We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Williamsburg!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Since moving our daughter into a dorm at William & Mary years ago, we have returned several times to our favorite: Colonial Capitol B & B. Friendly innkeeper, fantastic location, great breakfasts, quiet, homey environment--this is a FIND! So close to shops and the Colonial area! Now, if they'd just get better mattresses on those twin beds... otherwise, it's perfect!

Room Tip: Until mattresses are replaced, avoid the twin bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathyindenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our second stay. It was just as good as the first. George the owner does a wonderful job. He's there to greet us when we arrive and he cooks great breakfasts. We stayed in the Chesapeake room again and the bed is very comfortable. We are allowed to use the facilities and have enjoyed just relaxing in the living room with a bottle of wine after walking around all day. It's within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg and across the street from the College of William and Mary. Lots of nice places to eat within walking distance too. We hope to go back again in a few years.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJH_Milwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Old house beautifully appointed, with few rooms so you almost feel the whole house is yours. Comfortable room with antique furniture. Very close to the historic area and much better priced than other acommodation in the area. George the owner allowed me to use his own computer to search some info I needed and drove me to the station. He also prepared an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SrRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My wife and I stayed a night at this nice bed and breakfast in May. We needed a mini get away, and this fit the bill. The house is well appointed and located in a prime location in Colonial Williamsburg near the historic sites, lots of great restaurants and shopping. There is plenty of parking and the house is large, yet cozy and comfortable at the same time.

George, the innkeeper is a great host and makes sure that you have everything you need to enjoy your stay. He's a great cook and you will really enjoy the breakfast he's prepared for you in the morning.

If you are planning on visiting Williamsburg, make it a point to stay at the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick241_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Mr. Hollingsworth picked us up from the train station even though we arrived late at night which was very kind. The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The house and room was very comfortable. The owner does stay offsite but is available by phone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends in the Potomac and James Rooms. George Hollingsworth made us most welcome and cooked us 2 magnificent breakfasts. He let us put our beers into his fridge. The location is great, just a safe short walk to the historic Colonial Williamsburg. The antique furnishings are fantastic. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and comfortable. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaseyGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I are recently married and due to our equal passion for history chose to honeymoon in the Williamsburg area. This was her first time to the area. George, the owner operator of the B&B has an incredible location. Just minutes away from the "Historic Triangle" of Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, and the campus of William and Mary, the location is ideal. The location only to be outdone by his hospitality and cooking. He worked around personal preferences of both my wife and I and each morning was a delight as we ate breakfast around beautiful antiques. The room was great, we had a personal bathroom and a balcony overlooking the backside of a corner lot. We sat out there for hours reading and listening to the sounds of the college town. We have no complaints about the experience at the Colonial Capital and would recommend it to anyone. I know we will certainly stay there again if we are able to travel back to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlc593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.9 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

Address: 501 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3537
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £110 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you as our guests at Colonial Capital Bed & Breakfast, a prominent Colonial Revival Inn (c. 1926) In the heart of the Architectural Preservation District. We'll be your home in Williamsburg while you fill your days experiencing our three outdoor living museums: Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown and while enjoying the thrills and spills found at Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. All are just minutes from your Williamsburg accommodations. Antique furnishings and oriental rugs throughout the house create a rich blend of warmth, style and comfort. Our classic plantation parlor offers a perfect setting for relaxing conversation with friends, new and old. On cold winter evenings the parlor's wood burning fireplace blazes, while in the heat of summer our Inn is air conditioned for your comfort. The screened side porch, patio and deck provide out-of-doors pleasures. Each day tea and wine are offered as a welcome afternoon or evening refreshment. Also we recommend you visiting inkeeper, David Everett's DoG Street Pub, Blue Talon Bistro, The Trellis Restaurant and BlackBird Bakery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing