We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, quiet, and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, quiet, and convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at The Cedars and stayed in the Christopher Wren room on the top floor. The room was large with windows on three sides. The king size bed was firm but comfortable. There was no noise throughout our 3-night stay. We were so tired at the end of each long day of sightseeing that we didn't even miss television. (There is one in the breakfast room, but it is never on.) The housekeeper DeeDee greeted us with great enthusiasm and kept us smiling throughout our stay. Cuala (sp?) was very gracious in welcoming us and orienting us to the inn and area. Bob greeted us each morning in the breakfast room and chatted while serving coffee. He was very helpful with area suggestions. Buffet breakfasts consisted of OJ & coffee or tea, an apple or pear cobbler, egg dishes (fritatas or quiche), cut fruit compote, bagels, and muffins. The inn's location is across the street from William & Mary and a ten minute walk to Merchant's Square and 15 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg. It was great being able to leave the car at the inn while touring the town. Bob and his staff were thoroughly accommodating, and I highly recommend a visit to The Cedars!

Green Features: Although we were happy to reuse our towels there were always fresh ones put out, which was, of course, appreciated.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Greeting Ggirl24,

Thanks for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback. We are so happy that your 30th anniversary was special.

We are very lucky to have the team we do. They know how to treat our guests. We are equally pleased that the attractions and other experiences were also pleasant.

The Christopher Wren (honeymoon/anniversary suite) is our most popular. It does provide a wonderful setting for that romantic, quiet time to get caught up with conversation and to relax.

We look forward to another visit real soon. We wish you both a wonderful summer.

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    56
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
106
227
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. Our stay was fantastic and the staff was just amazing. Bob makes you feel like a kid again and LOVES taking pictures! The rooms are well kept, beds super comfortable and our breakfast was yummy!

DeeDee was the housekeeper who just makes you feel so special and we love her so much :)

We had a blessed time! Thank you for making our stay so fabulous.

Room Tip: We loved the Christopher Wren. It was on the third floor and there were no elevators :) The walk is...
See more room tips
Green Features: We didn't really have an experience regarding this area.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Hi MikeandNiki,

We very much appreciate your glowing review of your Cedars experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and the hospitality. ;-)

You are correct about Dee Dee. She is a sweet heart and is a real asset to the business. We are very lucky to have her as part of the Cedars family.

We look forward to a return trip in the very near future or that 15th Anniversary!

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff of the Cedars B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathalie, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Cedars. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious. Bob was very entertaining. Location is so convenient to Colonial Williamsburg. Looking forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Jonette,

Thanks for this very flattering review. We are happy that your learn that you enjoyed our establishment and would take the time to post this review.

We look forward to a future visit and wish you and yours a wonderful spring and summer.

Grace & Bob Tubbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cedars. The host and staff were extremely pleasant and they made us feel welcomed. We would definitely stay at Cedars again. Our host was very involved during the entire stay and took delight in insuring that we participated in all Cedars had to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Jim,

Thanks for taking the time to post this review and the kind words. We love to hear that our guests enjoyed our little slice of Williamsburg. We look forward to a future stay. In the meantime, have a great summer.

Bob & Grace Tubbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Right from the get-go, Bob was a gracious host by helping me inside with my bags. He took the time to show me maps of Williamsburg too. He was never shy of jokes either. He was extremely friendly and made everyone feel like family. I looked forward to breakfast in the mornings…. The food was quite delicious and not the typical diner food. While I regret the breakfast pictures with no makeup (live and learn), those turned out to be the funniest. I must admit that if you're shy and reserved, you may want to skip breakfast. I LOVED how engaged Bob was at breakfast but I myself am not a reserved person. I loved the atmosphere in the George Washington room. It was very cozy. I have nothing negative to say here! I will certainly be back..Thank you Bob for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Jodie,

Thanks for the very kind words. We all very much appreciate it. We are so glad you found our little slice of Williamsburg an enjoyable experience.

Breakfast is always a lot of fun and very interesting. We are fortunate to meet and interact with people from around the world. They share their stories and experiences with us and we all learn from the exchange.

From my experience, even our timid guests generally enjoy the conversation. We do like to have fun but also make sure to respect our guest's space.

We look forward to another visit in the very near future. Have a wonderful summer.

Bob Tubbs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We cannot say enough wonderful things about the Cedars. It was a combined birthday/(surprise!) 4 day engagement trip, and it made for an extremely memorable and enjoyable experience.

From the moment you arrive, you feel welcome and the warmth you would hope for when staying at a bed and breakfast. Bob goes out of his way to ensure all your needs are met, and obviously very much enjoys running his business. The ambience truly reflects that, and you can see that all the guests are well taken care of. Get ready for photos! Bob made our trip so memorable in taking some wonderful photographs to celebrate our engagement, printed them out, and also emailed them to us the next day!

The breakfasts are delicious, the staff are super friendly and happy, and the location affords you an enjoyable stroll into Colonial Williamsburg. It is also conveniently located to the Williamsburg Winery, and Busch Gardens. The rooms are extremely clean, and charming.

We could not have wished for a better time! Thank you, to you all at the Cedars!

Sakeena and Jim

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakeena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Sakeena,

We very much appreciate the wonderful feedback and that you took the time for such a glowing review of your experience. Thank you.

You two are a joy to be around and we wish you many wonderful and happy years together. We hope that a future anniversary visit is in the near future. Ever since we put you on the front cover of the brochure, business has been booming!

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Cedars Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We loved the Cedars of Williamsburg. Everyone was so friendly and the inn was spotless. I mentioned that I have asthma, so they took all the books out of the room and cleaned extra-well before we came.

It really was so convenient to visit my daughter at William & Mary. They are right across the street. There was plenty of parking and a beautiful back yard - very scenic. Breakfast was delicious.

The only thing we didn't like was that our room was on the first floor and we were woken up by the sound of dishes and breakfast every morning. Next time we'll get a room upstairs. Also the front door bell woke us sometime after 11 PM one night - very loud.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Hi Bob,

Thanks for taking the time to post this exceptional review on our behalf. We very much appreciate it. As you noted, the Patrick Henry room is not the room for late sleepers! Cooking breakfast can be noisy sometimes! ;-) On the other hand, sleeping in late the second morning did help you avoid that birthday picture we discussed.

We hope to see you at the Cedars again very soon. All the best to you and your family.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Cedars Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Address: 616 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic and award-winning Colonial Cedars Bed & Breakfast is a Williamsburg lodging landmark since 1935. As Williamsburg's largest and oldest bed and breakfast, we offers 8 rooms/suites in the main house and 2 rooms in the Cedars Cottage with fireplaces and romantic privacy. We are a smoke/pet-free rest stop for our 5,000+ guests. We are directly across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a 7 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg Merchant's Square. Traveling for business? We are Swam and FEMA certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Cedars Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing