We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just opened...below expectations”
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2007

We were married at the Winery in late October and when we saw that Wedmore would be opening the same year we were elated to be able to walk to our room after the reception and the descriptions of this small luxury hotel made it sound like the perfect cap to our weekend. Unfortunately we stayed here the first week they opened and while I expect some hiccups it was certainly below expectations. There were several places in the room, particularly the bathroom that needed paint touchups and what looked to be sloppy calking jobs around the trims. The bathroom was oddly laid out with narrow corridor and a mirror that was difficult to use, especially since it was the only one in the room. The only trash can was outside the room and as a female guest having a trash can in the restroom is a necessity. I had to ask at least 4 times before one was brought in. The room never appeared to be cleaned during our stay, I also had to ask numerous times to have the trash removed. All of the ammenities were not available while we visited either, the massage, gym, etc. The staff seemed ill prepared for opening and very confused for the most part although they were all very friendly and soom went out of their way more than others to accomodate us while taking photos the day of the wedding. I agree with the prior poster that there should be more of a relationship with the Winery.

This hotel has great potential, the rooms are all quite unique, the hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and the detail and period pieces throughout allow you to see the painstaking detail that went into the planning and building of the hotel. It is great for a couple looking for a quiet, romantic escape but staying there opening week it seemed like a discount should have ben offered:) I would visit again if I hear more positive experiences.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for Wedmore Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2007

My husband and I stayed here on its opening night (we didn't know this was the first night open) in October. Its a lovely property. Its right next to the Williamsburg winery. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to mean anything, as there are no free tastings at the winery, which usually happens when the two are associated. The hotel was not ready to be open for business, but I do hope that they will be able to put in all those little touches that people look for when staying at a luxury B&B. There were no tissues in the room, nor any water glasses. When we came back to the room on Saturday at 4PM, the room hadn't been made up (there were only a few other couples staying at the place). There was no wine and cheese, or afternoon tea. Breakfast wasn't very good, although it was in a very pretty room. The staff and the owner were all very nice and welcoming, but the staff were very young, and didn't seem to have any actual hotel experience. We stayed in the Lombardy room, which was very small, and the mirror in the bathroom was impossible to use, as it sat on two corners of a wall and met in the middle. The lights also went down the mirror, and were way too bright. The decor of the bathroom did not match the rest of the room. I do hope that this hotel is able to get its act together soon in terms of service, amenities and food, as its a nice location, and I would like to go back at some point--but I don't know when it will be ready. I also think that they should take better advantage of their relationship with the winery and have wine tastings, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaTraveler250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rolf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank dt_AZ2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadlbiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobias-i-zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
2.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#18 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £132 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing