We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was unable to make it for my booking tomorrow. I spoke to customer service at Holiday Inn and they were extremely cooperative about my cancellation and refund, which is not in their regular policy. I'm very impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Harshit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Harshit A,

Thank you for telling us about your experience with hotel customer service. We are very sorry that you were unable to stay with us. We are glad that we could cancel your reservation for you. We hope that you will choose us in the future for your hotel needs.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Look, this is a Holiday Inn Express... If you expect, pretend, or even rate this a 5 star you are not being truthful or have never . My guess is that holiday inn would even agree that this is not a 5 star hotel. So let's get to what it is...

It is clean, comfortable, and has a helpful staff. It is well priced, and has great access to all Williamsburg attractions. The breakfast in the morning is moderately priced, and kids eat free.

We did eat dinner one night in the restaurant due to arriving later than expected, but were unimpressed, again, we didn't expect much either. We opted for Chipotle another night which was down the street along with another several options.

In the end, everything met our expectations, and for just over 100 bucks a night for a 1 bedroom double suite, who could argue. Other options in the area seemed considerably overpriced in the area or were reviewed on the site as disgusting. With this spot, you will be safe, clean and comfortable, but understand what it is going into the experience. We would stay here again for a night or two to access Busch Gardens or Water Country.

Room Tip: Higher number on the floor the better. Room number one is by the elevator and frustrating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Craig D,

Thank you for posting on our tripadvisor page, we appreciate the feedback. I am delighted you found our hotel clean, comfortable, well priced, in a great location, safe, easily accessible to Water Country and Busch Gardens, and enjoyed our onsite restaurant. I am ever happier reading that our hotel met your expectations.

As a Holiday Inn, we do not expect nor pretend to be "5 stars". AAA acknowledges us at a 3 star property, and we are proud of that! We strive to be the best upper mid-scale hotel we can be. We want to the the best Holiday Inn among all other Holiday Inns. We are able to deliver excellent service and well appointed rooms for considerably less than a "5-Star luxury" price. We do, however, strive to deliver 5-Star service and make you feel like a king or queen while you are with us! That is why numerous of our previous reviewers have ranked their experience on tripadvisor as "excellent", or a 5 out of 5 experience.

Again, we are happy that you had many positive things to say about our hotel. We love that we adequately filled your needs! We would love to see you another time around.

Yours in Hospitality,

Geoff Scheibel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was an unexpected 5 star experience. After a long day on the road I was greeted by a very nice, clean hotel which had recently been updated. Further, they upgraded our family to a large suite at no additional costs. Kids ate for free at each meal and the staff was helpful and courteous. We will stay at this location again on our return trips to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Pool room was heated nicely - water a bit chilly, but the kids didn't mind. Fitness equipment wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank z06stinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Z06stinger,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We are so glad that we could upgrade you to a suite. We are glad that made you stay even more comfortable. We are so happy you enjoyed the restaurant. We will pass that feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future..

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Holiday Inn in CW was perfect! The rooms were big and spacious, very clean, close to all attractions but not in the center of everything. Had a great time and would definately return to this hotel if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Cathie B,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your room. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent 5 nights at this property,in mid-May 2014 and made it our base of operations for a tour through the Virginia Eastern Shore area. The hotel was conveniently located for our purposes. The guest room was spacious, with a separate work area, comfortable and clean. Guest parking was free, so was WiFi access. We paid a nominal amount extra for daily breakfast in the sparse, budget restaurant but regretted that because, while it was copious, it was apparent that the hot items, especially omelets, were not fresh but warmed up, so were the sausage, bacon and potatoes. The one breakfast buffet (available only on Fridays) was equally unappetizing, with the "hot" items lukewarm and a very limited selection of cold items on display. .Unfortunately, at check-out we had left an electric wine bottle opener in our room. It took several phone calls and e-mails to the hotel as well as to the central Holiday Inns Guest Relations Office, extending over several days after we returned home, to cause the hotel to conduct the careful search that finally turned the item up. The hotel's assistant general manager, Steve Pinkerton, proved to be very helpful toward that end, especially after the HI guest relations staff had washed its hands of the matter and left us to work with the hotel on our own, although the hotel had initially claimed that the electric wine bottle opener could not be located. . .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Hhbva,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com. I am happy reading that you found many aspects of your stay enjoyable, such as the cleanliness, location, free parking, and free wifi, I apologize for your breakfast experience, however. I am sorry you left our restaurant feeling that items had been warmed and not cooked. Our F&B team feels that is what separates us from other hotels,as all of our food is cooked by our Chef and culinary team. We do not use microwaves or precooked food. We cook it all to order! I am sorry that the quality of food did not portray that throughout your experience.

I am happy that we found your item and it is now returned to you. Again, I apologize that there was confusion in the beginning. It was our first experience ever seeing a bottle opener of that style! In the end, I am glad we were able to find it and send it to you overnight compliments of the hotel. We hope that provided restitution for the initial misunderstanding.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future, we enjoyed having you as our guest.

Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Starting with the warmest greeting ever from the gal at the front desk (Roshell) - who went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed - to our departure the next morning, this was an A+ experience. Very contemporary, upscale feel and wonderful accommodations. We had a suite which my son loved as he could have his own space (TV-n-all) and he rated this as one of the top 5 hotel stays of his 14 year life :-) No complaints at all! Also - for those wanting to visit Colonial Williamsburg - it was one turn out of the driveway and like a mile down the road, Extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Sally,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your son stayed with us. Tell him thank you for such a great rating of our hotel. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Brought the family here for vacation for a week, was very happy with our stay. Friendly staff, bright and clean, better than average for this price range. Good restaurant, full room service, close to all the major attractions, and the kids loved the indoor pool and hot tub. Best feature: the suites, if you choose to get one, are spacious and very comfy. Great to come back to after a long day. Ours did not have a kitchen but had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, a living room and dining area for not much more than what you would pay for a regular room at some of the higher end hotels in town. Only negative I can think of was this is one of the few holiday Inn properties I have found that does not have complimentary breakfast; however, you can get a $10 off coupon from the front desk that makes it practically free, and the quality is much higher than the typical "free" breakfast one gets.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear William,


Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you chose our hotel for your vacation with your family. We are so glad that you all enjoyed your suite. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the breakfast at the hotel. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you so much for choosing us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £64 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a full service hotel. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish decor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you've had in weeks. Our hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing