always study Trip Advisor ahead of time but have not written a review-until now. The Holiday Inn Williamsburg Historic is that exceptional! We were met with very helpful staff and a letter from Geoff, the manager. The letter welcomed us by name and indicated the level of service we should expect. It also listed his direct phone number should we have any concerns. He was right on and our expereince is the best we've had at a hotel.

Our children (all under 10) were very happy with the pool and dazzled by the restuarant's individualized booths/tv's. We apprecaited the staff, free kids meals & varied choices for children and adults alike. Breakfast buffet cannot be beat! Chef Shaun is a hands-on leader checking in with his guests to see if there is any way he can improve each family experience.

I thought this level of hospitality was a thing of the past until I visited Holiday Inn & Suites, Williamsburg Historic. You may find a more costly hotel in the area but you will not find a more caring staff or positive, clean environment. Thanks Trip Advisor. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Petosega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Deat Petosega,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We appreciate your comments. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We just stayed at this Holiday Inn for four nights over spring break, and were very happy with our choice. It's a good location for both Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. The room was very nice -- clean, spacious, light, comfortable beds, nice bathroom with a good shower. We were able to book one room with two queen size beds for two adults and three children under 10 (some hotels make you book two rooms for five people). The breakfast buffet was very good (and free for the kids!) and we enjoyed the indoor pool. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. And the price was right, too. Our only minor complaint was that there was no safe in the room. We highly recommend this hotel for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LoriR134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear LoriR134,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you and your family enjoyed your stay during spring break. We value all of your feedback and will pass it on to our staff. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the need for a safe in your room. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn during spring break with my two grandsons. I am a Priority Rewards member and this is by far the best Holiday Inn ever! In fact I believe it is one of the best overall hotels and I have stayed at, and I have traveled to many through out the world.

First, greeted with a smile, a cookie and crayon package for the kids, as well as a water for me.The room was clean and large with comfy beds and pillows.The breakfast buffet was amazing... if they did not have what you wanted on that buffet, I don't know what you would have wanted to eat!
I was so impressed with the quality of the food at breakfast that we went for dinner, again no disappointment there. The chief even came out to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. Our waiter I believe his name was Bert, he was from Turkey and again could not have been more accommodating. Everyone from the manager to housekeeping went out of their way to make this one of the most pleasurable stays I have ever had. My grandsons who are foodies loved this hotel,swimming at the indoor pool was a big plus. Their only disappointment was we had to go home, but we will be back! Thanks to all who work at this hotel, you all show the true meaning of the word hospitality!

Liz C

Room Tip: No spa but a small workout room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Memom822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Liz C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We will pass all of your valuable feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Best hotel we have stayed inat Williamsburg! Staff very nice and accomodating. Updated and clean. Will stay again!The general manager was awesome!We stayed in the presidential suite. Kids really loved it because they actually had their own room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Shirley M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Presidential Suite. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Wlliamsburg rgrg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites for 3 nights during spring break and had a great time. We were upgraded to a suite with a separate sitting room and pullout couch which gave 4 of us plenty of room to spread out. Fitness room is large enough for 4 people to work out at the same time. Pool area was nice and hot tub was great to relax after a fun-filled day. Staff was always extremely pleasant and especially the young man on he morning shift handled several complaints about unruly hotel guests from the previous night very gracefully.
Internet connection was extremely slow so don't plan on working here. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ikebobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear ikebobike,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value your feedback.. We hope you enjoyed spring break in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.. Thank you for telling us your feedback about the internet. We are sorry for this inconvenience. Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Presidential Suite is worth it. We are a family of four. Suite had kitchenette, dining room, living room and two bedrooms (one king, one double), each with it's own bath.
This hotel is IDEALLY located to explore Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown.
No WiFi and no complimentary breakfast, which is unusual for Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjs1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear bjs1292,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your suite. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the WIFI and no complimentary breakfast. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £51 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a full service hotel. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish decor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you've had in weeks. Our hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing