We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2010

This was our second stay at this hotel. We stayed for a week, during which time we made final arrangements for our daughter's wedding, and celebrated the special day. The hotel offered a discounted rate for wedding guests, and everyone was happy with their room in terms of comfort and cleanliness.
I especially thank David and Katie, my front desk buddies, who helped out with numerous details, and were always most friendly and accommodating. You made our stay pleasant and comfortable. Jeff was also great.
We hosted a departure brunch for wedding guests, and I found the chef to be cheerful and helpful, and the wait staff to be friendly.
We will definitely return when visiting Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2010

Thank you for sharing your stay - our staff strives to provide excellent service to everyone - it's what they live for and I am pleased to see they made your stay more than enjoyable.

We hope to see you again and await your arrival!

Ravi P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2010

Enjoyed my room during my brief stay for business. Great value for the cost. Pleasant, relaxing atmosphere - comfortable, convenient. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room exceeded my expectations - functional, pleasing decor/furnishings. Well-maintained, clean (including bathroom, which can be neglected in some hotels). Did not have time to utilize other amenities in hotel, but room suited my needs perfectly. I can see why it is rated number 1 on this site. Highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcompaniongje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are currently in the process of a deep clean in the hotel which will last 2 months and will see each room get a complete scrub down and renewed. We want to ensure that our property stays and feels new for years to come so we take extra care to complete this process every year and we are glad it shows!

Ravi P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel with our three young children and one other guest for a long weekend to Colonial Williamsburg. The rates were quite low so I didn't know what to expect before we got there. As soon as we arrived, I was impressed. It appears to be one of the newer hotels in the immediate area and is a less-than-two-minute drive to many restaurants as well as the historic downtown area.

The two-bedroom suite was quite large and gave the kids plenty of room to play. I was happy to have two full bathrooms in our suite which makes life much easier in the morning. To top it all off, the free high-speed Internet was amazingly fast.

The staff was quite friendly and always helpful. They guided us to some great restaurants in the area and were quick to respond if we needed anything.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryates100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It is always great to see a family enjoy their stay and we are glad we were able to make your stay great.

Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Ravi P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I remember staying in Holiday Inns as a child and believe me...they were a bed and a sink. Holiday Inn has REALLY stepped up it's game. The workout room leaves a little to be desired but the pool area is lovely. We had a suite with comfortable beds and pillows...as anyone knows is quite rare. The heating system may need some revamping as it blew quite a bit of cold air. Everything else was exceptional. Didn't make it to the restaurant. This location is about equi-distant between outlets and downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amiddl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2010

Well our intention was not to scare anyone but we are glad you like the changes in the brand and hope everyone takes a look again at the new Holiday Inn and trys us out!

Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Ravi P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We booked this hotel based on the trip advisor rating and I must say we were very, very pleased with our accommodations and will recommend this hotel to others. We booked the 2 bedroom (1 king, 2 queens and a pull out sofa in the living room) executive suite with breakfast. It was very large and clean. The size of this suite for the money was simply amazing. This suite consisted of 2 individual bedrooms with their own televisions, a living room with a television and pull-out couch and chairs, 2 bathrooms, and a dining room! The breakfast was very good! We would not hesitate to stay here again and will in fact recommend this hotel to family and friends. There was one minor issue. Our daughter found a flute in the pull-out couch and therefore did not use the couch for sleeping purposes. This incident made her wonder if the sheets were washed after the last guest departed since the flute was not removed. Overall though we don't feel we can do better when staying in the Williamsburg area :-D Thank You!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I apologize for the issue with the sleeper sofa. I can assure you that our housekeeping department does their best to ensure each room is thoroughly cleaned however sometimes these oversights do happen. I assure you that the linens were changed in your room as they are in each room but they may simply have missed the flute while folding the bed back into the sofa. I apologize for that issue again and hope it will not affect your decision to stay with us again in the future.

Thank you!

Ravi P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We were here for two nights in October, using Williamsburg as a homebase for exploring Yorktown, Jamestown, and Colonial Williamsburg. The location was perfect for that, and the hotel is lovely with a beautiful, clean, and tastefully-designed lobby and very clean and well-kept hallways. The hotel seemed to be in good shape, and we were happy with our room (except for the somewhat loud fridge). Kudos to David, who called the evening we arrived and left a message to make sure we were satisfied with our room. He was very attentive to our needs and made us feel welcome there. Our second day there, upon leaving for breakfast, I requested at the front desk that maintenance or cleaning crew be alerted that there was a clogged bath drain. When we returned that evening, the problem had been solved! While the hotel gave us a coupon for dinner discount in their reputable restaurant, BISTRO 515, we did not eat there. We were slightly disappointed there was no complimentary continental breakfast, but we were very happy with our delicious breakfast at IHOP, not too far away.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McFliege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

Thank you for taking time out to let us know of your experience. I'm glad to hear that David at the Front Desk as well as Norman our Chief Engineer took such great care of you. What you mentioned in your review is one of the main reasons why Norman was recently recognized as "Best of the Best" for Holiday Inn's because he tries to fix every problem to the guest satisfaction and in a timely manner.

We are pleased that you chose our hotel for your visit to Williamsburg and we hope that we will see you again in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

We were there the first weekend in November. Having always trusted trip advisor, we couldn't go wrong with one that was rated #1. And we were right - the hotel lives up to all of it's recommendations. We too were upgraded to a suite upon arrival and found the room very comfortable and of a lovely decor. The front desk couldn't have been nicer and were most accomodating. The location was perfect if you were going to Colonial Williamsburg and there were many restaurants in the area in which to eat. The hotel restaurant was good, however the service was a little slow. But on weekends there is a good breakfast buffet. So, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2009

Thank you for your kind words! It is nice to hear that we lived up to the reviews you found on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and for you taking time out to let others know how you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#6 of 73 in Williamsburg
754 reviews
4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#13 of 73 in Williamsburg
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £60 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a full service hotel. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish decor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you've had in weeks. Our hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing