We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$210
US$201
Autograph
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Official Website
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
76
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin elmsthe blue roomhouse is beautifulb bwalking distanceeach morningmerchant squarebreakfast was deliciousperfect staysmall refrigeratorthird floorcomfortable roomwilliam marylocation is greatshort driveparking passenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My mother and I enjoyed four nights and four wonderful morning meals at Applewood while touring Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. Besides being a fab cook, Denise is a charming hostess full of tips for where and when to visit the historic sites plus modern day restaurants and shopping. The house and gardens are a lovely prelude to the historic districts, a comfortable bridge from present day to colonial times. We stayed in the Tree Top, under the rafters, charming with a small well-appointed bath. Breakfasts featured a savory egg dish, wonderful bacon, fresh fruit and something baked, such as palmieres or banana tea cake. Perfect fuel for a day full of walking while sightseeing!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerTrish75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I first stayed here in April of 2010 for our honeymoon. It was one of the many places we stayed during our two week road trip but it was by far our favorite. We are actually returning for a second stay this coming February with friends and simply can not wait. The rooms are quaint, the beds are extremely comfortable, and the breakfast is beyond delicious! The location is perfect - we didn't move our car once! Everything is in walking distance or a short trolley ride away. The price is a bargain! I really can't say enough good things about this B&B. I strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Twin Elms is my favorite!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights - lovely place, absolutely wonderful breakfast! A short walk to Colonial Williamsburg which we appreciated to work off all the delicious food we ate at the restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Twin Elms room - very nice, plenty of room for 2.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed 3 nights over the Fourth of July week during the hottest days of the summer. They kept the rooms nice and cool, actually had to pull the covers up!! We were the only guests that week and when we arrived they offered any of the rooms for our pick! They treated us like one of the family and made sure everything was perfect! We sat around in the mornings and talked like "old friends". The food was warm & ready when we came downstairs and there was always a treat in the evening when we returned after touring Colonial Williamsburg. We stayed in the Twin Elms room and the bed was the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in. I can't say enough good about this place!!!! Definitely would go back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My daughter and I were on a short 3 day stay in Williamsburg. We were looking for a B&B that had a room with 2 beds and we read about the Applewoods Tree Top Suite through Trip Advisor and we were able to book it. The suite was reasonably priced compared to other accommodations. The inn and the suite are beautiful. The beds have luxurious sheets and are very comfortable. The suite is also very private and spacious with a perfectly restored in-suite bathroom.

The location is excellent. We walked to our tour at William and Mary, which is right across the street and we walked to Merchant Square and Colonial Williamsburg. Busch Gardens is a 10 minute drive.

The best part of our stay at Applewood was by far our hosts. Denise and Monty are some of the most gracious people my daughter and I have ever met. The breakfasts are amazing. My daughter is a vegetarian so they altered meals just for her. They were fun, engaging and made us feel very welcome.

We can't wait to return. If you don't stay here you will be missing out on the best accommodations in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatpraytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews