We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to come up to Williamsburg for the weekend to do some Christmas shopping at the outlets and go to Christmas Town for our birthdays. I did some research a few days in advance to try to find a hotel that wasn't too expensive but was still nice. This hotel more than exceeded our expectations. When we arrived we were greeted by Jan who was just lovely and made our visit that much better. The hotel is wonderful but she made it feel like home. When checking in she up-graded our room to a suite as a thank you to my boyfriend for his service (he was in uniform) which was such a kind and unexpected gesture. My boyfriend really appreciated it. I'm always weary when booking hotel rooms because I am very picky about the comfort of beds and have had many sleepless nights in hotel rooms due to uncomfortable beds. The room was spotless and very spacious. The bathroom was also very clean and I am a stickler when it comes to hotel bathrooms. The bed was so comfortable with firm and soft pillows to pick from and very comfortable and soft linens. This hotel had exceptional customer service, was comfortable and clean, and not very expensive. I have stayed at many hotels in the Williamsburg area and this is by far my favorite. We will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear wanderlusting57,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope that you enjoyed the birthday weekend. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. We use guest feedback to help us do that. Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you and your boyfriend had a good stay. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    323
    90
    21
    15
See reviews for
633
304
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My family spent one night here in two rooms. I did a big search of Williamsburg hotels as I wanted to ensure we had comfort, amenities, and space for a decent price (I'm indecisive and over-analyze things like this). This place was more than I usually expect from a Holiday Inn (but now I've raised my expectations). Staff were friendly and helpful without being over-bearing. Rooms were spacious, with great beds and plenty of pillows, and had everything I would expect (no mini-bar, just an empty fridge, which I prefer, plus the hotel bar is right at the bottom of the elevators). Tastefully decorated with comfortable sitting chair and desk and chair. No nasty thin and unwashed comforters like most hotels in this price range. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub, which were both open until 11pm (and even then we weren't shooed out, but just left on our own). The small fitness center is adequate. There are a lot of restaurants/shops right in the area. Coffee available in the lobby around the clock, in addition to coffee/tea and coffeemaker in each room. My only suggestion would be a little more lighting around the desk- my sister had to do some work and needed a bit more light. Not a deal-breaker in any sense though! I'm sure if I had mentioned it to the management they might have been able to lend an additional spare lamp or something- they were that helpful. I will recommend this place to anyone looking for a hotel in Williamsburg in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the road side and we were not bothered by any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear w1ldflwrs,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really value all of your great feedback about your stay. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for telling us your concerns about the need for more light at the desk area. We will make sure that we pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the needed changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a two night stay and from the minute we arrived we were made to feel perfectly at home. Jan at the front desk and the entire team were awesome and extremely knowledgeable about the area and how to enjoy it like the locals do. The room was clean, comfortable and a great value for the money! Will definitely be back. if you are going make sure to Ask Jan for any recommendations for food, driving and tours. She must be the mayor of Williamsburg....thanks for all the hospitality.

Room Tip: Just ask Jan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianVelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear BrianVelom

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate you telling us about your time in Williamsburg. We hope that you both enjoyed it. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about Jan. We will make sure that we pass that feedback on to her. Thank you for staying with us . We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on fellow trip advisors' reviews.
Overall, our stay was okay but not great. The front desk staff was very courteous. Check in was a breeze. We stayed over at two queen beds suite on the second floor. This is a new hotel but for some reason the color of toilet water was light brownish both in our room and in the restroom by the pool. The refrigerator was making a loud grinding noise so we turned it off but kept making the same noise so we ended up unplugging the unit. No big deal since we were not using the refrigerator. The toilet makes an extremely loud noise resembling those in flight. We can hear them in the middle of the night from other units as well. I was very disappointed when it was time to retire for the night and pulled a sofa bed out. The housekeeper apparently overlooked to change the bed sheet. I found numerous long curly hair as well as multiple short curly pubic hair on the sheet. I called the front desk and they sent the housekeeper on call to change them quickly.
Overall, I think the building may have some plumbing issues and housekeeping needs improvement but the front desk staff made the stay more tolerable.
Not sure if I want to return here after seeing those pubic hairs on the bed sheet however.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ddkmdFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear ddkmdFairfax_VA,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy reading that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. I apologize that we missed areas of importance such as your sofa-bed cleanliness. That area was certainly overlooked and we regret that we couldn't make that particular part of your stay enjoyable. I am pleased that we were able to resolve your concerns in a timely manner, however.

As far as the water, it was a city-wide issue that York County had experienced while fixing a break in the line down route 132 (the road that runs adjacent to us). It occurred around 2:00 PM in the afternoon, a time when the hotel is mostly empty. We cycled the water through our building for 10 minutes and resolved the issue quickly. I am sorry that this inconvenienced you, but if you had made us aware during the time of your stay, I would have liked to have offered a better resolution.

Thank you very much for your feedback. I have shared your comments with our team in hopes of always improving our operations and guest experience. Feel free to reach out to me if you would like to add any other aspects of your stay or have any questions regarding future reservations. We would love to have you a second time around.

Regards,

Geoff Scheibel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for six nights to visit Jamestown, Yorktown and Colonial Williamburg. Received a very friendly welcome with a small gift for being a club member. Breakfast was good and was included in our rate which was a buffet at the weekend and $10 towards the a la carte menu during the week. We enjoyed returning in the evening for a swim and use of the hot tub. Would have been five stars if the room had been cleaner. Would also benefit from having somewhere to change for the pool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear mbjackson,,

Thank you for telling us about your extended stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Welcome gift bag as well as the hot tub and pool area. We value all guest feedback. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the cleanliness of the room. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. We will pass this very important feedback on to our housekeeping staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary adjustments to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Willliamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Jan at the front desk was excellent. She couldn't have been better. We had a suite and it was worth it for the kids early bedtime. Kids eat free was a nice bonus for our breakfast. Good location and friendly staff. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for mentioning our great staff member Jan. We will make sure we pass that on to her. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.



Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

When I walk into this Hotel and they call me by name, it feels like I just got Home. Geoff, Jan, & the Staff take great care of me.....cook me Breakfast and Dinner in the Full Service Restaurant.....how awesome is that! This is my "Home away from Home" when I travel to Williamsburg, VA. See you guys in December for the Grand Illumination.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirby49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Kirby,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all of your feedback. Thank you for mentioning all of our great staff members. They always appreciate hearing great comments about their service. Thank you so much for staying with us. We will see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 74 in Williamsburg
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing