We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a very good stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites ! Jana at the front desk was great, she even treated our two girls with some candies on Halloween. Very convienient also to visit all the historic attractions ! We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Pilar G,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope that you and your family had a great time in Williamsburg. We appreciate your feedback about Jana. We will make sure that we pass this feedback on to her. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent - Outstanding - Extremely Pleasant Stay. Superlative rooms, lobby and facilities. Price was the best ! The favorite part of our stay was Jan at the front desk. She is The Greatest Ambassador for Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites !! She gave us a beautiful room and tons of advice on any any and all questions - including the Hotel and Tourist Attractions. Jan was so pleasant that we have been won over to Williamsburg and Holiday Inn Hotels and Suites for good. We will be back !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Five S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Five S,

Thank you so much for your 5 Star review. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding the hotel. We appreciate all of your great comments about Jan. We will make sure that she gets this really great feedback from you. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Recently spent 4 nights here on a short Williamsburg vacation. Great location right near all main roads and Williamsburg visitor center. Easy to get around and tons of restaurants within 1 mile. Hotel was very clean and quite. Rooms were spacious and modern. Coffee available in lobby 24/7. USA today everyday. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ED L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear EdLPa,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We are so glad that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed the weekend so that we could visit Busch Gardens. The entire staff was extremely friendly. Stevie at the front desk helped us with directions and recommendations and was very accommodating to our needs.
Our suite was clean, comfortable and spacious.
We enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and breakfast..just a great stay all around.
We'll be back again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AtlanticTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear AtlanticTravelGroup,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the area. We value all guest feedback, and will pass it on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing good things about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay. Very convenient location for visiting all the tourist attractions. Nice rooms, nice lobby and facilities. One of the newer prototype hotels. Very comparable to anything in Williamsburg. Ask for a room facing the back to avoid the road noise. Next door to a brand new Denny's that was great for a quick and inexpensive breakfast.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Floridagator,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate all of our business travelers. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Price was great! My favorite part of our stay was Jan at the front desk- she was awesome!! She gave us tons of advice on where to eat and go, and where not to bother going. Breakfast featured special order omelettes and waffles! We will be back!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank marchellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear marchellabella,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you chose us. Thank you for your comments about Jan. We will make sure we pass this feedback on to her. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast service. We will pass your comments on to our staff. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived to the hotel and they could not find the booking. They passed the buck onto the 3rd party consolidator in which we purchased the room. They said that they could not do anything and to call the consolidator. We did they said it was purchased and the Holiday Inn received payment for the room.

Holiday Inn asked us to repurchase a room at the full rate until we could sort it out and didn't try to help us in the least. I work in the industry and suggested several ways they could accommodate so we could go see the sights before dark. We finally figured it was not worth it to pay a full rate a second time and try to get our money back later.

It was really disappointing and sad that there was no effort by the front desk or General Manager. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Doc-trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Doc Trotter,

I generally begin my responses thanking our guests for their contribution. I cannot in this circumstance. I will, however, still apologize that we could not meet your expectations.

I feel that I need to explain the nature of your claims, as your review is both false, misleading, and manipulative. You did not show up for the reservation you reserved yourself, online, on the 22nd of September. We held your room, indefinitely, just as we do for all of our reservations. We will never "give away" a room attached to a confirmed reservation just because we feel you may not show up. This is a common practice in the hotel industry, however we chose NOT to give away rooms. All of our guests can rest assured that they have a nice clean room to check into. As you did not show up for this reservation, you were charged a 1 night penalty. We were sold out that night and had countless opportunities to give away your room and re-sell it for double the rate to customers walking in. But we didn't. We held it for you as we held up our end of the agreement. Just like you held up your end as the reservation was prepaid and non-refundable; the terms you agreed to at the time you clicked the confirm button online.

When you arrived on the 29th of September, one week after the date you made the reservation for, you were very belligerent, disrespectful, and rude in your claims that we had made a mistake. You were very unkind to both our team members and guests. After you reviewed your confirmation, you in fact admitted you made the mistake. You then told us you "worked in the industry and know we can either refund you the night you didn't show up for, or give you a complimentary room". Both of your assumptions are both unrealistic and not true. We did offer you a room for more than 60% off of our rate. You lied and state in your review that we did not. You demanded a free night and warned that you would "destroy us" if we did not give your money back or provide a complimentary night. We do, of course, try our best to work with guests in the event they made an error while booking. We are advocates of customer service. What we will not do, is tolerate the reprehensible behavior of threatening our hotel with bad reviews just so you will "get your way".

In conclusion, I am delighted to see you work in the industry. I am sure you feel the struggles, countless hours, and blood sweat and tears it takes to run a successful hotel. You know how much work it takes to create an experience of over-accommodating team members and clean, fresh, comfortable rooms. The kind of experience that creates over 700 reviews with less than 10 being "poor", the mark that you issued. In turn, I hope one day you look back on this review and realize how unwarranted and undeserving it was to our team members that work day in and day out to make our guests feel special.

Regards,

Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £62 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a full service hotel. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish decor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you've had in weeks. Our hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing