We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again skip restarant ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Would stay again skip restarant ”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in convenient location close to everything. Has restarant and bar. Room was spacious and clean. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Lobby was modern. Workout room was great used it. Pool looked inviting although I did not use it. Bar had aweful service out of pretty much everything. Said no one ordered that week. Restaurant aweful. 3 people there for breakfast. Ordered two eggs home fries toast. After 15 minutes walked out. No explaination of why it took so long. There is a Denny's and Cracker Barrel next door. Skip the restarant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Maggie,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you chose our hotel. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the restaurant however. We will use this feedback to make the necessary changes to make the hotel a better experience for you, and future guests to the hotel.. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    325
    90
    21
    16
See reviews for
641
308
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I'm writing here to thank the staff for our enjoyable stay at your hotel this past weekend. This was our second stay at your hotel. Last year, we booked a room at a Marriott, and when we arrived late at night, we found out that they had given away our room. Fortunately, we found one at your hotel, and we had great service. At check in, after driving through the night, we were happy to have a room and pleasantly surprised to find out we had been upgraded to a suite. In the mornings we enjoyed breakfast downstairs, and each day our room was well serviced. On our last night there, we were looking for a seafood restaurant, and we got a great recommendation. We look forward to staying with you again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JC,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your suite upgrade. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family.. We will pass your great comments on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. The staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Michelle who worked the afternoon/evening shift during the time we were there. She guided us on easier routes to the places we wanted to visit and told us about interesting shopping areas within the city that we didn't know about, answered our many questions and just generally made us feel welcome. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitchfield, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a great 3 night stay everything was nice and clean. The room service was wonderful. We had a suite which was very nice. My husband likes to stay up late so, I was able to close the door to the bedroom and didn't hear the T.V. at all. Everyone was very helpful with everything we needed. GREAT PLACE ....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed one night and had a lovely big comfortable clean room and slept well. The reception staff were very helpful.

You get an allowance of $10 each on breakfast as part of your booking, and pay extra for everything over this. There are a wide range of options both over and under $10. We were both disappointed by breakfast. The small yogurt with a very small amount of mouldy strawberry was not really edible, and the omelette was not very inspiring.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth L.,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor! I am happy you had a great experience in our rooms and our staff went out of the way to make you feel special.

I apologize for the breakfast experience. The quality that you described below is not acceptable nor indicative to what we would like our guest experience to be. I am very sorry that we fell short in this area. i would really appreciate more detail about your overall experience. We you be kind enough to e-mail specifics so I may research further? I do share all comments with our team members and we really do appreciate all guest feedback.

Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will return again soon!

Regards,

Geoff Scheibel
gscheibel@hmphotels.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We drove from IA to VA for our sons wedding. Stopped in IL only to get a horrible room that smelled & people above us sounded like they were in our room. So we stayed from 8:30pm to midnight & loaded up & drove 16 hours to this AWESOME Holiday Inn!! Upon our day early arrival we were greeted with a smile by Roshell. Explained what we had been thru & since staying with them for 5 nights we wanted a quiet room high up & away from elevator & vending which was also requested when we made our original reservation. We had a little issue with our rate being different than our printed confirmed rate so Roshell was sidetracked working to resolve that. Got off the elevator only to find room 301 was literally right off the elevator. We went right back down & said no way. Roshell upgraded us from a 2 queen bed suite to a 2 bedroom suite on 5th floor way away from the elevator at no additional charge. This suite was wonderful as 1 bedroom had king bed & 2nd seperate bedroom had 2 queen beds, 2 sep bathrooms, 3 tvs, dining tnl & chairs & living room area. Was very comfortable for that many nights for my husband, myself & our teenage son. Both Roshell (& the manager on duty who's name escapes me) were very professional & actually cared that we enjoyed our stay. No negatives just dont get a room by elevators. Very clean & nice hotel & great location to get to everything.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESTHERVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Estherville,

Thank you for telling us about your experience at our hotel. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We are very sorry for the issues that you encountered at check in. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We use feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thanks for your comments about our staff members. We will pass that feedback on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing good comments about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was unable to make it for my booking tomorrow. I spoke to customer service at Holiday Inn and they were extremely cooperative about my cancellation and refund, which is not in their regular policy. I'm very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harshit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Harshit A,

Thank you for telling us about your experience with hotel customer service. We are very sorry that you were unable to stay with us. We are glad that we could cancel your reservation for you. We hope that you will choose us in the future for your hotel needs.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing