We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We spent six days at the Applewood Colonial B&B and loved every minute of it! First of all, location - for the first time while visiting Colonial Williamsburg, we were able to park the car and walk to most of the attractions we wanted to visit. It was an easy walk to CW and Merchants Square (with loads of restaurants & pubs to choose from and many shops), so no worries about finding parking, driving after enjoying a drink, etc. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable, wifi and tv worked perfectly, top quality linens and other amenities (iron, ironing board, mini fridge, hair dryer, soap, shampoo, etc.). The corner fireplace added further ambience to the charming room. Denise, our host, was extremely friendly and helpful (giving lots of advice on things to see and places to eat), making us feel very welcome. Her breakfasts were delicious and beautifully served - the fact that we only ate lunch once during our stay attests to the generosity of the servings! Applewood Colonial is the perfect combination of comfort, quality, location and friendliness we look for in a bed & breakfast stay and we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank February78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely b & b. Denise and her husband, Monty, go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome! This house is the perfect combination of location, ambiance, elegance, and value for you dollar. We stayed in the tree top suite, perfect for famlies, and found it spacious and cozy.In addition, Denise's breakfasts are sooo yummy and really fill you up until supper. The freshly baked cookies every afternoon were a welcome treat! It's an easy half-mile walk to Colonial Williamsburg/Merchant's Square so you can park your car and really relax. Highly recommended and we will stay here whenever we are in Williamsburg.

Room Tip: The tree-top suite can accomodate families with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlietrisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and paid our first visit to Williamsburg in early Oct and were delighted with our choice of b and b. We stayed in the Twin Elms room which was perfect for us. Our hosts were charming and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. We would definitely return

Room Tip: Twin elms perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I were thrilled with our stay here and frankly sad to leave. The owners are the sweetest couple who really bend over backwards to to assist you. We were spoiled by the delicious breakfasts served by Denise. We were so full we ended up skipping lunch on most days. We also stayed on the third floor Tree Top suite; the room (as the rest of the house) is beautiful and clean with a bed just as comfortable as ours back home. William and Mary is just around the corner and Colonial Williamsburg is just a few blocks away if you want to walk and there is parking allowed with a red card pass. We wish Applewood the best of success and encourage you to stay with them, it is lovely , peaceful, quiet retreat my husband I wanted it to be with as much activity as we wanted in Colonial Williamsburg. The daybed on the 3rd floor was the perfect place for a nap...and that never happens at home. Excellent stay...we will be back - The Waldmans.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness but a wonderful location; so that should not count against them. We lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWald28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Applewood was first-class. The owners could not be nicer, and I really enjoyed talking to them (and eating the breakfast!). I was in the suite on the top floor, which was large and quiet with a very comfortable bed. Conveniently located next to William and Mary and Colonial Williamsburg. Did not need a car to go anywhere I wanted to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Applewood is convenient to Colonial Williamsburg, which was the reason for our visit. The room was quiet and the bed super comfortable. Denise is a lovely hostess and baked cookies for her guests every afternoon. Breakfast was delicious and filling. Parking on site was an added plus. The home is beautiful and has an interesting history.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 62DSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. First of all, it is located about 0.6 mile from Colonial Williamsburg. Parking is tight down there so walking there is a very short walk. Saturday morning, we went to the Farmer's Market in the colonial area. Lots of good local vendors and food - we highly recommend the Farmer's Market. We took a day trip to Jamestown which isn't a very far drive at all. We highly recommend Jamestown too - it's a great history trip to learn about the first English colony settlement. It is also right down the street from William and Mary College and the stadium so VERY convenient if you are going there. Anyway...about the B&B. Denise was very accommodating and gave us great suggestions on things to do and where to eat. She cooks a wonderful breakfast and you won't leave hungry. The bed was one of the most comfortable that we've ever slept in so we slept very well. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.0 mi away
The Williamsburg Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast

Property: Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast
Address: 605 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3539
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Applewood' a day for a memorable stay. This Flemish bond brick home was built in 1929 by the construction manager for the Colonial Willamsburg restoration and features many finely crafted Colonial details of the 18th century. The owner's unique apple collection is accented by beautiful antiques and 21st C amenities. Guests enjoy a full breakfast served by candlelight in the elegant dining room and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applewood Colonial Hotel Williamsburg
Applewood Colonial b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing