We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights last summer. We wanted a romantic getaway in a B&B, and Colonial Gardens kinda provided it, but it was an awkward experience. I debated between 2 and 3 stars for awhile...

Highlights: pretty grounds. pleasant/helpful innkeeper. Central location. Clean/well-kept

Problems: uncomfortably small bathroom. we paid extra to have breakfast in bed, but the breakfast never came. By the time we called down, she said breakfast was gone, and brought us some cereal and fruit and still charged us extra for the delivery :(. We got some sort of romance package, but only got one of the two bottles of wine and couldn't find a wine key anywhere. The innkeeper's family was there, and she seemed a little annoyed to have to attend to customers--awkward. We felt like we were intruding on someone's home. The decorations were a bit too much for us. The B&B is super close to a pretty busy street.

Unfortunately the problems outweighed the highlights, so a 2.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

I wish there were a requirement to be truthful in this forum but there is not. In 7 years of running our inn we have never served cereal, missed sending breakfast to someone's room or had family here while we were open. We close our inn when family is here. We are scratching our heads here trying to understand why someone would say things like this but if readers would please look at the other reviews I think they would be better served. I will mention that this reviewer is writing about something that supposedly happened over a year ago...I think they have the wrong place
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a special way and after careful review chose Colonial Gardens for a one night get-a-way in the Rhododendron Suite . We were absolutely impressed with so many facets of our visit it would take more than a paragraph to describe. The sleep experience was heavenly! The bed offers fine linens with a 5 star sleep comfort rating. Karen certainly pays close attention to detail from her use of Turkish bath towels to softly scented candles lit upon arrival. Her sun-room offers a nice respite for reading, conversation, or a refreshing beverage. Breakfast was wonderful and she accommodated our dietary needs without blinking an eye. The table was as tasteful and the food. Karen has an eye for the total culinary experience. We enjoyed our conversations with Karen. She made us feel as if we were long time friends coming for a visit. We also took advantage of one of her romance packages...we encourage others to do the same. We will be back.

Room Tip: Even though we stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, we peeked in the library room on the entry floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that you had a nice time. Making great memories is what we are all about. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My friend and I went up to Williamsburg to do some shopping and have some "kid free" time. This B&B was very centrally located to shopping, restaurants, and the highway and looked beautiful online. When we arrived we were not disappointed! The house and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in the beautiful Azalea suite and were very happy with all the accommodations.
The owners were beyond nice and welcoming. Karen made an amazing breakfast the next morning too!
Definitely recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We do have some wonderful shopping here in Williamsburg. We are so glad you had some time to recharge. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were impressed with website and we were not disappointed. Great location......quiet and elegantly comfortable, yet only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center. Karen, the Innkeeper was a delight....great breakfasts and such a wonderful hostess! We felt VERY comfortable. Her recommendations for dinner were terrific.....we felt like special guests at her restaurant choices. WiFi service was excellent too......much better than many 5 star hotels!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rhododendron Suite which was spacious and beautifully decorated! We peeked in the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you asked us for restaurant recommendations because we are local and know the best food and service in town! Hope to see you again in the future
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for our secret elopment and it was just the two of us. Karen, the innkeeper was wonderful. We decided at the last minute to stay another night and it was no problem. The inn is beautiful. We stayed in the room with only the shower, which the shower is kind of small, but the room is so beautiful it makes up for it. The bed is comfortable, it is very clean, and beautiful. The breakfast is abstolutely wonderful! Karen is very friendly and the intimate ceromony was wonderful! They did flowers for us and took very nice pictures that are of professional quality! For the price, you can't beat it! The inn is right near everything but feels like your out of the way from everything. It was a very nice, intimate setting. We will be back! P.S. Get the choc covered strawberries, they are super!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebbeszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad your wedding was just what you wanted it did turn out lovely and the weather was perfect for the garden Elopement. Be happy and come see us again!
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We originally sought out Colonial gardens Bed & Breakfast to celebrate a quiet romantic place to celebrate our 7 yr anniversary. The room was perfect we stayed in The Rhododendron suite. It had an old world feel to it,and you could see the backyard from the seating area. This particular B&B was perfectly located...most of the others in the area were right off the road w/very little yard space, but Colonial was tucked away and further from the university. It was Feb. and yet there were flowers in full bloom. Gorgeous!
The day we arrived there was actually a wedding planned for the same day,but Karen was very nice to let us check in very early. She gave us a tour of the house..which was breath taking and then she let us be.
The second night of our stay my then boyfriend proposed. I was totally caught off guard. Karen & Ron are great secret keepers! Karen & Ron took the time to place rose petals all around the room,candles,had the fireplace going,and my favortie part a bottle of champagne. It was more than I could ever dream of. It was a magical moment and the staging of the room is something I can't wait to tell our kids about one day.
Karen and Ron were completly down to earth and just overall warm and welcoming. The breakfast was definitly worth breaking my diet for. I look forward to many more stays here and highly reccomend it to everyone.

Thank you Karen & Ron!

Love,
Sylvia & Adrian

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so excited to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear that it was a successful proposal. Best to you both come see us again.
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed 4 nights in the Rhododendron Suite during the Christmas illuminations celebration in Colonial Williamsburg. Karen & Ron welcomed us into their home and immediately made us feel as though we had been friends for years. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfy bed and insider knowledge of the area helped to make our stay perfect. Without hesitation, a definite winner in all categories. Jeri & Jerry

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you so much for your kind review! I have to say you two were a pleasure to have here, I think the other guests at the B&B that weekend would agree. Please come back and see us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
646 reviews
2.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1109 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3315
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £100 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Gardens, a Williamsburg bed and breakfast, is an enchanting escape into old-world European romance and elegance. With its fine linens and rich furniture, this Virginia bed and breakfast boasts the allure of over an acre of gardens inside Williamsburg's historic city limits. If you are looking for lodging accommodations in Colonial Williamsburg or the Jamestown area, our bed and breakfast is sure to please! Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast is ideally located just over a mile from The Colonial Williamsburg area and 1/2 mile from The College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gardens Hotel Williamsburg
Colonial Gardens b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing