We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Holiday Inn in CW was perfect! The rooms were big and spacious, very clean, close to all attractions but not in the center of everything. Had a great time and would definately return to this hotel if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Cathie B,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    320
    89
    20
    15
See reviews for
629
300
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at this property,in mid-May 2014 and made it our base of operations for a tour through the Virginia Eastern Shore area. The hotel was conveniently located for our purposes. The guest room was spacious, with a separate work area, comfortable and clean. Guest parking was free, so was WiFi access. We paid a nominal amount extra for daily breakfast in the sparse, budget restaurant but regretted that because, while it was copious, it was apparent that the hot items, especially omelets, were not fresh but warmed up, so were the sausage, bacon and potatoes. The one breakfast buffet (available only on Fridays) was equally unappetizing, with the "hot" items lukewarm and a very limited selection of cold items on display. .Unfortunately, at check-out we had left an electric wine bottle opener in our room. It took several phone calls and e-mails to the hotel as well as to the central Holiday Inns Guest Relations Office, extending over several days after we returned home, to cause the hotel to conduct the careful search that finally turned the item up. The hotel's assistant general manager, Steve Pinkerton, proved to be very helpful toward that end, especially after the HI guest relations staff had washed its hands of the matter and left us to work with the hotel on our own, although the hotel had initially claimed that the electric wine bottle opener could not be located. . .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Hhbva,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com. I am happy reading that you found many aspects of your stay enjoyable, such as the cleanliness, location, free parking, and free wifi, I apologize for your breakfast experience, however. I am sorry you left our restaurant feeling that items had been warmed and not cooked. Our F&B team feels that is what separates us from other hotels,as all of our food is cooked by our Chef and culinary team. We do not use microwaves or precooked food. We cook it all to order! I am sorry that the quality of food did not portray that throughout your experience.

I am happy that we found your item and it is now returned to you. Again, I apologize that there was confusion in the beginning. It was our first experience ever seeing a bottle opener of that style! In the end, I am glad we were able to find it and send it to you overnight compliments of the hotel. We hope that provided restitution for the initial misunderstanding.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future, we enjoyed having you as our guest.

Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Starting with the warmest greeting ever from the gal at the front desk (Roshell) - who went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed - to our departure the next morning, this was an A+ experience. Very contemporary, upscale feel and wonderful accommodations. We had a suite which my son loved as he could have his own space (TV-n-all) and he rated this as one of the top 5 hotel stays of his 14 year life :-) No complaints at all! Also - for those wanting to visit Colonial Williamsburg - it was one turn out of the driveway and like a mile down the road, Extremely convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your son stayed with us. Tell him thank you for such a great rating of our hotel. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Brought the family here for vacation for a week, was very happy with our stay. Friendly staff, bright and clean, better than average for this price range. Good restaurant, full room service, close to all the major attractions, and the kids loved the indoor pool and hot tub. Best feature: the suites, if you choose to get one, are spacious and very comfy. Great to come back to after a long day. Ours did not have a kitchen but had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, a living room and dining area for not much more than what you would pay for a regular room at some of the higher end hotels in town. Only negative I can think of was this is one of the few holiday Inn properties I have found that does not have complimentary breakfast; however, you can get a $10 off coupon from the front desk that makes it practically free, and the quality is much higher than the typical "free" breakfast one gets.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear William,


Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you chose our hotel for your vacation with your family. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your suite. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the breakfast at the hotel. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you so much for choosing us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The front desk staff is always very pleasant, attentive, accommodating..and act as concierges as they are very knowledgeable about the area.
We love the restaurant and the specials that the Chef created over the weekends of our visit. Breakfast was good and kids eat for free.
Our room was spacious, clean and quiet.
We will be visiting again in September or October and we're looking forward to staying at this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlanticTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Atlantic Travel Group,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family chose us for your hotel needs. We are so glad that you enjoyed the restaurant. We will pass this very valuable feedback on to them. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly, and the room was beautiful and clean. The bed was super comfortable and the shower was great. My boyfriend and I came for a weekend to spend time at Busch Gardens, which was 15 minutes from the hotel. This was the cheapest hotel we found for the time we stayed, but I would be willing to pay much more for the great room and service. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin012894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Caitlin,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your boyfriend stayed with us. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to the area. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the room and the staff. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.


Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious rooms, great checkin....modern decor and pleasant helpful staff. The beds are very comfortable and the showers are roomy with great shower head. Price was also reasonable...would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Lona,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We hope that you enjoyed all that Williamsburg has to offer. We strive to provide a great place for everyone to stay. Thank you so much for your feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing