We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average quality room which was musty smelling.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Ranked #51 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Average quality room which was musty smelling.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

For the package rate ($300+ a night) over Thanksgiving, my expectations were of a better property, perhaps somewhat in the Hyatt or Marriott class. Instead, the room matches a middling Holiday Inn in quality, with a 50% larger room size a noticeable bonus.

First, however, if you have any mold allergies, I suggest you carefully inspect your room before the bellman leaves. Better yet, leave your bags at the Inn front desk and just be escorted to look at the room. Our room had a very pronounced musty/moldy smell, but not overpowering. We could stand it, especially after the cross breezes from having the balcony and room doors open at the same time, even in cold weather. The room temperature recovers quickly thanks to the two heating systems, a silent hot water system under the floor-to-ceiling windows and a through-the-wall system like many Holiday and Days Inns (not a window a/c system). The through-the-wall system does not meet the quality standards of central a/c found in upscale chains.

The room was impeccably clean, even in the crevices and corners of the bath, with no visible mold. So the smell must be originating in the walls or in the carpet.

The pond-view room has an idyllic view, especially in fall with falling leaves on the ponds. It is especially quiet on this side of the building. The other "view" is of the tennis courts, to be avoided as the rooms face the parking lots too.

The walk-up to the second story is great for overweight Americans, but several portly guests had obvious breathing problems as the building does not have an elevator. You have a short five-minute walk each morning to the Inn for your breakfast, if included in the package. Those with mobility problems should definitely look elsewhere.

The bathroom was Quality Inn level, with the linens, should you call them that, at the Motel 6 standard. There is a dressing room with a second vanity. The first thing a guest will notice after a shower or bath are the postage-stamp-sized towels. No one has any reason to be envious of these, as so often you might be of over-sized thirsty bath linens in four- and five-star properties.

The bonus you get with these Providence Hall rooms is that you have the meals and services of the Williamsburg Inn, a true five-star property. Thus, you have helpful concierges on duty, dutifully cheerful doormen, exemplary dining room wait staff, and a front desk which is the weakest link in the very strong quality chain of personnel. You make all your touring arrangements, if not pre-arranged, through the concierge. They are invariably helpful and cheerful people-persons.

For the price, this was a poor value. If you could endure the inconvenience of being located off-site (and parking at the visitor center during busy times and taking the shuttle buses), then you can save about 30-50% of the costs, even after the Colonial Williamsburg tickets. I would try the nearby Williamsburg Lodge (unreviewed by the author) first if on-site convenience is important. For a central location right in Colonial Williamsburg, this would be my last choice, after the Inn, Lodge and Colonial Housing.

Room Tip: The second floor pond-view room gives you a pleasant and quiet vista, with pond in foreground and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    16
    11
    2
    7
See reviews for
21
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

The Inn itself is lovely, and the staff is welcoming Nd responsive, but Providence Hall, until it finishes its scheduled refurbishment, is a bit disappointing. There are no elevators, so hauling stuff up to the second floor is a bit of a pain. The rooms feel a bit musty and the air conditioner is so loud that I as forced to choose between not sleeping ell due to noise or due to heat. The Lodge, across the street, is MUCH nicer.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofiastayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have returned from our weekend in Williamsburg where we stayed at the Providence Hall Guesthouses. Our room was on the side of the building toward the pond and was so quiet we could hear the birds instead of traffic. In fact, if you like peace and quiet on vacation instead of listening to the traffic whizzing by, this is the place for you.

The king bed room was huge, with a sofa and wing chair besides a table and two more chairs and a desk and chair. The balcony had four chairs and two tables and wasn't crowded with all of that. It overlooked the pond and trees. We had two separate vanity areas as well as a dressing room with a closet in which was a safe and frig. The TV was a huge flat screen hidden behind the oriental wall cabinet.

We had left home at 3AM in order to beat the rush hour traffic around DC, so we arrived at 8AM. When we spoke to the front desk person to ask about an early checkin, he told us we could have our room right away. Unheard of!

Even though Providence Hall is a quiet retreat, it is still close enough to walk to the restored area. I would choose it again, even over the lodge and the inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pond side of the buildings (there are two buildings). The other side faces th...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Archwilk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This was our first stay at this particular property of the Williamsburg Inn. We have stayed at the Houses and Inn on several occasions and always longed to bring our four legged kids each and every visit. An obscure post tipped me off that this WI property does indeed, allow dogs.

In all of the years visiting I had never noticed this hotel building off of the pathway just to the left of the parking lot at the end of the wing of the Inn directly across from the tennis courts. It is a more modern looking structure, located on a quiet pathway off the golfing greens with a lovely pond and lots of egrets, turtles and croaking frogs.

Our unit was located on the bottom level with a patio that opened to the pond and allowed us to walk in and out with the 'kids'. There are strict rules for pets and the price is rather steep at $50 per animal per night, but we appreciate being able to traveling with our dogs, and despite the fees, are cheaper than pet hotels. However, we appreciate and reward hotels that permit dogs, and are glad to know the WI has this option for the future.

The room was large and included a sitting area with full size sofa, coffee table and chair and dining table and chairs. We had the King bedroom. Bath and bed were comfortable and nicely outfitted. The rooms included a large safe; small refrigerator and a coffee maker with the pods.

Housekeeping was able to bring extras of all amenities we requested and we ordered room service which was prompt. There is a large lounge room in one of the two buildings that has office related services and coffee all day.

The one point I would make is there is no elevator in this building. It made carrying our usual car load of dog and people stuff a bit of a hassle, however, the porters carried it to and from our auto so was not a big deal. I inform so that anyone that may require wheel chair access should inform the hotel when making reservations.

The hotel had access to all of the Inn's amenities. We traveled over Memorial Day weekend. The crowd was sparse and there were multiple weddings in the Regency Room. We ate in the lovely bar for dinner and had room service on occasion. We spent our time hanging out at the 'quiet' pool. The rest of the time, I spent at the fabulous spa! I highly recommend the scrub and massage treatment! It's worth the trip alone!

The staff at the Inn, as always, were attentive punctual. I would recommend to folks needing to manage a larger brood, or for couples that want to disappear into the woods.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with someone with mobility issues, let them know when you obtain your reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

My friend wanted to share her Colonial Williamsburg college experience with us in this beautiful quaint town, and we had the most wonderful time. The Providence Hall Guesthouses served as the perfect slice of comfort for our weary feet after a full day of walking and exploring.

Since there were 4 girls sharing one of their 2 double-bed rooms, one would be nervous of it being a bit snug for space but in fact it was the complete opposite. Spacious, light, and clean and there was even an extended bathroom area which for 4 girls getting ready for a nice evening meal was a great perk!

Breakfast from room service and front desk service was also top notch and made us feel very special. Surrounded by trees it's a great little spot.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to get a ground floor room with a patio so that we could enjoy the garden and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenSquirrel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My favorite place in the states just got a little better. If you want the ambience of staying in Colonial Williamsburg but can't afford the historic houses or the Williamsburg Inn, this is a great option. Just steps from the Inn, Providence Hall guesthouses provides a comfortable, nice hotel room with a lobby concierge that serves Kuerig Coffee all day long and provides a flat-screen tv, comfortable sofas and a computer station for internet and printing, just for your convenience. The rooms offer a balcony looking out over the pond and constant views of wildlife. Add a walk to the Inn for their buffet breakfast for a memorable morning. Being here gives you the opportunity to walk historic streets in the early morning or late evening, when the tourists have left and it is just you and history. A serene setting offering good food, good accomodations and peace and quiet. What more could you want! Just minutes away from grocery stores, chain restaurants, Busch Gardens and the newly-revamped Pottery, if you need more activity.

Room Tip: Try to get into the first building. Close to tennis courts and closer to historic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifelonglibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We've stayed many times at Williamsburg before, but we always stayed in the Lodge. My family stayed here during Thanksgiving 2011, and was somewhat dissatisfied with our room. It was a wheelchair accessible room, so we kind of felt like we were in a hospital. The room was also outdated, as in the furniture looked tired. Also, the exterior is very modern and clashes with the architecture of Colonial Williamsburg. Hopefully, next time we go to Williamsburg, the Lodge will be available.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel

Property: The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Address: 305 S England St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4266 (Formerly Providence Hall Guesthouses)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a getaway of spacious guest rooms with breezy balconies where you can enjoy Williamsburg’s natural beauty. Imagine sitting out on a beautiful terrace overlooking a charming pond and wooded area. Located just steps away from the heart of Colonial Williamsburg.Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Hall Guesthouses Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing