We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th birthday”
Review of Wedmore Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wedmore Place
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked a room at the Wedmore for my mother's 70th birthday. She and Dad had a great visit! They are already looking forward to a return trip. Room was clean and nicely decorated. The vineyard was beautiful. While there, they also enjoyed the wine tour. She says our family must book a stay the next time we visit Virginia. They live closeby and visit Williamsburg often but now they will stay at the Wedmore when an overnight stay is preferred. Thanks to all the staff that took such good care of them and made it such a memorable experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great staff. Nice rooms. Never seen a bathroom built into what would have been a long skinny closet, e.g., shower door wouldn't open all the way since the room/hallway was so narrow. Otherwise very nice. Tour of the adjoining winery included with room. Tour was decent w/ a few samples of the cheapest wines available.

Restaurant in the inn is very good. Nice breakfast included w/ room.

The strange bathroom and the noise from the hardwood floors in the hallways are the only negatives.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Billaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The perfect place for a romantic getaway to be pampered and relax! The rooms are one-of-a-kind furnished with beautiful antique pieces and the staff is extremely accommodating! Everyone who worked there congratulated us on our anniversary - we really felt at home all weekend. OH - and dinner at the Cafe Provencal was just amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Driving through the winery's grape fields and approaching the entrance to the hotel, you will feel like you are in France, not Virginia. The columns and alley of trees leading to the hotel are perfect. The room was very large and furnished with antiques. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was gracious. Wi-fi in the room is really bad so if you need to connect, plan on sitting in the lobby. Breakfast was very good (great croissants) and the pool was quiet and relaxing. This does not seem like a good hotel for children. Quick 10 minute drive to Colonial Williamsburg - very convenient location!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mkol37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WedmoreManagement, Manager at Wedmore Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your sejour with us! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful experience. Our room was gorgeous and reminded us of Europe. The staff and restaurant were amazing as well !!! We will be recommending this to all our friends and family that visit the area!!! This would also be a great place for a wedding or other intimate affair.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rebo373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We spent one night here after attending a wedding at Wedmore Place. Even before arriving Wedmore's staff was responsive and helpful with changes to our reservations. Once there the staff made us feel very welcome. Christine was especially helpful. Dinner and breakfast were well prepared and delicious. Our room, while well decorated, was not quite as functional as I would have liked. The tub was difficult to get in and out of and the shower head not very user-friendly. The only mirror was the one over the sink in the bathroom. When getting ready for a wedding it is nice to be able to see "how you look" once dressed. The TV cabinet did not serve its purpose well. The doors were in the way of most viewing angles. In the Wedmore's efforts to make the room very European they did not always consider practicability. We would stay here again. The overall atmosphere was very relaxing and the winery next door worth another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The rooms were richly decorated with a very comfortable bed. We enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant. The crabcakes were very tasty and the wine was very good. Breakfast was also very good, the quiche was great. Would definitely eat there again. Great for a special get away.

Room Tip: Stay in the Lombardi room. Would consider staying again in Fall or Winter and using the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dianaChesapeake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
630 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
3.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185-8063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £133 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedmore Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing