We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Restaurant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I MET friends who were staying at the hotel. We were meeting for dinner when I was told we were going to eat in the hotel. I must admit I was not expecting that choice.Everyone was too tired to go out.I was looking forward to eating locally at some of my favourites.

We went in and were immediately greeted by our server Denise.She gave us our menu and the specials were explained.It was not a large selection,but we'll chosen.A little something for everyone. I had the GRILLED Salmon BLT with bacon and aioli, and house salad. My friends chose a Veggie Burger, a Caesar Salad with Salmon. Everything was served fresh and was very good and nicely presented.

DENISE our server was excellent and friendly. As a local I would return especially for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbcbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear gbcbates,


Thank you for telling us about your visit to our restaurant. We are very glad that you enjoyed it. We hope you enjoyed your visit with friends. We will pass this feedback on to Denise. She will really appreciate hearing about her service. Thank you for time. We hope that you will visit with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    316
    89
    20
    14
See reviews for
621
299
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed the weekend of March 21st. Very convenient to Busch Garden and Colonial Williamsburg. Front desk staff were warm and welcoming all weekend. Hotel was immaculate. We received free upgrade to a suite, and it was very roomy for the 4 of us. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The shower had excellent water pressure and felt fabulous after a long day of walking. Everything felt clean and fresh. Kids really enjoyed indoor pool in the evening, and the gym was well-equipped. I did not hear noise from surrounding rooms or in the hallways, which was a plus. Would definitely recommend this hotel for families with kids.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaleighNCMomToTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear RaleighNCMom,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit. We really appreciate all of your feedback about the hotel. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We are glad tat we could accommodate you with an upgraded suite. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is an excellent Williamsburg location! We were right around the corner from the entrance to Williamsburg, very convenient. I can't say enough about the front desk at this location - the front desk service was very welcoming, efficient and helpful. When we walked back down to the lobby later in the evening, they had remembered our names and asked about our room, making sure everything was ok. Great Customer Service! The rooms themselves are very clean and set up nicely. We had a "living room" area with a couch, chair and 2nd TV. The bedroom area is a good size and the bed was comfy with a good mattress, pillows and linens. The bathroom is a nice size with everything you need. Being a Holiday Inn, not an Express, they didn't offer a free breakfast but the lobby has a choice of coffee or tea at no charge as well as a small store where you can purchase snack items and beverages. There is also a full service restaurant in the lobby. We ate breakfast there one morning and we were not too impressed. The service seemed a bit lacking and the food was not that exciting. There is a Denny's Restaurant right next door though and lots of Pancake Houses down the street. I would recommend this Holiday Inn without hesitation. Very nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lslsbl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear IsIsbl12,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your review. Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. We will pass all of your feedback on to our staff. Thank you for also telling us your concerns about the hotel. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for weekend of March 15 for Busch Garden opening. As excellent as last stay,
the hotel staff is extremely friendly. Warm greeting gifts. Free upgrade. Clean room.
Good breakfast (too bad it was not buffet). Love it! Will stay again. Many thanks to Dedria!
From: Hanna family

Room Tip: Very Friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014xixihaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I was persuaded by the glowing reviews to stay here for 4 nights during our Spring Break trip to Williamsburg. It was certainly an adequate hotel as it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Also, the tv was large and offered many channels. We did have a few issues up front that were remedied quick enough. The first room we were assigned had a toilet that wasn't flushing. We were assigned the room next door and discovered the fridge made quite a racket and the safe wouldn't close. These issues were taken care of after we notified the front desk the next day. I was less impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff. They weren't rude, just not friendly or welcoming.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Schnoopy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Schnoopy44,

Thank you for your review, We certainly appreciate your feedback and value you as a customer. I would like to personally apologize for the mishaps throughout your stay. It is inexcusable that your toilet was not functioning upon your arrival. Our management inspects every guest room prior to arrival, and I am very sorry that we missed the fine details. I understand your frustrations, as I would expect all items in my room to be in order when arriving. I am delighted that our staff was able to resolve your concerns in a timely manner.

Customer service is what we pride ourselves in. It is very disappointing that you did not receive a genuine experience that made you feel how much we truly value you as a customer. I have already shared your comments with our staff. We would never want our property or experience to be "adequate", we do strive for excellence and I am sorry we under-delivered. Your feedback will help us hone in on areas of opportunity to improve.

I hope that one day you will afford us a second chance. If I can be of any further assistance, please feel free to reach out to me personally. I thank you again for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager
gscheibel@hmphotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
427 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is easy to access from the interstate and would be a choice location to stay at if you were in Williamsburg for vacation. This property is very clean and everyone working here was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suite. The room was very clean and comfortable. The living area had a microwave and refrigerator with a desk, sitting chair, fold out sofa and flat screen TV. The bathroom was in the middle and it was very modern and clean. The bedroom had two beds and the beds were very comfortable. We left early in the morning and ate breakfast at the hotel. It was really good. We would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbae27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear dbae27,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback.
Thank you for your recommendation of the hotel. We really appreciate that. We will pass these great comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Chef Shaun Miller, came to the table to review our specific meal request. He was so kind and helpful and our meal was excellent. He is a real asset to Holiday Inn. The lovely woman who welcomed us and checked us in was an absolutely delight. She was so helpful. We will definitely stay at this Holiday Inn the next time we visit Williamsburg

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing