We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend it to anyone trying to sleep well and save a buck!!”
Review of Bassett Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bassett Motel
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 4 July 2009

My son and I stayed there for 4 nights and I thought it was a great alternative to all the other overpriced hotels and motels in the area. Our room was always clean, the wireless internet worked flawlessly, the T.V. had more channels than we ever needed, and the staff was very friendly, each and every day.

Our original plan was to stay only 2 nights, but after 2 nights it made much more sense to stay a couple more nights as we visited Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown, and even after our return from Virginia Beach. Rashmi was always very friendly and helpful, giving us directions to places of interest, and even keeping my guitar in his back office so it wouldn't overheat in our car, and that was AFTER we had checked out of the motel.

Trips to places like Williamsburg can cost a family a lot of money, so to stay 4 nights for barely over $200 was a great savings compared to the other chain hotels asking over $150/night. That kind of savings made it so much easier to just have fun during the days and not worry about how much money we were spending every day. We went to a haunted dinner theater the first night, but had we been spending $150/night on a room we may not have spent the $80 for the dinner theater. I'm so glad we did though because it was probably one of the highlights of the trip for my son.

If you're looking for a posh place with a pool, restaurant, and exercise facilities, you'll have to spend the big bucks somewhere else. But if you're looking for a clean and comfortable room, wireless internet to help plan your days or keep in touch with others, and friendly staff to help make your stay enjoyable, this is the place to stay. We got all that and more with the Bassett Motel. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the Williamburg area. Why pad the pockets of the big chains when you can support a local motel like this?

When we left Williamsburg and headed to D.C., we paid much more for a big chain hotel, only because we didn't have any other options. It had the pool, restaurant, bar, exercise room, and all the other frills, but we were always on-the-go during the day and guess what? We never used any of them. We just had great long days visiting all the sites, and came back for a little relaxation and sleep so we could wake up and do it again the next day. All that extra money would have been wasted in Williamsburg had we gone the big chain route. If you want to lay around a pool and sip margaritas, that's up to you. We weren't interested in that.

Thanks Rashmi and the staff at the Bassett Motel. We enjoyed our stay and will recommend it anyone coming to your area!!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IdahoTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

Me and my fiance stayed in Bassett Motel for speicial occasion, staff at bassett is very friendly, price what we paid is excellent, good value. Rooms are very nice and cleaned, great location to colonial williamsburg and very close to busch garden. We really enjoyed at property.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wonder800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Bassett for a week in October. We found the room comfortable and the location was very convienient and quiet. The staff at the Bassett was very friendly and helpful. The room had a microwave and a refrigerator. We will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diabhaill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

I have stayed at alot of motels in my time, and this by far has to be the worst one ever. The bed spread was dirty and ripped, the sheets were dirty. I do not think they ever moved the TV to clean under it. It was the kind of place where you needed to sleep with one eye open...

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jnr1194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucia3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#47 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#51 of 73 in Williamsburg
151 reviews
6.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Williamsburg/Lightfoot Area
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bassett Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett Motel

Address: 800 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4747
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bassett Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bassett motel is currently located among Virginia's most desirable attractions. History, theme parks (Busch gardens & Water country USA), College of William and Mary, Prime outlet mall and golf course are all only minute away from your first choice of motels. This motel is ideally located just one block (walking distance) from historical colonial Williamsburg and 1.5 miles from Busch gardens & Water country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bassett Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassett Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing