We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but otherwise at most average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked two nights at Cedars of Williamsburg on the strength of positive TripAdvisor reviews, but were disappointed with our actual stay.

By far the biggest plus about Cedars is its location, right next to The College of William and Mary and a short walk to Merchant's Square and Colonial Williamsburg.

The negatives are as follows:

First, even though our room was delightful (though with a tiny bathroom), the bed had the softest, least comfortable mattress we've slept on in years--it sagged in the middle and provided very little back support.

Second, breakfast was served in a room too small to accommodate all guests, which created a sense of needing to rush once you are seated. Additionally, the breakfast itself was underwhelming--it was heavy in cheese, cream and meat, with little in the way of alternatives (fruits, granola, muesli would have been good).

Third--and this is something that really confused us--at breakfast the host celebrated a guest's birthday by dressing them in a party-style, colorful top hat and boa and encouraging the other guests to sing happy birthday. That was fine, but then it was repeated for someone whose birthday was within a few weeks (I think). I think the host video taped these. Finally the host took photos of each table and, the next day, presented us with an small advertising brochure with our photo on the front. All of this was (for us) unexpected, and while we didn't actively dislike it, it did get in the way of simply starting the morning quietly. Essentially, it turned breakfast into more of a performance than an enjoyable, quiet start to the day.

We greatly appreciated being within walking distance of W&M and Merchant's Square, but for us the negatives greatly outweighed the positives at Cedars. And at of $235 per night, I don't think we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlbertStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Cedars B+B is located right across the street from the beautiful Willam and Mary campus, and is a 10 minutes walk to colonial Williamsburg. We stayed in the Christopher Wren room, a charming, large room on the 3rd floor, with a four poster king sized bed, sitting area, and nice views of the campus and the B+B garden. The entire property was extremely clean and well kept. There is an inviting parlor on the first floor with a small TV, newspapers, and books; board games and cards are left in the breakfast room during the day. The owner, Bob, is very friendly and is knowledgeable about restaurants and sight seeing. The breakfasts were very good, with the eggs florentine, pear-blueberry crisp and berry French toast being highlights. The bread selection, clearly from packages, was disappointing, considering the excellent bakery breads we ate at nearby restaurants. Bob takes photos of guests and presents them to you at check out--just don't admit it is your birthday. There is free wi-fi, but it is very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Di2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Thanks Di2101,

The Christopher Wren, our honeymoon/anniversary suite, it our most popular room. We appreciate the fact that you noticed all the details. It is rewarding to know our efforts are noticed and appreciated.

Breads, I will talk to the chef about making breads. We did that several years ago but somehow stopped. I can't remember why!

I'll look into the wi-fi. Thanks for letting me know.

Until your next visit to Williamsburg, all the best.

Sincerely,

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We didn't know what to expect, as we'd received a gift certificate to the Cedars and subsequently planned a two-night stay. What we found is that it was a quite pleasant, relaxing experience, and we enjoyed spending time chatting with Bob (the owner) and enjoy Sarah's breakfasts.

Admittedly, for the price, there aren't a lot of frills. We got a clean room with a comfortable bed, and two nice breakfasts. There's no TV, but it is quiet and the room (Lord Bortetourt) is a comfortable temperature, even on a couple hot summer days. I think the best selling point is the location - you are minutes from Colonial Williamsburg (maybe 10-15 if walking) and could easily spend days there. When done sightseeing, it's convenient to have "home" nearby.

Overall, I would recommend the Cedars to anyone planning on visiting William and Mary College, or Colonial Williamsburg.

Room Tip: The Lord Bourtetourt room is upstairs and in the private cottage - a little more private than the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marsh970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear Marsh970,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your "first B&B" visit. We hope you it will not be your last experience with us!

The Lord Bourtetourt is a very popular room with it's summer garden views and winter gas fireplace..very cozy, comfortable and private.

I will make sure to share you comments with the staff. They all appreciate the feedback, no more than I do.

Thanks

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our recent four-day visit at the Cedars of Williamsburg was our best ever B & B experience, and we've stayed at many B & Bs over the years. The service by the owner (Bob) and the staff were truly exceptional, as was the food, the location and the condition of the dwelling. We will recommend the Cedars of Williamsburg to all of our friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Greeting Phil,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this great review of the Cedars. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the experience and Williamsburg. It is nice to know that the efforts have a positive impact for our guests. Thank you. We sincerely appreciate it. It what makes our jobs so much fun.

Until your next visit,

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

In this case small IS better. It is like living in a quaint museum that is relaxing and within walking distance to American Colonial History. Your host will delight you with wake-up breakfast conversation and local tips for food and travel as the staff (Bob & crew) presents a surprising breakfast spread. If you are looking for an in-town retreat with Patriotic class away from the usual 'plastic fantastic' mega-roost, then try out the Cedars with its classic decor and upbeat service. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi Jeff W,

Thanks for the very kind words. We sincerely appreciate them.

We certainly hope our paths cross again very soon. A great time to visit is for the holidays. The combination of Busch Gardens Christmastown and Colonial Williamsburg's holiday tradition will positively put anyone in the true spirit of the holidays.

In the meantime, have a great summer.

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at The Cedars and stayed in the Christopher Wren room on the top floor. The room was large with windows on three sides. The king size bed was firm but comfortable. There was no noise throughout our 3-night stay. We were so tired at the end of each long day of sightseeing that we didn't even miss television. (There is one in the breakfast room, but it is never on.) The housekeeper DeeDee greeted us with great enthusiasm and kept us smiling throughout our stay. Cuala (sp?) was very gracious in welcoming us and orienting us to the inn and area. Bob greeted us each morning in the breakfast room and chatted while serving coffee. He was very helpful with area suggestions. Buffet breakfasts consisted of OJ & coffee or tea, an apple or pear cobbler, egg dishes (fritatas or quiche), cut fruit compote, bagels, and muffins. The inn's location is across the street from William & Mary and a ten minute walk to Merchant's Square and 15 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg. It was great being able to leave the car at the inn while touring the town. Bob and his staff were thoroughly accommodating, and I highly recommend a visit to The Cedars!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Greeting Ggirl24,

Thanks for taking the time to give us this wonderful feedback. We are so happy that your 30th anniversary was special.

We are very lucky to have the team we do. They know how to treat our guests. We are equally pleased that the attractions and other experiences were also pleasant.

The Christopher Wren (honeymoon/anniversary suite) is our most popular. It does provide a wonderful setting for that romantic, quiet time to get caught up with conversation and to relax.

We look forward to another visit real soon. We wish you both a wonderful summer.

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 14th wedding anniversary. Our stay was fantastic and the staff was just amazing. Bob makes you feel like a kid again and LOVES taking pictures! The rooms are well kept, beds super comfortable and our breakfast was yummy!

DeeDee was the housekeeper who just makes you feel so special and we love her so much :)

We had a blessed time! Thank you for making our stay so fabulous.

Room Tip: We loved the Christopher Wren. It was on the third floor and there were no elevators :) The walk is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandNiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hi MikeandNiki,

We very much appreciate your glowing review of your Cedars experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and the hospitality. ;-)

You are correct about Dee Dee. She is a sweet heart and is a real asset to the business. We are very lucky to have her as part of the Cedars family.

We look forward to a return trip in the very near future or that 15th Anniversary!

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff of the Cedars B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast

Address: 616 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3945
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £92 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic and award-winning Colonial Cedars Bed & Breakfast is a Williamsburg lodging landmark since 1935. As Williamsburg's largest and oldest bed and breakfast, we offers 8 rooms/suites in the main house and 2 rooms in the Cedars Cottage with fireplaces and romantic privacy. We are a smoke/pet-free rest stop for our 5,000+ guests. We are directly across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a 7 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg Merchant's Square. Traveling for business? We are Swam and FEMA certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Cedars Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing