We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Williamsburg Inn(Williamsburg)
US$556
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$289
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
494
68
13
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
494
68
13
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington roomdee deeplantation roomchristopher wrenbreakfast was deliciousthe main housewilliam and mary collegeshort walkwithin walking distanceromantic weekendfour poster bedmerchant's squaredog streetother guestsevery morningtop floorthoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Not sure what rooms all of the other reviewers stayed in, but my room (the Lord Bourtetourt room) was a huge disappointment. The carpets, towels, linens, and curtains were dingy and the bed felt and sounded like there was a paper mattress pad underneath. The room had a musky smell to it and the windows would not stay propped open. It was a cold night and we were really looking forward to the room's only noteworthy feature: the fireplace (even though it was only electric and not wood burning.) We spent at least 45 minutes trying to get the darn thing to work and were unable to call for help as it was after 10:00PM and a sign in the room said to only call after 10PM for emergencies. We never were able to get it to work.

The buffet bfast in the morning was okay. There was one redeeming dish, but the coffee was weak and not hot, the jam was in those little Smuckers plastic 1 serving packs, and the muffins were store bought. The owner was very nice as the other reviewers expressed, but no amount of niceness could make up for the disappointing room and breakfast.

I usually don't write reviews, but I felt deceived by all of the 5 star ratings/reviews and didn't want other couples, hoping for the romantic experience we were hoping for, to suffer the same fate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLover88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hi TravelLover88_13,

We appreciate the time you spent to give us this feedback. We completely understand your concerns and work very hard to make our guest's experience exceptional. Obviously we missed the mark for you and Josh. For that we are regretful.

I cannot change your perception of our linens. We do refresh our linens regularly but they are commercial grade.

As the owner, I wish you would have brought these things to my attention at breakfast. When "Lord Bortetourt" entered the breakfast room that morning, I got the impression you were enjoying your stay. The very-berry french toast is our number one requested dish. This is the only review that suggest differently. Our menu offers a wide variety of choices, including vegan, lactose and vegetarian options. The muffins were freshly baked and I'm not sure what you were expecting for jams.

As it was late May for your visit, we normally turn the gas off to the fireplaces in late Spring. This was the case. Even a pilot light in the room can make the room uncomfortable for sleeping during the summer even though we do have air conditioning. If you had called the emergency number, we would have arranged to have it re-light for you. We recently upgraded our hot water tanks and that may have been the cause for the musty smell. I will look into the musty smell you mention. Although I have not heard the same complaint from any of the other guests.

All the best to you and Josh. I hope your Cedars experience has not put you off of Williamsburg. There any many other fine bed and breakfast experiences to be had here in town. Most local Innkeepers will offer a delightful experience...as we try to do. The Cedars has been an operating B&B since 1935 and as such, we don't have jacuzzis, etc. We do host over 4,000 people annually and very much enjoy our guests interactions. Occasionally, we miss the mark and for that we are truly sorry.

Have a great summer.

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Cedars Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The walkability (and parking) drew us in, but the hospitality was over the top. The room was small but charming and comfortable. The Plantation room is quiet, off the street, with a nice view of the garden and gazebo when you look past the packed parking lot. Breakfast was excellent all three mornings. Bob clearly loves his job as host, and it shows in his attention to each guest, with no extra charge for his humor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenH207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hi Ken,

We sincerely appreciate the nice review. Thanks.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Williamsburg and the Cedars. It is very rewarding when we read that our guests enjoyed their stay. We certainly had some fun at breakfast and I am still telling folks about your posting the birthday picture in the rental car comment. ;-)

I hope our paths cross again and hope the both of you had a wonderful anniversary and wish you many more.

All the best.

Bob & Grace Tubbs and the Staff of the Cedars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a great B&B to stay at in the Williamsburg area - it's about a 15 minute walk from downtown and Colonial Williamsburg. The staff and owners are always welcoming and extremely helpful with finding things to do, making reservations, or just getting directions. The breakfast is DELICIOUS! There are always such delightful baked goods, and they even have some of their recipes up on their website. I'd say the only detractor from our stay was that you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the house when staying on the ground floor, which can get quite loud in the mornings.

Room Tip: Pick something on one of the upper floors - less noise
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookJunkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Hey there BookJunkie50,

Thanks for taking time to write this great review. We make it a point to share our reviews with everyone and it helps us to hear the feedback.

I normally do not recommend the first floor rooms for the late sleepers because they are adjacent to the common areas (living & breakfast rooms.) As you know, we have plenty of rooms on the second and third floors or the Cottage rooms.

Grace makes it a point to ensure no one gets a repeat breakfast. We also have recipes for vegan and various dietary needs. They just need to let us know in advance. We also post all our recipes on our website...we are commonly asked for the recipes.

We look forward to a future visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs and Cedars Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Great owners, CHARMING B&B delightful rooms, lovely breakfasts and walking distance to all. Definitely the place to stay! the comfiest and highest beds anywhere. For the young romantic, third floor room, each room has its own charm and bath, take your pick!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saralee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Hi Saralee,

We thank you for taking the time to write this review on our behalf. We very much enjoyed your visit and it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the high beds, we used to provide our guests with trampolines but they were getting stuck in the ceiling fans. Now we just provide steps! ;-)

We look forward to a future visit and wish you the best of summers. All the best.

Bob & Grace Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The accommodations are great - you may need a small ladder to get into bed because it is so tall. The breakfast was yummy - the only drawback is that you are given a limited time window for breakfast. Rooms were quiet even when located on busy Jamestown Rd. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpelgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Greeting dpelgrim,

We very much appreciate your review. Thank you.

As I may have mentioned, we do provide steps for some of the high beds. We used to have trampolines but guests we getting caught in the ceiling fans. As for breakfast, when we have a small group of guest in the house, we try to pick a mutually convenient breakfast time. If we have a full house, we serve breakfast from 8:00 to 9:30 and beyond. Just let us know of your preference on your next visit.

Have a great summer.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews