We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is not your father's Holiday Inn. Very modern, updated decor, friendly and accomodating staff, and plenty of amenties for everyone in your party. We did not use the full service restaurant, which includes a reasonably sized bar, but was told by another guest it was very good. This place is an excellent value for the money. We will definately stay again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG753437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear MG753437,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will stay with us in the future. Thank you for time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    322
    89
    20
    15
See reviews for
632
301
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn during Spring Break. They upgraded us for no reason to a suite and my kids were thrilled. It looks like a new hotel but some of the furniture was not that sturdy. But it was clean, and we had two tvs which was nice. Bed were comfortable. They had extra pillows with different softnesses which is a nice touch. Kids enjoyed the pool and the food in the restaurant was surprisingly good - although they could get more/better staff for the morning rush. The waitresses seemed totally overwhelmed. But the rest of the hotel staff was great. Jeff at the front desk was good, Josh in the bar/restaurant was very friendly. But best of all was Donna who helped us through a situation we had in our room. She really went above and beyond for us. I would definately stay at this property again. Its also super close to Colonial Williamsburg for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin Reynolds R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Robin Reynolds R,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your spring break in Williamsburg. We really appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked here for spring break 2013 because of the reviews and were quite happy. Kirk at the front desk was a delight - always a smile and always helpful. They took great care of us and even offered an upgrade to help our stay be even better, which was a great surprise. And Chef Shawn even made me a custom breakfast given some food sensitivity issues, which was delicious. Thanks for a great time for our family!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Maureen

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for mentioning our staff members. We will pass this feedback on to them. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

After staying at a handful of other Williamsburg hotels for business, the Holiday Inn Express is by far the best. The rooms are spacious and immaculate - and the staff has always been helpful. Most of my stays are in the "off-season" so they typically upgrade me reservation to a suite if they aren't fully booked. I haven't tried out the restaurant so I can't speak go it's quality but there are plenty of places nearby to eat nearby. Great value, great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbyC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear AbbyC29,

Thank you so much for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesvile,V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We came to Williamsburg to celebrate my 80th birthday with family. We had children so we wanted to have a day at Busch Gardens and a day in Historic old town. Jan took us under her wing and arranged it all with a suite and an additional room adjoining. It was immaculate and Jan had a special surprise as our suite was filled with ballons hanging from the ceiling. We all got such a laugh out of that. The restaurant chef made anything special we wanted for breakfast and we had a fine dinner there after being at Busch Gardens all day. Try the fried cheesecake, a special of the house. We created a memory with Jan to thank. We wouldn't ever stay any other place So connvenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patGainesvile_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear patGainesvile_V,

Thank you for telling us about your birthday experience in Williamsburg. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your birthday. We will pass your really nice comments on to Jan. Thank you so much for your time. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

What a good find this was! I stayed here with 2 lady friends in April. We chose it because it had suites. Actually, there are 2 Holiday Inn hotels in Williamsburg and this was the better one. It is newer and closer to the town center of Colonial Williamsburg. It is also a short distance from the university and the outlet mall. Our room was large with a living room area that had a good sized, newer sofa bed. A flat screen TV to watch the college basketball playoffs was also nice. Another TV was in the BR. A refrigerator helped us keep drinks cold and a microwave was there although we did not use it. Our suite overlooked a pretty patio attached to the bar where people were quietly sitting enjoying the warm weather.. A word of caution: the restaurant breakfast buffet is not included. It is a typical display of scrambled eggs etc. have been left too long in heating elements. At $11.00, you can do better elsewhere. A shout-out for the staff at this hotel: They quicky helped us with extra hangers, driving directions, and restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Lori006,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We really appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We hope that you will stay with us again .

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting William and Mary with my daughter
It was quiet, and for $130 night before taxes from what I see about Williamsburg, that is a great price.
What I liked
1. It was very quick to Colonial Williamsburg and William and Mary by car--maybe 8-10 min.
2. Very quiet--because it's away from the colonial area it is very quiet
3. desk clerk was very pleasant at check in
4. bed was fine, tv worked, etc
5. breakfast was not included in price, but we ate there. They really have a crazy problem. The portions are beyond belief. Just order one breakfast and share it. Everyone had to take take out boxes as was way too much. It's like the chef went nuts because I mean really, really huge portions. Also the breakfast is only open certain hours so many people were turned away who came after us. Check this out so you won't be disappointed if you are looking for breakfast. I'm not sure what the restaurant hours are, but do check if you need a restaurant onsite.
We were FINE because we got our breakfast and went on our way to the college.
What I didn't like:
1. Housekeeping was fine in terms of the bathroom and bed linens, but there was a bit of dust. The lamp by the bed had quite a bit of dust on it. I was tempted to dust it myself, but we got in late and I just wanted to sleep. There was dust on the dresser and tv too.
I'd hate to see one housekeeper who needs guidance ruin this review, because I truly would stay there again because it is quiet and cheap.

Room Tip: We stayed facing the front of the hotel, the street, and I didn't hear any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethStreetMoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear ElizabethStreetMoM,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate your detailed review. We strive as a hotel to make everyone's experience good. Thank you for your mention of the housekeeping staff. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing feedback about their service. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing